Kinsale Capital Group, Inc.
For the period ended Dec 31, 2025. Filed Feb 20, 2026.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2025 · Filed Feb 20, 2026
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-12-31; filed 2025-02-21.
0001669162-25-000010
Item 7. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-12-31; filed 2026-02-20.
0001669162-26-000015
Item 7. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 200 previous paragraphs and 206 current paragraphs.
151 unchanged; 36 reworded; 12 added; 13 removed; 0 previous and 7 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 14 previous and 14 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (12)
Current report
•Excess Casualty, which represented approximately 14.0% of our gross written premiums in 2025, increased by $31.9 million, or 13.0%, for the year ended December 31, 2025;
Current report
•Small Business Property, which represented approximately 5.2% of our gross written premiums in 2025, increased by $25.6 million, or 33.4%, for the year ended December 31, 2025;
Current report
•Entertainment, which represented approximately 3.6% of our gross written premiums in 2025, increased by $14.9 million, or 27.0%, for the year ended December 31, 2025; and
Current report
•Allied Health, which represented approximately 4.9% of our gross written premiums in 2025, increased by $13.9 million, or 16.8%, for the year ended December 31, 2025.
Current report
•Excess Casualty, which represented approximately 10.9% of our net written premiums in 2025, increased by $41.1 million, or 30.3%, for the year ended December 31, 2025;
Current report
•General Casualty, which represented approximately 12.9% of our net written premiums in 2025, increased by $38.7 million, or 22.9%, for the year ended December 31, 2025;
Current report
•Small Business Property, which represented approximately 4.8% of our net written premiums in 2025, increased by $18.0 million, or 29.9%, for the year ended December 31, 2025;
Current report
•Entertainment, which represented approximately 4.3% of our net written premiums in 2025, increased by $14.9 million, or 27.0%, for the year ended December 31, 2025 and
Current report
•Commercial Property, which represented approximately 11.1% of our net written premiums in 2025, decreased by $44.8 million, or 19.9%, for the year ended December 31, 2025.
Current report
In December 2025, the covenants limiting restricted payments under the Note Purchase Agreement and Amended and Restated Credit Agreement were amended to allow the Company to make restricted payments so long as at the time of the declaration of such restricted payment, no event of default under the Note Purchase Agreement has occurred and is continuing or would arise after giving effect, on a pro forma basis, to such restricted payment if such restricted payment were to be made at such time of declaration.
Current report
Share repurchase programs
Current report
The cost of treasury stock acquired pursuant to common share repurchases includes the 1% excise tax imposed on common share repurchase activity, net of common share issuances, as part of the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022. At December 31, 2025, the Company had $250.0 million of capacity remaining under the current share repurchase program.
Removed paragraphs (13)
Previous report
•General Casualty, which represented approximately 9.0% of our gross written premiums in 2024, increased by $50.4 million, or 42.5%, for the year ended December 31, 2024;
Previous report
•Excess Casualty, which represented approximately 13.1% of our gross written premiums in 2024, increased by $51.1 million, or 26.3%, for the year ended December 31, 2024;
Previous report
•Commercial Property, which represented approximately 24.4% of our gross written premiums in 2024, increased by $44.2 million, or 10.7%, for the year ended December 31, 2024 and
Previous report
•Construction, which represented approximately 7.8% of our gross written premiums in 2024, increased by $10.4 million, or 7.6%, for the year ended December 31, 2024.
Previous report
Real Estate
Previous report
In December of 2022, we acquired real estate property adjacent to our current headquarters for $76.6 million. The property is comprised of two office buildings totaling over 580,000 square feet and a parking deck situated on approximately 29 acres of land. During 2023, we sold one office building and the parking deck for approximately $62.0 million in cash, net of seller’s costs, and determined we would occupy the remaining building for future expansion of our operations. Upon this determination, we reclassified the carrying value of the building to property and equipment within other assets on the consolidated balance sheet. The building is currently under development for the Company's future headquarters and is expected to be completed during the fourth quarter of 2025. Capital expenditures related to the renovation of the building may be funded through draw downs on our Credit Facility. The remaining $15.0 million presented on the consolidated balance sheet represents the portion of remaining real estate assets held for investment purposes.
Previous report
In November 2022, we completed an underwritten public offering and sold and issued 155,000 shares of our common stock at a price of $308.30 per share, to the underwriter. We received net proceeds from the offering of $47.5 million, which was used for general corporate purposes, including to fund organic growth.
Previous report
Share repurchase program
Previous report
Real estate construction costs
Previous report
We are currently renovating an existing office building for our new corporate headquarters and have entered into an agreement under which we have incurred obligations relating to the renovation. We expect the construction costs to be approximately $59.0 million and are currently targeting a fourth quarter 2025 completion date. At December 31, 2024 we incurred approximately $19.5 million of construction costs toward the project. Our contractual obligations include payments which will become due under the construction agreement and project development.
Previous report
On May 15, 2024, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.15 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on June 13, 2024 to all stockholders of record on May 31, 2024.
Previous report
On August 14, 2024, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.15 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on September 12, 2024 to all stockholders of record on August 29, 2024.
Previous report
On November 13, 2024, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.15 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on December 13, 2024 to all stockholders of record on November 29, 2024.
