NovoCure Ltd
For the period ended Jun 4, 2025. Filed Apr 21, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
What shareholders are asked to vote on at a company's meeting. It is where to find what directors and top executives are paid, and who owns the most shares.
Jun 4, 2025 · Filed Apr 21, 2025
Contents
PROXY STATEMENT SUMMARY
This Summary highlights certain information included in this Proxy Statement. This Summary does not contain all of the information that you should consider prior to voting. Please review the complete Proxy Statement and the Annual Report that accompanies the Proxy Statement for additional information.
2025 ANNUAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS
| Date and Time: | Wednesday, June 4, 2025, at 9:00 a.m. U.S. ET |
|---|---|
| Place: | Second Floor, No. 4 The Forum, |
| Grenville Street, St. Helier, Jersey, Channel Islands JE2 4UF | |
| Record Date: | April 4, 2025 |
| Voting Deadline: | Votes submitted by Internet, telephone or mail must be received by 11:59 p.m. ET on June 1, 2025 to be counted. Shareholders may also vote in person at the Annual Meeting. |
VOTING MATTERS AND BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS
| Voting Matter | BoardRecommendation | Page Number withMore Information |
|---|---|---|
| Election of director nominees | FOR all nominees | 12 |
| Approval and ratification of the appointment of Kost Forer Gabbay & Kasierer, a member of Ernst & Young Global (“EY Global”) as our auditor and independent registered public accounting firm for the Company’s fiscal year ending December 31, 2025 | FOR | 17 |
| Non-binding advisory vote to approve executive compensation | FOR | 18 |
| Approve our 2025 Employee Share Purchase Plan | FOR | 19 |
GENERAL INFORMATION
| Stock Symbol | NVCR |
|---|---|
| Exchange | NASDAQ Global Select Market |
| Ordinary Shares Outstanding on the Record Date | 111,485,134 |
| Registrar and Transfer Agent | Computershare Shareowner Services LLC |
| Principal Executive Office | Second Floor, No. 4 The Forum, Grenville StreetSt. Helier, Jersey, Channel Islands JE2 4UF |
| Corporate Website | www.novocure.com |
DIRECTOR NOMINEES
You have the opportunity to vote on the election of the following director nominees whose terms of office are expiring, and in the case of Ms. Cordova, who is being nominated for the first time. Additional information regarding each director nominee’s experience, skills and qualifications to serve as a member of our Board can be found in the Proxy Statement under Proposal 1 – Election of Directors. All of our directors are being elected for a one-year term at the 2025 annual general meeting of shareholders.
| Name | Age | Years on Board | Occupation | Independent | Committees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ashley Cordova | 46 | — | Chief Executive Officer, Novocure | No | None |
| Asaf Danziger | 58 | 13 | Senior Advisor to Chief Executive Officer, Novocure | No | None |
| William Doyle | 62 | 21 | Executive Chairman, Novocure | No | None |
| Jeryl Hilleman | 67 | 7 | Former Chief Financial Officer of Intersect ENT, Inc. | Yes | Audit |
| David Hung | 67 | 7 | Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer, Nuvation Bio Inc. | Yes | Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Kinyip Gabriel Leung | 63 | 14 | Former Vice Chairman, Novocure Board | Yes | Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Martin Madden | 64 | 8 | Former Vice President Research and Development of DePuy-Synthes of Johnson & Johnson | Yes | Audit; Compensation |
| Allyson Ocean | 53 | 2 | Professor of Clinical Medicine at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University; Medical oncologist and attending physician in gastrointestinal oncology at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center; Medical oncologist at The Jay Monahan Center for Gastrointestinal Health | Yes | Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Timothy Scannell | 60 | 4 | Former President and Chief Operating Officer, Stryker Corporation | Yes | Audit |
| Kristin Stafford | 43 | 2 | Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer, Royalty Pharma plc | Yes | Compensation |
| William Vernon | 69 | 19 | Former Chief Executive Officer of Kraft Foods Group, Inc. | Yes | Compensation |
BOARD HIGHLIGHTS
The statistics below relate to our current directors, including nominees:
73% of our Board members are independent
Average age of directors is 59
Average tenure of directors is 8.8 years
36% of our Board members identify as female
Highly qualified directors reflect broad mix of business backgrounds, skills and experiences
73% of directors have international experience
45% of directors have experience as a public company Chief Executive Officer ("CEO") or executive chair in the past five years
| Independent | Non-independent | ||||||||||
| Summary of Experience, Qualifications, Attributes and Skills | Hilleman | Hung | Leung | Madden | Ocean | Scannell | Stafford | Vernon | Cordova | Danziger | Doyle |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public Company CEO / Exec. Chair (past 5 years) | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| Senior Executive Leadership | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |
| Commercial | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| Corporate Governance | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||
| Cybersecurity | ✔ | ||||||||||
| Financial Literacy | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| International | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||
| Pharmaceuticals / Medical Device | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |
| Product Development | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||
| Risk Management | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||
| Planned Committee Membership | |||||||||||
| Audit | Chair | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||||
| Compensation | ✔ | ✔ | Chair | ||||||||
| Nominating and Corporate Governance | ✔ | Chair | ✔ | ||||||||
The table below provides certain highlights of the composition of our Board members and nominees as of the record date, with categories as set forth by Nasdaq Listing Rule 5606):
| Board Diversity Matrix (As of April 4, 2025) | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Number of Directors: 11 | ||||
| Female | Male | Non-Binary | Did Not Disclose Gender | |
| Gender Identity | ||||
| Directors | 4 | 7 | — | — |
| Demographic Background | ||||
| African American or Black | — | — | — | — |
| Alaskan Native or Native American | — | — | — | — |
| Asian | — | 2 | — | — |
| Hispanic or Latinx | — | — | — | — |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | — | — | — | — |
| White | 4 | 4 | — | — |
| Two or More Races or Ethnicities | — | 1 | — | — |
| LGBTQ+ | — | |||
| Did Not Disclose Demographic Background | — | |||
CORPORATE GOVERNANCE HIGHLIGHTS
Separate Executive Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer positions
Strong Lead Independent Director position
Three fully independent Board committees
Executive session of independent directors and committee members held at each regularly-scheduled Board meeting and committee meeting
Frequent Board and committee meetings to ensure awareness and alignment
Six Board meetings in 2024
17 standing committee meetings in 2024
Directors attended 98% of Board and committee meetings held in 2024
Annual Board and committee self-assessments and discussions with individual directors
Strong clawback and anti-hedging/anti-pledging policies
Senior executives do not receive tax gross-ups on severance or change in control benefits
Significant share ownership requirements for directors and senior executives
Our Board and its committees have an active role in risk oversight
2024 CORPORATE ACHIEVEMENTS
Increased adoption of Tumor Treating Fields ("TTFields") therapy
As of December 31, 2024, 4,126 active patients were using Optune Gio® and Optune Lua®, an increase of 10% from year-end 2023.
