NovoCure Ltd
For the period ended Jun 5, 2024. Filed Apr 22, 2024.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
What shareholders are asked to vote on at a company's meeting. It is where to find what directors and top executives are paid, and who owns the most shares.
Jun 5, 2024 · Filed Apr 22, 2024
Contents
PROXY STATEMENT SUMMARY
This Summary highlights certain information included in this Proxy Statement. This Summary does not contain all of the information that you should consider prior to voting. Please review the complete Proxy Statement and the Annual Report that accompanies the Proxy Statement for additional information.
2024 ANNUAL MEETING OF SHAREHOLDERS
| Date and Time: | Wednesday, June 5, 2024, at 9:00 a.m. U.S. ET |
|---|---|
| Place: | Second Floor, No. 4 The Forum, |
| Grenville Street, St. Helier, Jersey, Channel Islands JE2 4UF | |
| Record Date: | April 2, 2024 |
| Voting Deadline: | Votes submitted by Internet, telephone or mail must be received by 11:59 p.m. ET on June 2, 2024 to be counted. Shareholders may also vote in person at the Annual Meeting. |
VOTING MATTERS AND BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS
| Voting Matter | BoardRecommendation | Page Number withMore Information |
|---|---|---|
| Election of director nominees | FOR all nominees | 12 |
| Approval and ratification of the appointment of Kost Forer Gabbay & Kasierer, a member of Ernst & Young Global (“EY Global”) as our auditor and independent registered public accounting firm for the Company’s fiscal year ending December 31, 2024 | FOR | 17 |
| Non-binding advisory vote to approve executive compensation | FOR | 18 |
| Approve our 2024 Omnibus Incentive Plan | FOR | 19 |
| Approve our Say on Pay Frequency | ONE YEAR | 28 |
GENERAL INFORMATION
| Stock Symbol | NVCR |
|---|---|
| Exchange | NASDAQ Global Select Market |
| Ordinary Shares Outstanding on the Record Date | 107,606,309 |
| Registrar and Transfer Agent | Computershare Shareowner Services LLC |
| Principal Executive Office | Second Floor, No. 4 The Forum, Grenville StreetSt. Helier, Jersey, Channel Islands JE2 4UF |
| Corporate Website | www.novocure.com |
DIRECTOR NOMINEES
You have the opportunity to vote on the election of the following director nominees whose terms of office are expiring. Additional information regarding each director nominee’s experience, skills and qualifications to serve as a member of our Board can be found in the Proxy Statement under Proposal 1 – Election of Directors. All of our directors are being elected for a one-year term at the 2024 annual general meeting of shareholders.
| Name | Age | Years on Board | Occupation | Independent | Committees |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Asaf Danziger | 57 | 12 | Chief Executive Officer, Novocure | No | None |
| William Doyle | 61 | 20 | Executive Chairman, Novocure | No | None |
| Jeryl Hilleman | 66 | 6 | Former Chief Financial Officer of Intersect ENT, Inc. | Yes | Audit |
| David Hung | 66 | 6 | Founder, President and Chief Executive Officer, Nuvation Bio Inc. | Yes | Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Kinyip Gabriel Leung | 62 | 13 | Former Vice Chairman, Novocure Board | Yes | Compensation, Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Martin Madden | 63 | 7 | Former Vice President Research and Development of DePuy-Synthes of Johnson & Johnson | Yes | Audit; Compensation |
| Allyson Ocean | 52 | 1 | Professor of Clinical Medicine at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University; Medical oncologist and attending physician in gastrointestinal oncology at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center; Medical oncologist at The Jay Monahan Center for Gastrointestinal Health | Yes | Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Timothy Scannell | 59 | 3 | Former President and Chief Operating Officer, Stryker Corporation | Yes | Audit, Nominating and Corporate Governance |
| Kristin Stafford | 42 | 1 | Senior Vice President, Chief Accounting Officer, Royalty Pharma plc | Yes | Compensation |
| William Vernon | 68 | 18 | Former Chief Executive Officer of Kraft Foods Group, Inc. | Yes | Compensation |
BOARD HIGHLIGHTS
The statistics below relate to our current directors, including nominees:
80% of our Board members are independent
Average age of directors is 59.6
Average tenure of directors is 8.7 years
30% of our Board members identify as female
Highly qualified directors reflect broad mix of business backgrounds, skills and experiences
70% of directors have international experience
30% of directors have experience as a public company Chief Executive Officer ("CEO") or executive chair in the past five years
| Independent | Non-independent | |||||||||
| Summary of Experience, Qualifications, Attributes and Skills | Hilleman | Hung | Leung | Madden | Ocean | Scannell | Stafford | Vernon | Danziger | Doyle |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Public Company CEO / Exec. Chair (past 5 years) | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| Senior Executive Leadership | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |
| Commercial | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||
| Corporate Governance | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||
| Cybersecurity | ✔ | |||||||||
| Financial Literacy | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||||
| International | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||
| Pharmaceuticals / Medical Device | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||
| Product Development | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | |||
| Risk Management | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | ||||||
| Planned Committee Membership | ||||||||||
| Audit | Chair | ✔ | ✔ | |||||||
| Compensation | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | Chair | ||||||
| Nominating and Corporate Governance | ✔ | ✔ | ✔ | Chair | ||||||
The table below provides certain highlights of the composition of our Board members and nominees as of the record date, with categories as set forth by Nasdaq Listing Rule 5606):