Reworded paragraphs (36)
Previous wording
We have one reportable segment, our Excess and Surplus Lines Insurance segment, which offers P&C insurance products through the E&S market. In 2024, the percentage breakdown of our gross written premiums was 67.4% casualty and 32.6% property. Our commercial lines offerings and homeowner's coverage in the personal lines market represented 97.4% and 2.6% of our gross written premiums, respectively. Refer to Note 15 to the consolidated financial statements for gross written premiums by underwriting division.
Current wording
We have one reportable segment, our Excess and Surplus Lines Insurance segment, which offers P&C insurance products through the E&S market. In 2025, the percentage breakdown of our gross written premiums was 70.7% casualty and 29.3% property. Our commercial lines offerings and homeowner's coverage in the personal lines market represented 97.0% and 3.0% of our gross written premiums, respectively. Refer to Note 15 to the consolidated financial statements for gross written premiums by underwriting division.
Previous wording
Net income was $414.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $308.1 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, an increase of $106.8 million, or 34.6%. The increase in net income in 2024 over 2023 was primarily due to a combination of continued profitable growth and strong investing results including higher investment income and higher unrealized gains on equity investments.
Current wording
Net income was $503.6 million for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to $414.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2024, an increase of $88.8 million, or 21.4%. The increase in net income in 2025 over 2024 was primarily due to a combination of continued profitable growth and strong investing results including higher investment income and higher returns on equity investments.
Previous wording
Underwriting income was $325.9 million for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $270.4 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, an increase of $55.5 million, or 20.5%. The increase in underwriting income was primarily due to continued growth in the business offset in part by higher catastrophe losses. The corresponding combined ratios were 76.4% for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to 75.4% for the year ended December 31, 2023.
Current wording
Underwriting income was $389.2 million for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to $325.9 million for the year ended December 31, 2024, an increase of $63.3 million, or 19.4%. The increase in underwriting income was primarily due to continued growth in the business and higher favorable development of loss reserves from prior accident years offset in part by higher catastrophe losses incurred. The corresponding combined ratios were 75.9% for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to 76.4% for the year ended December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
Gross written premiums were $1.9 billion for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $1.6 billion for the year ended December 31, 2023, an increase of $301.5 million, or 19.2%. The increase in gross written premiums for the year ended December 31, 2024 was primarily due to higher submission activity from brokers and a favorable, yet increasingly competitive, pricing environment. The average premium per policy written by us was $15,100 in 2024 compared to $15,200 in 2023. Excluding our personal insurance division, which has relatively low premiums per policy written, the average premium per policy written was $15,900 in 2024 compared to $16,400 in 2023. Gross written premiums increased across substantially all of our underwriting divisions for the year ended December 31, 2024 and were most notable in the following lines of business:
Current wording
Gross written premiums were $2.0 billion for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to $1.9 billion for the year ended December 31, 2024, an increase of $106.8 million, or 5.7%. Gross written premiums in our Commercial Property Division, our largest division, decreased 17.9% relative to the prior year period due to rate declines and an increasingly competitive environment including from standard carriers. Excluding our Commercial Property Division, gross written premiums grew 13.3% due primarily to continued strong submission flow from brokers across most divisions. The average premium per policy written by us was $13,400 in 2025 compared to $15,100 in 2024. Excluding our personal insurance division, which has relatively low premiums per policy written, the average premium per policy written was $14,000 in 2025 compared to $15,900 in 2024. The decrease in average premium per policy was due primarily to a decrease in gross written premiums in our Commercial Property Division.
Previous wording
•Small Business Casualty, which represented approximately 10.5% of our gross written premiums in 2024, increased by $21.5 million, or 12.4%, for the year ended December 31, 2024;
Current wording
•General Casualty, which represented approximately 10.5% of our gross written premiums in 2025, increased by $38.7 million, or 22.9%, for the year ended December 31, 2025;
Previous wording
Net written premiums increased by $212.7 million, or 16.8%, to $1.5 billion for the year ended December 31, 2024 from $1.3 billion for the year ended December 31, 2023. The increase in net written premiums was largely due to higher gross written premiums for the year ended December 31, 2024. Our net retention ratio was 79.0% for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to 80.6% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The decrease in the net retention ratio was primarily due to a higher cession rate on the commercial property quota share treaty effective with the June 2023 renewal, offset in part by an increase in our retention on our casualty treaty effective with the June 2024 renewal.
Current wording
Net written premiums increased by $138.7 million, or 9.4%, to $1.6 billion for the year ended December 31, 2025 from $1.5 billion for the year ended December 31, 2024. Our net retention ratio was 81.7% for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to 79.0% for the year ended December 31, 2024. The increases in net written premiums and our retention ratio were largely due to higher gross written premiums and an increase in the retention on our reinsurance treaties for the year ended December 31, 2025.
Previous wording
Net earned premiums were $1.4 billion for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $1.1 billion for the year ended December 31, 2023, an increase of $277.9 million, or 25.9%. As previously discussed, the increase was due to growth in gross written premiums in 2024 compared to 2023.
Current wording
Net earned premiums were $1.6 billion for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to $1.4 billion for the year ended December 31, 2024, an increase of $225.4 million, or 16.7% due primarily to continued earning of premium from prior-period growth in gross written premiums and higher net retention levels.