In 2024, 6,472 total prescriptions were received, an increase of 6% compared to 2023.
Received approval of our Premarket Approval ("PMA") application from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration ("FDA") for the use of Optune Lua concurrent with PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitors or docetaxel for the treatment of adult patients with metastatic non-small cell lung cancer ("NSCLC"). Between approval and December 31, 2024, 52 NSCLC prescriptions were received and 20 active patients were on therapy at year-end.
Advanced our clinical and product development pipelines
Announced results from the phase 3 METIS clinical trial, which explored the efficacy and safety of TTFields therapy together with best supportive care for the treatment of brain metastases from NSCLC following stereotactic radiosurgery. The METIS trial met its primary endpoint as patients treated with TTFields therapy and best supportive care demonstrated a statistically significant extension in time to intracranial progression compared to patients treated with best supportive care alone. Results from the METIS trial were presented at the at the 2024 American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting.
Announced positive top-line results from the phase 3 PANOVA-3 clinical trial, which explored the efficacy and safety of TTFields therapy together with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel for the treatment of unresectable, locally-advanced pancreatic cancer. The PANOVA-3 trial met its primary endpoint as patients treated with TTFields therapy, gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel exhibited a statistically significant extension in overall survival compared to patients treated with gemcitabine and nab-paclitaxel alone.
Received Breakthrough Device designation from the FDA for the use of TTFields therapy for the treatment of brain metastases from NSCLC, as well as for the treatment of unresectable, locally-advanced pancreatic cancer.
Received approval of our PMA supplement from the FDA for the new Head Flexible Electrode ("HFE") transducer array for use with Optune Gio for the treatment of adult patients with glioblastoma ("GBM"), which are thinner and lighter than previous array designs. Following approval, we began a controlled transition to the HFE array for all patients in the U.S.
Completed enrollment of the phase 3 TRIDENT clinical trial studying the use of Optune Gio concomitant with radiation and temozolomide.
Completed enrollment of the phase 2 PANOVA-4 clinical trial studying the use of TTFields therapy together with paclitaxel, gemcitabine, and the PD-L1 inhibitor atezolizumab for the treatment of metastatic pancreatic cancer.
Launched the phase 3 KEYNOTE D58 clinical trial exploring the use of TTFields therapy together with pembrolizumab and temozolomide for the treatment of newly diagnosed GBM.
Launched the phase 2 LUNAR-4 clinical trial studying the use of TTFields therapy together with pembrolizumab for the treatment of metastatic NSCLC in patients previously treated with a PD-1/PD-L1 inhibitor and platinum-based chemotherapy.
Developed and expanded our talent pool
Announced the retirement of Chief Executive Officer ("CEO"), Asaf Danziger, and the promotion of then Chief Financial Officer, Ashley Cordova, to the role of CEO at year-end 2024. In anticipation of Ms. Cordova's promotion, announced the hiring of new Chief Financial Officer, Christoph Brackmann, effective January 1, 2025.
Created shareholder value by building a profitable business
Generated $605 million in annual net revenues, an increase of 19% compared to 2023.
Invested $210 million in research and development initiatives to advance our clinical and product development pipelines.
Cash, cash equivalents and short-term investments totaling $960 million as of December 31, 2024.
EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION HIGHLIGHTS
The primary objectives of our executive compensation program are to attract, retain and motivate superior executive talent, to provide incentives that reward the achievement of performance goals that we believe support the enhancement of shareholder value and to align the executives’ interests with those of shareholders through long-term incentives. The following table highlights some of our executive compensation policies and practices, which are structured to drive performance and align our executives’ interests with our shareholders’ long-term interests:
| WHAT WE DO | WHAT WE DON'T DO | ||
| ✔ | Pay for performance | X | No plans that encourage excessive risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| ✔ | Pay competitively | X | No share option repricing |
| ✔ | Align compensation with shareholder interests | X | No gross-ups in the event of a change in control |
| ✔ | Double trigger change in control provisions | X | No excessive perks |
| ✔ | Independent compensation consultant | X | No special health or welfare benefits |
| ✔ | Robust stock ownership and retention guidelines | ||
| ✔ | Clawback and recoupment policy | ||
| ✔ | Anti-hedging and anti-pledging policy | ||
| ✔ | Annual say-on-pay vote | ||
The text of this filing, as the company filed it with the SEC, without its images or exhibits. This is not investment advice.