Suzano S.A.
For the period ended Dec 31, 2024. Filed Apr 28, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
The yearly report of a company based outside the US. It covers much of what a 10-K does, and may follow accounting rules other than US ones.
FY2024 · Filed Apr 28, 2025
Contents
28 SEGMENT INFORMATION
28.1 Criteria for identifying operating segments
The Board of Directors and Board of Statutory Executive Officers evaluate the performance of the Company’s business segments through the Adjusted EBITDA. The Company has revised the segment note to present Adjusted EBITDA as its performance measure.
The operating segments defined by the Company’s management are set forth below:
(i)Pulp: comprised of the production and sale of hardwood eucalyptus pulp and fluff pulp, mainly to supply the foreign market.
(ii)Paper: comprises the production and sale of paper to meet the demands of both the domestic and foreign markets. Consumer goods (tissue) sales are classified under this segment due to their immateriality.
Information related to total assets by reportable segment is not disclosed, as it is not included in the set of information made available to the Company’s management, which makes investment decisions and determines the allocation of resources on a consolidated basis.
In addition, with respect to geographical information related to non-current assets, the Company does not disclose such information, as all property, plant and equipment, biological and intangible assets are substantially in Brazil.
28.2 Information of operating segments
| 12/31/2024 | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulp · Paper · Total | ||||
| Net sales | 37,593,462 | 9,809,820 | 47,403,282 | |
| Domestic market (Brazil) | 2,295,258 | 7,278,586 | 9,573,844 | |
| Foreign market | 35,298,204 | 2,531,234 | 37,829,438 | |
| Asia | 15,760,800 | 24,767 | 15,785,567 | |
| Europe | 11,895,394 | 355,784 | 12,251,178 | |
| North America | 6,965,731 | 914,234 | 7,879,965 | |
| South America and Central | 670,157 | 1,179,840 | 1,849,997 | |
| Africa | 6,122 | 56,608 | 62,730 | |
| Cost of sales | (21,261,705) | (6,139,822) | (27,401,527) | |
| Adjusted EBITDA | 20,866,160 | 2,983,040 | 23,849,200 | |
| Adjustments to EBITDA (*) | 1,065,887 | |||
| Depreciation, depletion and amortization | (9,223,995) | |||
| Financial result | (28,802,145) | |||
| Net income (loss) before taxes | (13,111,053) | |||
| 12/31/2023 | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulp · Paper · Total | |||||
| Net sales | 30,677,265 | 9,078,310 | 39,755,575 | ||
| Domestic market (Brazil) | 2,144,199 | 6,719,093 | 8,863,292 | ||
| Foreign market | 28,533,066 | 2,359,217 | 30,892,283 | ||
| Asia | 13,588,032 | 72,133 | 13,660,165 | ||
| Europe | 8,701,141 | 302,131 | 9,003,272 | ||
| North America | 5,682,010 | 476,429 | 6,158,439 | ||
| South America and Central | 558,601 | 1,437,181 | 1,995,782 | ||
| Africa | 3,282 | 71,343 | 74,625 | ||
| Cost of sales | (19,694,674) | (5,382,001) | (25,076,675) | ||
| Adjusted EBITDA | 15,194,660 | 3,078,310 | 18,272,970 | ||
| Adjustments to EBITDA (*) | 1,264,428 | ||||
| Depreciation, depletion and amortization | (7,321,110) | ||||
| Financial result | 5,780,928 | ||||
| Net income (loss) before taxes | 17,997,216 | ||||
| 12/31/2022 | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulp · Paper · Total | |||||
| Net sales | 41,384,322 | 8,446,624 | 49,830,946 | ||
| Domestic market (Brazil) | 2,665,746 | 5,858,892 | 8,524,638 | ||
| Foreign market | 38,718,576 | 2,587,732 | 41,306,308 | ||
| Asia | 18,294,046 | 4,059 | 18,298,105 | ||
| Europe | 12,768,321 | 325,503 | 13,093,824 | ||
| North America | 7,055,625 | 608,734 | 7,664,359 | ||
| South America and Central | 592,360 | 1,641,277 | 2,233,637 | ||
| Africa | 8,224 | 8,159 | 16,383 | ||
| Cost of sales | (19,958,000) | (4,863,288) | (24,821,288) | ||
| Adjusted EBITDA | 25,098,535 | 3,096,367 | 28,194,902 | ||
| Adjustments to EBITDA (*) | 1,435,769 | ||||
| Depreciation, depletion and amortization | (7,407,890) | ||||
| Financial result | 6,432,800 | ||||
| Net income (loss) before taxes | 28,655,581 | ||||
| 12/31/2024 | 12/31/2023 | 12/31/2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| (*) Adjustments to EBITDA | |||
| Fair Value Update - Biological Asset | 1,431,532 | 1,989,831 | 1,199,759 |
| Income from disposal and write-off of property, plant and equipment and biological assets | (169,284) | (232,143) | 19,436 |
| Accruals for losses on ICMS credits | (130,726) | (348,628) | (58,003) |
| Others (1) | (65,635) | (144,632) | 274,577 |
| 1,065,887 | 1,264,428 | 1,435,769 | |
(1) It includes items with specific, non-cash and exceptional adjustments, such as: i) COVID-19 - Expenses related to social actions to combat the virus, ii) write-off of wood inventory, iii) tax credits - exclusion of ICMS from the PIS and COFINS calculation basis, iv) donations for catastrophes and pandemics, v) equity equivalence, vi) extension of the PCHM grant, vii) extinction of the packaging business line, viii) fines and cancellation of contracts, ix) expenses with the acquisition of assets and business combinations, and x) effective loss of the development contract advance program.
28.3 Net sales by product
| 12/31/2024 | 12/31/2023 | 12/31/2022 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Products | |||
| Market pulp (1) | 37,593,462 | 30,677,265 | 41,384,322 |
| Printing and writing paper (2) | 8,478,489 | 7,567,320 | 6,912,984 |
| Paperboard | 1,270,872 | 1,417,075 | 1,421,338 |
| Other | 60,459 | 93,915 | 112,302 |
| 47,403,282 | 39,755,575 | 49,830,946 | |
(1)Net sales of fluff pulp represent 0.7% of total net sales, and therefore were included in market pulp net sales. (0.8% as at December 31, 2023).
(2)Net sales of tissue represent 5.8% of total net sales, and therefore were included in printing and writing paper net sales. (5.1% as at December 31, 2023).
With regard to the foreign market revenues of the pulp operating segment, China and the USA are the main countries in terms of net revenue,36.92% and 16.08%, respectively, for the year ended December 31, 2024 (China and the USA represented 41.36% and 15.32%, respectively, on December 31, 2023).
With regard to the foreign market revenues of the paper operating segment, Argentina and USA, are the main countries in terms of net revenue,10.96% and 22.50%, respectively, for the year ended December 31, 2024 (Argentina and USA represented 23.68% and 19.49% respectively, on December 31, 2023).
There is no other individual foreign country that represents more than 10% of net revenue in the foreign market for the years ended December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023.
28.4 Goodwill based on expected future profitability
The goodwill based on expected future profitability arising from the business combination was allocated to the disclosable segments, which correspond to the Company's cash-generating units (“CGUs”), considering the economic benefits generated by such intangible assets. The allocation of goodwill is set out below:
| 12/31/2024 | 12/31/2023 | |
|---|---|---|
| Pulp | 7,897,051 | 7,897,051 |
| Paper | 290,191 | 290,191 |
| 8,187,242 | 8,187,242 |
The text of this filing, as the company filed it with the SEC, without its images or exhibits. This is not investment advice.