Previous wording
Our loss ratio was 55.8% for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to 54.6% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The increase in the loss ratio for the year ended December 31, 2024 was due primarily to higher catastrophe losses incurred during the period and lower relative net favorable development of loss reserves from prior accident years. During the year ended December 31, 2024, current year incurred losses and loss adjustment expenses included $25.5 million of net catastrophe losses primarily attributable to Hurricanes Milton, Helene and Francine and tornadoes in the Midwest.
Current wording
Our loss ratio was 55.1% for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to 55.8% for the year ended December 31, 2024. The decrease in the loss ratio for the year ended December 31, 2025 was due primarily to higher relative net favorable development of loss reserves from prior accident years. During the year ended December 31, 2025, current year incurred losses and loss adjustment expenses included $30.4 million of net catastrophe losses primarily attributable to the Palisades Fire.
Previous wording
During the year ended December 31, 2023, prior accident years developed favorably by $35.8 million, of which $49.0 million was attributable to the 2021 and 2022 accident years due to lower emergence of reported losses than expected across most lines of business. This favorable development was offset in part by adverse development largely from the 2017 through 2019 accident years due to construction defect claims that are more exposed to inflation.
Current wording
During the year ended December 31, 2025, prior accident years developed favorably by $62.8 million, of which $70.9 million was attributable to the 2020 through 2024 accident years due to lower emergence of reported losses than expected across most lines of business, particularly in our property lines of business. This favorable development was offset in part by adverse development primarily in our construction liability business in the 2016 through 2019 accident years and adjustments to actuarial assumptions in the 2020 through 2024 accident years to reflect inflation uncertainty around construction defect exposures.
Previous wording
The expense ratio was 20.6% for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to 20.8% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The decrease in the expense ratio was primarily due to lower relative net commissions as a result of higher ceding commissions earned under the commercial property quota share treaty as a result of commercial property premium growth. Direct commissions paid as a percent of gross written premiums was 14.7% and 14.5% for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
The expense ratio was 20.8% for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to 20.6% for the year ended December 31, 2024. The increase in the expense ratio was primarily due to lower ceding commissions due to increased retention on our reinsurance treaties offset in part by routine variability in other underwriting expenses. Direct commissions paid as a percent of gross written premiums was 14.8% and 14.7% for the years ended December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively.
Previous wording
Our net investment income increased by 46.9% to $150.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2024 from $102.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, primarily due to growth in our investment portfolio largely generated from the investment of strong operating cash flows and higher interest rates relative to the prior year period.
Current wording
Our net investment income increased by 27.9% to $192.2 million for the year ended December 31, 2025 from $150.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2024, primarily due to growth in our investment portfolio largely generated from the investment of strong operating cash flows.
Previous wording
The weighted average duration of our investment portfolio, including cash equivalents, was 3.0 years and 2.8 years at December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. Our investment portfolio, excluding cash equivalents and unrealized gains and losses, had a gross investment return of 4.4% as of December 31, 2024, compared to 4.0% as of December 31, 2023.
Current wording
The weighted average duration of our investment portfolio, including cash equivalents, was 4.0 years and 3.0 years at December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively. Our investment portfolio, excluding cash equivalents and unrealized gains and losses, had a gross investment return of 4.4% as of December 31, 2025 and December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
During the year ended December 31, 2023, the change in the fair value of equity securities of $15.3 million included changes in unrealized gains related to ETFs and common stocks of $12.8 million and unrealized gains related to non-redeemable preferred stock of $2.5 million. The change in the fair value of ETFs and common stocks during 2023 primarily reflected changes in the broader U.S. stock market.
Current wording
During the year ended December 31, 2025, the change in the fair value of equity securities of $58.8 million included appreciation of common stocks, ETFs and non-redeemable preferred stocks of $34.0 million, 24.2 million and $0.6 million, respectively, generally consistent with the changes in the broader U.S. stock market.
Previous wording
We perform quarterly reviews of all available-for-sale securities within our investment portfolio to determine whether the decline in a security's fair value is deemed to be a credit loss. Based on our review, we recorded a reduction to credit loss expense of $0.5 million for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to credit loss expense of $0.2 million for the year ended December 31, 2023. See Note 2 of the notes to the consolidated financial statements for further information regarding credit losses.
Current wording
We perform quarterly reviews of all available-for-sale securities within our investment portfolio to determine whether the decline in a security's fair value is deemed to be a credit loss. Based on our review, we recorded credit loss expense of less than $0.1 million for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to a reduction to credit loss expense $0.5 million for the year ended December 31, 2024. See Note 2 of the notes to the consolidated financial statements for further information regarding credit losses.
Previous wording
Our effective tax rate was approximately 19.4% for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to 19.8% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The effective tax rate was lower than the federal statutory rate of 21% primarily due to the tax benefits from stock-based compensation, including stock options exercised, and tax-exempt investment income.
Current wording
Our effective tax rate was approximately 20.6% for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to 19.4% for the year ended December 31, 2024. The effective tax rate was lower than the federal statutory rate of 21% primarily due to the tax benefits from stock-based compensation, including stock options exercised, and tax-exempt investment income. The effective tax rate was higher for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to the year ended December 31, 2024 due primarily to a lower volume of stock option exercises.