| Board Diversity Matrix (As of April 2, 2024) | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total Number of Directors: 10 | ||||
| Female | Male | Non-Binary | Did Not Disclose Gender | |
| Gender Identity | ||||
| Directors | 3 | 7 | — | — |
| Demographic Background | ||||
| African American or Black | — | — | — | — |
| Alaskan Native or Native American | — | — | — | — |
| Asian | — | 2 | — | — |
| Hispanic or Latinx | — | — | — | — |
| Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander | — | — | — | — |
| White | 3 | 4 | — | — |
| Two or More Races or Ethnicities | — | 1 | — | — |
| LGBTQ+ | — | |||
| Did Not Disclose Demographic Background | — | |||
CORPORATE GOVERNANCE HIGHLIGHTS
Separate Executive Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer positions
Strong Lead Independent Director position
Three fully independent Board committees
Executive session of independent directors and committee members held at each regularly-scheduled Board meeting and committee meeting
Frequent Board and committee meetings to ensure awareness and alignment
Seven Board meetings in 2023
16 standing committee meetings in 2023
Directors attended 98.46% of Board and committee meetings held in 2023
Annual Board and committee self-assessments and discussions with individual directors
Strong clawback and anti-hedging/anti-pledging policies
Senior executives do not receive tax gross-ups on severance or change in control benefits
Significant share ownership requirements for directors and senior executives
Our Board and its committees have an active role in risk oversight
2023 CORPORATE ACHIEVEMENTS
Increased acceptance of Tumor Treating Fields therapy ("TTFields")
3,755 active patients on Optune Gio® and Optune Lua® as of December 31, 2023, an increase of 9% from the same period in 2022.
Received 6,083 total prescriptions in 2023, an increase of 10% compared to 2022.
Received regulatory approval and successfully launched Optune Gio for the treatment of newly diagnosed glioblastoma ("GBM") in France.
Advanced our clinical and product development pipelines
Announced the results from the phase 3 LUNAR clinical trial, which explored the efficacy and safety of TTFields therapy together with physician’s choice immune checkpoint inhibitor or docetaxel (collectively, “systemic therapies”) for the treatment of metastatic non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) following disease progression on or after use of platinum-based chemotherapy. Patients treated with TTFields and systemic therapies demonstrated a statistically significant and clinically meaningful improvement in overall survival without an increase in systemic toxicity. Results of the LUNAR clinical trial were published in The Lancet Oncology and served as the clinical basis for a Premarket Approval (“PMA”) application, which was submitted to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) and is currently under substantive review.
Completed enrollment in the phase 3 PANOVA-3 clinical trial, studying the use of TTFields therapy and paclitaxel and gemcitabine for the treatment of locally advanced pancreatic cancer, and the phase 3 METIS clinical trial, studying the use of TTFields monotherapy following stereotactic radiosurgery for the treatment of brain metastases from NSCLC.
Launched the phase 3 LUNAR-2 clinical trial, exploring the use of TTFields therapy together with platinum-based chemotherapy and the anti-PD-1 therapy pembrolizumab for the first-line treatment of metastatic NSCLC.
Launched the phase 2 PANOVA-4 clinical trial, in collaboration with Roche, studying the use of TTFields therapy together with paclitaxel, gemcitabine, and the PD-L1 inhibitor atezolizumab for the treatment of metastatic pancreatic cancer.
Successfully launched our lighter, thinner next generation arrays for the treatment of newly diagnosed glioblastoma in multiple European markets.
Submitted a PMA supplement application to the FDA for the use of our next generation arrays for the treatment of newly diagnosed GBM in the U.S.
Developed and expanded our talent pool
Restructured and expanded executive leadership team to solidify and strengthen leadership capability in anticipation of a period of significant innovation and growth, including the hiring of Chief Human Resources Officer, Michael Puri, and Chief Medical Officer, Nicolas Leupin, MD, PhD.
Increased total employee headcount to 1,497 as of December 31, 2023, a year-over-year increase of 13%.
Created shareholder value by building a profitable business
Generated $509 million in annual net revenues.
Invested a record $223 million in research and development initiatives to advance our clinical and product development pipelines.
Cash, cash equivalents and short-term investments totaling $910 million at December 31, 2023.
EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION HIGHLIGHTS
The primary objectives of our executive compensation program are to attract, retain and motivate superior executive talent, to provide incentives that reward the achievement of performance goals that we believe support the enhancement of shareholder value and to align the executives’ interests with those of shareholders through long-term incentives. The following table highlights some of our executive compensation policies and practices, which are structured to drive performance and align our executives’ interests with our shareholders’ long-term interests:
| WHAT WE DO | WHAT WE DON'T DO | ||
| ✔ | Pay for performance | X | No plans that encourage excessive risk |
|---|---|---|---|
| ✔ | Pay competitively | X | No share option repricing |
| ✔ | Align compensation with shareholder interests | X | No gross-ups in the event of a change in control |
| ✔ | Double trigger change in control provisions | X | No excessive perks |
| ✔ | Independent compensation consultant | X | No special health or welfare benefits |
| ✔ | Robust stock ownership and retention guidelines | ||
| ✔ | Clawback and recoupment policy | ||
| ✔ | Anti-hedging and anti-pledging policy | ||
| ✔ | Annual say-on-pay vote | ||
The text of this filing, as the company filed it with the SEC, without its images or exhibits. This is not investment advice.