Previous wording
Our return on equity was 32.3% for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to 33.6% for the year ended December 31, 2023. Operating return on equity was 29.2% for 2024, a decrease from 31.8% for 2023. The decrease in operating return on equity was due primarily to higher average stockholders' equity as a result of continued profitable growth.
Current wording
Our return on equity was 29.3% for the year ended December 31, 2025 compared to 32.3% for the year ended December 31, 2024. Operating return on equity was 26.4% for 2025, a decrease from 29.2% for 2024. The decrease in operating return on equity was due primarily to higher average stockholders' equity as a result of profitable growth and an increase in the fair value of the Company's investment portfolio offset in part by share repurchases.
Previous wording
State insurance laws restrict the ability of Kinsale Insurance to declare stockholder dividends without prior regulatory approval. State insurance regulators require insurance companies to maintain specified levels of statutory capital and surplus. The maximum dividend distribution Kinsale Insurance may make absent the approval or non-disapproval of the insurance regulatory authority in Arkansas is limited by Arkansas law to the greater of (1) 10% of policyholder surplus as of December 31 of the previous year, or (2) net income, not including realized capital gains, for the previous calendar year. The Arkansas statute also requires that dividends and other distributions be paid out of positive unassigned surplus without prior approval. The maximum amount of dividends Kinsale Insurance can pay us during 2025 without regulatory approval is $351.9 million. Insurance regulators have broad powers to ensure that statutory surplus remains at adequate levels, and there is no assurance that dividends of the maximum amount calculated under any applicable formula would be permitted. In the future, state insurance regulatory authorities that have jurisdiction over the payment of dividends by Kinsale Insurance may adopt statutory provisions more restrictive than those currently in effect. Kinsale Insurance paid $47.0 million of dividends to us during 2024. See also "Risk Factors — Risks Related to Our Business and Our Industry — Because we are a holding company and substantially all of our operations are conducted by our insurance subsidiary, our ability to pay dividends depends on our ability to obtain cash dividends or other permitted payments from our insurance subsidiary."
Current wording
State insurance laws restrict the ability of Kinsale Insurance to declare stockholder dividends without prior regulatory approval. State insurance regulators require insurance companies to maintain specified levels of statutory capital and surplus. The maximum dividend distribution Kinsale Insurance may make absent the approval or non-disapproval of the insurance regulatory authority in Arkansas is limited by Arkansas law to the greater of (1) 10% of policyholder surplus as of December 31 of the previous year, or (2) net income, not including realized capital gains, for the previous calendar year. The Arkansas statute also requires that dividends and other distributions be paid out of positive unassigned surplus without prior approval. The maximum amount of dividends Kinsale Insurance can pay us during 2026 without regulatory approval is $444.3 million. Insurance regulators have broad powers to ensure that statutory surplus remains at adequate levels, and there is no assurance that dividends of the maximum amount calculated under any applicable formula would be permitted. In the future, state insurance regulatory authorities that have jurisdiction over the payment of dividends by Kinsale Insurance may adopt statutory provisions more restrictive than those currently in effect. Kinsale Insurance paid $105.0 million of dividends to us during 2025. See also "Risk Factors — Risks Related to Our Business and Our Industry — Because we are a holding company and substantially all of our operations are conducted by our insurance subsidiary, our ability to pay dividends depends on our ability to obtain cash dividends or other permitted payments from our insurance subsidiary."
Previous wording
As of December 31, 2024, our holding company had $12.3 million in cash and investments, compared to $17.1 million as of December 31, 2023.
Current wording
As of December 31, 2025, our holding company had $50.0 million in cash and investments, compared to $12.3 million as of December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
In October 2024, our Board of Directors authorized a share repurchase program authorizing the repurchase of up to $100.0 million of our common stock. The shares may be repurchased from time to time in open market purchases, privately-negotiated transactions, block purchases, accelerated share repurchase agreements or a combination of methods and pursuant to safe harbors provided by Rule 10b-18 and Rule 10b5-1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The timing, manner, price and amount of any repurchases under the share repurchase program will be determined by us in our discretion. The stock repurchase program does not require us to repurchase any specific number of shares, and may be modified, suspended or terminated at any time. At December 31, 2024, the Company had $90.0 million of capacity remaining under its share repurchase program.
Current wording
In December 2025, our Board of Directors authorized a new share repurchase program authorizing the repurchase of up to $250.0 million of our common stock. The shares may be repurchased from time to time in open market purchases, privately-negotiated transactions, block purchases, accelerated share repurchase agreements or a combination of methods and pursuant to safe harbors provided by Rule 10b-18 and Rule 10b5-1 under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The timing, manner, price and amount of any repurchases under the share repurchase program will be determined by us in our discretion. The share repurchase program does not require us to repurchase any specific number of shares, and may be modified, suspended or terminated at any time.
Previous wording
For the year ended December 31, 2023, net cash used in investing activities was $860.9 million. For the year ended December 31, 2023, funds from operations were used to purchase fixed-maturity securities, particularly corporate bonds and asset- and mortgage-backed securities of $1.3 billion, and to a lesser extent, sovereigns and government agency bonds of $26.3 million and municipal bonds of $4.9 million. During 2023, we received proceeds of $245.6 million from sales of fixed-maturity securities, largely corporate bonds and mortgage- and asset-backed securities and $176.5 million from redemptions of asset- and mortgage-backed securities and corporate bonds. For the year ended December 31, 2023, purchases of equity securities of $86.6 million primarily consisted of common stocks. Proceeds from sales of equity securities of $30.6 million consisted of primarily ETFs and common stocks. In addition, net sales of short-term investments of $36.7 million consisted of U.S. Treasuries, government agency and corporate bonds. Net cash used in investing activities also included proceeds of $62.0 million from the sale of a portion of our real estate investment property in the third quarter of 2023.
Current wording
For the year ended December 31, 2025, net cash used in investing activities of $922.2 million reflected growth in our business operations. For the year ended December 31, 2025, funds from operations were used to purchase fixed-maturity securities, particularly mortgage- and asset-backed securities and corporate bonds of $2.5 billion. During 2025, we received proceeds of $1.2 billion from sales of fixed-maturity securities, largely corporate bonds, asset- and mortgage-backed securities and, to a lesser extent, municipal bonds and U.S. treasuries and $626.1 million from redemptions of asset- and mortgage-backed securities and corporate and municipal bonds. For the year ended December 31, 2025, purchases of equity securities of $183.2 million primarily consisted of common stocks and, to a lesser extent, ETFs. Proceeds from sales of equity securities of $14.6 million consisted primarily of sales of common stocks.
Previous wording
For the year ended December 31, 2024, net cash used in investing activities of $960.1 million reflected growth in our business operations. For the year ended December 31, 2024, funds from operations were used to purchase fixed-maturity securities, particularly corporate bonds and asset- and mortgage-backed securities of $1.6 billion, and to a lesser extent, municipal bonds of $3.7 million and sovereigns of $0.8 million. During 2024, we received proceeds of $289.4 million from sales of fixed-maturity securities, largely corporate bonds and mortgage- and asset-backed securities and $452.4 million from redemptions of asset- and mortgage-backed securities and corporate and municipal bonds. For the year ended December 31, 2024, purchases of equity securities of $156.5 million primarily consisted of common stocks and, to a lesser extent, ETFs. Proceeds from sales of equity securities of $34.4 million consisted of primarily ETFs and common stocks and, to a lesser extent, calls of non-redeemable preferred stock.
Current wording
For the year ended December 31, 2024, net cash used in investing activities was $960.1 million. For the year ended December 31, 2024, funds from operations were used to purchase fixed-maturity securities, particularly corporate bonds and asset- and mortgage-backed securities of $1.6 billion, and to a lesser extent, municipal bonds of $3.7 million and sovereigns of $0.8 million. During 2024, we received proceeds of $289.4 million from sales of fixed-maturity securities, largely corporate bonds and mortgage- and asset-backed securities and $452.4 million from redemptions of asset- and mortgage-backed securities and corporate bonds. For the year ended December 31, 2024, purchases of equity securities of $156.5 million primarily consisted of common stocks and, to a lesser extent, ETFs. Proceeds from sales of equity securities of $34.4 million consisted of common stocks and, to a lesser extent, calls of non-redeemable preferred stock.
Previous wording
For the year ended December 31, 2023, net cash used in financing activities was $28.5 million and reflected proceeds of $50.0 million from the issuance of the Series B Note on September 18, 2023. Proceeds from the sale of our real estate investment were used to pay down $62.0 million from our Credit Facility. Financing activities also reflected dividends of $0.56 per common share, or $13.0 million in the aggregate. Proceeds received from our equity compensation plan were $0.9 million, offset by payroll taxes withheld and remitted on restricted stock awards of $4.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2023.
Current wording
For the year ended December 31, 2025, net cash used in financing activities was $71.4 million and reflected dividends of $0.68 per common share, or $15.8 million in the aggregate and share repurchases of $90.0 million. Payroll taxes withheld and remitted on restricted stock awards were $6.3 million, offset in part by proceeds received from our equity compensation plan of $0.7 million. In addition, we drew down $40.0 million from our revolving credit facility primarily to fund construction of our new corporate headquarters which was completed in November 2025 and for general corporate purposes.
Previous wording
For the year ended December 31, 2024, property insurance represented 32.6% of our gross written premiums. When we write property insurance, we buy reinsurance to significantly mitigate our risk to large losses. We use sophisticated computer models to analyze the risk of severe losses from weather-related events and earthquakes. We measure exposure to these catastrophe losses in terms of PML, which is an estimate of what level of loss we would expect to experience in a windstorm or earthquake event occurring once in every 100 or 250 years. We manage this PML by purchasing catastrophe reinsurance coverage. Effective June 1, 2024, we purchased catastrophe reinsurance coverage of $175.0 million per event in excess of our $60.0 million per event retention. Our property catastrophe reinsurance includes a reinstatement provision which requires us to pay reinstatement premiums after a loss has occurred in order to preserve coverage. Including the reinstatement provision, the maximum aggregate loss recovery limit is $350.0 million and is in addition to the coverage provided by our other property reinsurance.
Current wording
For the year ended December 31, 2025, property insurance represented 29.3% of our gross written premiums. When we write property insurance, we buy reinsurance to significantly mitigate our risk to large losses. We use sophisticated third-party stochastic models to analyze the risk of severe losses from weather-related events and earthquakes. We measure exposure to these catastrophe losses in terms of PML, which is an estimate of what level of loss we would expect to experience in a weather-related or earthquake event occurring once in every 100 or 250 years. We manage this PML by purchasing catastrophe reinsurance coverage. Effective June 1, 2025, we purchased catastrophe reinsurance coverage of $250.0 million per event in excess of our $75.0 million per event retention. Our property catastrophe reinsurance includes a reinstatement provision which requires us to pay reinstatement premiums after a loss has occurred in order to preserve coverage. Including the reinstatement provision, the maximum aggregate loss recovery limit is $500.0 million and is in addition to the coverage provided by our other property reinsurance.
Previous wording
Reinsurance contracts do not relieve us from our obligations to policyholders. Failure of the reinsurer to honor its obligation could result in losses to us, and therefore, we established an allowance for credit risk based on historical analysis of credit losses for highly rated companies in the insurance industry. The Company evaluates the financial condition of its reinsurers and monitors concentration of credit risk arising from its exposure to individual reinsurers. As of December 31, 2024, Kinsale Insurance has only contracted with reinsurers with A.M. Best financial strength ratings of "A-" (Excellent) or better. At December 31, 2024, the net reinsurance receivable, defined as the sum of paid and unpaid reinsurance recoverables, ceded unearned premiums less reinsurance payables, from five reinsurers represented 62.2% of the total balance. At December 31, 2024, we recorded an allowance for credit losses of $0.9 million related to our reinsurance balances.
Current wording
Reinsurance contracts do not relieve us from our obligations to policyholders. Failure of the reinsurer to honor its obligation could result in losses to us, and therefore, we established an allowance for credit risk based on historical analysis of credit losses for highly rated companies in the insurance industry. The Company evaluates the financial condition of its reinsurers and monitors concentration of credit risk arising from its exposure to individual reinsurers. As of December 31, 2025, Kinsale Insurance has only contracted with reinsurers with A.M. Best financial strength ratings of "A-" (Excellent) or better. At December 31, 2025, the net reinsurance receivable, defined as the sum of paid and unpaid reinsurance recoverables, ceded unearned premiums less reinsurance payables, from five reinsurers represented 60.0% of the total balance. At December 31, 2025, we recorded an allowance for credit losses of $1.1 million related to our reinsurance balances.
Previous wording
As of December 31, 2024, we had $11.0 million outstanding under the Amended and Restated Credit Agreement, which has a maturity of July 22, 2027. Interest on the outstanding amounts is based on 3-month Adjusted Term SOFR plus a margin of 1.625%. Interest accrues over the term of the interest rate and is payable in arrears.
Current wording
As of December 31, 2025, we had $51.0 million outstanding under the Amended and Restated Credit Agreement, which has a maturity of July 22, 2027. Interest on the outstanding amounts is based on 3-month Adjusted Term SOFR plus a margin of 1.625%. Interest accrues over the term of the interest rate and is payable in arrears.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2024, total stockholders' equity and tangible stockholders' equity were $1.5 billion, compared to total stockholders' equity and tangible equity of $1.1 billion at December 31, 2023. The increase in both total stockholders' equity and tangible stockholders' equity in 2024 compared to 2023 was primarily due to profits generated during the period and net activity related to stock-based compensation plans. These increases were offset in part by dividends declared during 2024, share repurchases and an increase in unrealized losses on available-for-sale investments, net of taxes. Tangible stockholders’ equity is a non-GAAP financial measure. See "—Reconciliation of Non-GAAP Financial Measures" for a reconciliation of stockholders' equity in accordance with GAAP to tangible stockholders' equity.
Current wording
At December 31, 2025, total stockholders' equity and tangible stockholders' equity were $2.0 billion, compared to total stockholders' equity and tangible equity of $1.5 billion at December 31, 2024. The increase in both total stockholders' equity and tangible stockholders' equity in 2025 compared to 2024 was primarily due to profits generated during the period, an increase in the fair value of our fixed-maturity investments, net of taxes and net activity related to stock-based compensation plans. These increases were offset in part by share repurchases and dividends declared during 2025. Tangible stockholders’ equity is a non-GAAP financial measure. See "—Reconciliation of Non-GAAP Financial Measures" for a reconciliation of stockholders' equity in accordance with GAAP to tangible stockholders' equity.
Previous wording
On February 12, 2024, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.15 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on March 13, 2024 to all stockholders of record on February 27, 2024.
Current wording
On February 10, 2025, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.17 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on March 13, 2025 to all stockholders of record on February 27, 2025.
Previous wording
On February 10, 2025, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.17 per share of common stock. This dividend is payable on March 13, 2025 to all stockholders of record on February 27, 2025.
Current wording
On February 4, 2026, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.25 per share of common stock. This dividend is payable on March 12, 2026 to all stockholders of record on February 26, 2026.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2024, our cash and invested assetsof $4.1 billion consisted of fixed-maturity securities, cash and cash equivalents, equity securities, short-term investments and real estate investments. At December 31, 2024, the majority of the investment portfolio was comprised of fixed-maturity securities of $3.5 billion that were classified as available-for-sale. Available-for-sale investments are carried at fair value with unrealized gains and losses on those securities, net of applicable taxes, reported as a separate component of accumulated other comprehensive income. At December 31, 2024, we also held $398.4 million of equity securities, which were comprised of common stocks, ETFs and non-redeemable preferred stock, $113.2 million of cash and cash equivalents, $15.0 million of real estate investments and $3.7 million of short-term investments. Our fixed-maturity securities, including cash equivalents, had a weighted average duration of 3.0 years and an average rating of "AA-" at December 31, 2024. Our investment portfolio, excluding cash equivalents and real estate investments, had a gross investment return of 4.4% as of December 31, 2024, compared to 4.0% as of December 31, 2023.
Current wording
At December 31, 2025, our cash and invested assetsof $5.2 billion consisted of fixed-maturity securities, cash and cash equivalents, equity securities, short-term investments and real estate investments. At December 31, 2025, the majority of the investment portfolio was comprised of fixed-maturity securities of $4.3 billion that were classified as available-for-sale. Available-for-sale investments are carried at fair value with unrealized gains and losses on those securities, net of applicable taxes, reported as a separate component of accumulated other comprehensive income. At December 31, 2025, we also held $626.4 million of equity securities, which were comprised of common stocks, ETFs and non-redeemable preferred stock, $163.4 million of cash and cash equivalents, $55.2 million of real estate investments and $3.9 million of short-term investments. Our fixed-maturity securities, including cash equivalents, had a weighted average duration of 4.0 years and an average rating of "AA-" at December 31, 2025. Our investment portfolio, excluding cash equivalents and real estate investments, had a gross investment return of 4.4% as of December 31, 2025 and December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
In order to conduct business in certain states, we are required to maintain letters of credit or assets on deposit to support state-mandated insurance regulatory requirements and to comply with certain third-party agreements. Assets held on deposit or in trust accounts are primarily in the form of cash or certain high-grade securities. The fair value of our restricted assets was$3.7 million and $5.8 million at December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
In order to conduct business in certain states, we are required to maintain letters of credit or assets on deposit to support state-mandated insurance regulatory requirements and to comply with certain third-party agreements. Assets held on deposit or in trust accounts are primarily in the form of cash or certain high-grade securities. The fair value of our restricted assets was$3.9 million and $3.7 million at December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively.
Previous wording
(1) Other expenses are corporate expenses not allocated to our insurance operations.
Current wording
(1) Other expenses includes primarily corporate expenses not allocated to our insurance operations.
Previous wording
We categorize our reserves for unpaid losses and loss adjustment expenses into two types: case reserves and reserves for incurred but not reported losses ("IBNR"). Our gross reserves for losses and loss adjustment expenses at December 31, 2024 were $2.3 billion, and of this amount, 90.4% related to IBNR. Our reserves for losses and loss adjustment expenses, net of reinsurance, at December 31, 2024 were $2.0 billion, and of this amount, 90.0% related to IBNR. A 5% change in net IBNR reserves would equate to a $88.4 million change in the reserve for losses and loss adjustment expenses at such date, as well as a $69.8 million change in net income, a 4.7% change in both stockholders' equity and tangible stockholders' equity, in each case at or for the year ended December 31, 2024.
Current wording
We categorize our reserves for unpaid losses and loss adjustment expenses into two types: case reserves and reserves for incurred but not reported losses ("IBNR"). Our gross reserves for losses and loss adjustment expenses at December 31, 2025 were $2.9 billion, and of this amount, 91.6% related to IBNR. Our reserves for losses and loss adjustment expenses, net of reinsurance, at December 31, 2025 were $2.5 billion, and of this amount, 91.2% related to IBNR. A 5% change in net IBNR reserves would equate to a $114.4 million change in the reserve for losses and loss adjustment expenses at such date, as well as a $90.4 million change in net income, a 4.6% change in both stockholders' equity and tangible stockholders' equity, in each case at or for the year ended December 31, 2025.
Previous wording
Case reserves are established for individual claims that have been reported to us. We are notified of losses by our insureds or their brokers. Based on the information provided, we establish case reserves by estimating the ultimate losses from the claim, including defense costs associated with the ultimate settlement of the claim. Our claims department personnel use their knowledge of the specific claim along with advice from internal and external experts, including underwriters and legal counsel, to estimate the expected ultimate losses. During the life cycle of a particular claim, as more information becomes available, we may revise our estimate of the ultimate value of the claim either upward or downward. The amount of the individual claim reserve is based on the most recent information available.
Current wording
Case reserves are established for individual claims that have been reported to us. We are notified of losses by our insureds or their brokers. Based on the information provided, we establish case reserves by estimating the ultimate losses from the claim, including defense costs associated with the ultimate settlement of the claim. Our claims department personnel use their knowledge of the specific claim along with advice from internal and external experts to estimate the expected ultimate losses. During the life cycle of a particular claim, as more information becomes available, we may revise our estimate of the ultimate value of the claim either upward or downward. The amount of the individual claim reserve is based on the most recent information available.
Previous wording
Each of the impacts described below is estimated individually, without consideration for any correlation among key indicators or among lines of business. Therefore, it would be inappropriate to take each of the amounts described below and add them together to estimate volatility for our reserves in total. For any one reserving line of business, the estimated variation in reserves due to changes in key indicators is a reasonable estimate of possible variation that may occur in the future. The variation discussed is not meant to be a worst-case scenario and, therefore, it is possible that future variation may be greater than the amounts shown below.
Current wording
Each of the impacts described below is estimated individually, without consideration for any correlation among key indicators or among lines of business. Therefore, it would be inappropriate to take each of the amounts described below and add them together to estimate volatility for our reserves in total. For any single reserving line of business, the estimated variation in reserves due to changes in key indicators is a reasonable estimate of possible variation that may occur in the future. The variation discussed is not meant to be a worst-case scenario and, therefore, it is possible that future variation may be greater than the amounts shown below.
Previous wording
We enter into reinsurance contracts to limit our exposure to potential large losses. Reinsurance refers to an arrangement in which a company called a reinsurer agrees in a contract (often referred to as a treaty) to assume specified risks written by an insurance company (known as a ceding company) by paying the insurance company all or a portion of the insurance company's losses arising under specified classes of insurance policies in return for a share in premiums.
Current wording
We enter into reinsurance contracts to limit our exposure to potential large losses. Reinsurance refers to an arrangement in which a company called a reinsurer agrees in a contract (often referred to as a treaty) to assume specified risks written by an insurance company (known as a ceding company) by paying the insurance company all or a portion of the insurance company's losses arising under specified classes of insurance policies in return for a share of premiums.
Previous wording
Reinsurance recoverables recorded on insurance losses ceded under reinsurance contracts are subject to judgments and uncertainties similar to those involved in estimating gross loss reserves. In addition to these uncertainties, our reinsurance recoverables may prove uncollectible if the reinsurers are unable or unwilling to perform under the reinsurance contracts. In establishing our reinsurance allowance for credit losses, we evaluate the financial condition of our reinsurers and monitor concentration of credit risk arising from our exposure to individual reinsurers. To determine if an allowance is necessary, we consider, among other factors, published financial information, reports from rating agencies, payment history, collateral held and our legal right to offset balances recoverable against balances we may owe. Our reinsurance allowance for credit losses is subject to uncertainty and volatility due to the time lag involved in collecting amounts recoverable from reinsurers. Over the period of time that losses occur, reinsurers are billed and amounts are ultimately collected, economic conditions, as well as the operational and financial performance of particular reinsurers may change and these changes may affect the reinsurers’ willingness and ability to meet their contractual obligations to us. It is difficult to fully evaluate the impact of major catastrophic events on the financial stability of reinsurers, as well as the access to capital that reinsurers may have when such events occur. The ceding of insurance does not legally discharge us from our primary liability for the full amount of the policies, and we will be required to pay the loss and bear the collection risk if any reinsurer fails to meet its obligations under the reinsurance contracts. We target reinsurers with A.M. Best financial strength ratings of"A-" (Excellent) or better. Based on our evaluation of the factors discussed above, the allowance for credit losses related to reinsurance balances was $0.9 million at December 31, 2024.
Current wording
Reinsurance recoverables recorded on insurance losses ceded under reinsurance contracts are subject to judgments and uncertainties similar to those involved in estimating gross loss reserves. In addition to these uncertainties, our reinsurance recoverables may prove uncollectible if the reinsurers are unable or unwilling to perform under the reinsurance contracts. In establishing our reinsurance allowance for credit losses, we evaluate the financial condition of our reinsurers and monitor concentration of credit risk arising from our exposure to individual reinsurers. To determine if an allowance is necessary, we consider, among other factors, published financial information, reports from rating agencies, payment history, collateral held and our legal right to offset balances recoverable against balances we may owe. Our reinsurance allowance for credit losses is subject to uncertainty and volatility due to the time lag involved in collecting amounts recoverable from reinsurers. Over the period of time that losses occur, reinsurers are billed and amounts are ultimately collected, economic conditions, as well as the operational and financial performance of particular reinsurers may change and these changes may affect the reinsurers’ willingness and ability to meet their contractual obligations to us. It is difficult to fully evaluate the impact of major catastrophic events on the financial stability of reinsurers, as well as the access to capital that reinsurers may have when such events occur. The ceding of insurance does not legally discharge us from our primary liability for the full amount of the policies, and we will be required to pay the loss and bear the collection risk if any reinsurer fails to meet its obligations under the reinsurance contracts. We target reinsurers with A.M. Best financial strength ratings of"A-" (Excellent) or better. Based on our evaluation of the factors discussed above, the allowance for credit losses related to reinsurance balances was $1.1 million at December 31, 2025.
Rearranged current paragraphs (7)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
Gross written premiums increased across the majority of our underwriting divisions for the year ended December 31, 2025 and were most notable in the following lines of business:
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
Net written premiums increased across the majority of our underwriting divisions for the year ended December 31, 2025. Changes in net written premium were most notable in the following lines of business:
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
During the year ended December 31, 2024, current year incurred losses and loss adjustment expenses included $25.5 million of net catastrophe losses primarily attributable to Hurricanes Milton, Helene and Francine and tornadoes in the Midwest.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
In October 2024, our Board of Directors authorized a share repurchase program authorizing the repurchase of up to $100.0 million of our common stock. This share repurchase program was exhausted in October 2025.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
On May 13, 2025, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.17 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on June 12, 2025 to all stockholders of record on May 29, 2025.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
On August 15, 2025, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.17 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on September 11, 2025 to all stockholders of record on August 29, 2025.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
On November 12, 2025, the Company’s Board of Directors declared a cash dividend of $0.17 per share of common stock. This dividend was paid on December 11, 2025 to all stockholders of record on November 28, 2025.