John Marshall Bancorp, Inc.
For the period ended Dec 31, 2024. Filed Mar 28, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2024 · Filed Mar 28, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2023-12-31; filed 2024-03-20.
0001558370-24-003634
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-12-31; filed 2025-03-28.
0001558370-25-003982
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 113 previous paragraphs and 113 current paragraphs.
65 unchanged; 37 reworded; 9 added; 8 removed; 3 previous and 2 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 33 previous and 34 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (9)
Current report
(3) Tax-equivalent net interest margin adjusts for differences in tax treatment of interest income sources. The entire tax-equivalent adjustment is attributable to interest income on earning assets. Interest expense and the related cost of interest-bearing liabilities and cost of funds ratios are not affected by the tax-equivalent components.
Current report
Non-interest income increased $17.2 million during the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to the same period in 2023. Excluding the impact of the Restructuring, non-interest income decreased $0.1 million or 4.4%. The decrease reflects the surrender of BOLI as part of the Restructuring.
Current report
Non-interest expense increased $1.0 million or 3.2% during the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to the same period in 2023. In 2023, the Company realized a non-recurring $0.3 million reversal of a litigation reserve. During the first quarter 2024, the Company incurred non-recurring expenses totaling $0.1 million in connection with a strategic opportunity that was explored and ultimately did not materialize. Excluding these two non-recurring items, non-interest expense increased $0.6 million or 1.9%. The increase was also due to increases in professional fees and data processing, partially offset by lower salaries and employee benefit expense and lower occupancy expense as the Company continues to renegotiate its office leases. The increase in professional fees was due to increased contract costs and services. The increase in data processing fees was primarily due to contractual increases and volume-based activity. The decrease in salaries and employee benefits was due to lower incentive accruals and higher direct loan origination costs when compared to the same period of the prior year, partially offset by higher deferred compensation expense as a result of a mark-to-market fluctuations on the Company’s NQDC.
Current report
The Company did not purchase or sell any investment securities during the year ended December 31, 2024. The Company had $45.6 million in maturities and principal repayments on securities during the year ended December 31, 2024. Maturities consisted of $17.0 million in U.S. treasuries, $3.0 million in U.S. agency, and $0.3 million in municipal -taxable. Principal repayments consisted of $18.8 million of mortgage-backed securities and $6.4 million of collateralized mortgage obligation securities.
Current report
The Company’s asset quality remained strong during the year ended December 31, 2024. The Company had no non accrual loans and OREO as of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023. The Company had one loan that was 90 days past due and still accruing interest as of December 31, 2024. The loan paid off, in full, on January 7, 2025.
Current report
The Company made one loan modification to a borrower experiencing financial difficulty during the twelve months ended December 31, 2024. As of December 31, 2024, the outstanding principal balance of the loan was $1.5 million which represents 3.16% of the Commercial Non-Real Estate Loans - Commercial loan segment. The loan was modified to provide a combination of interest rate and term extension. As of December 31, 2024, this loan was current and paying in accordance with the modified terms. The Company did not make any loan modifications to borrowers experiencing financial difficulty during the twelve months ended December 31, 2023.
Current report
NM – Not meaningful
Current report
NM – Not meaningful
Current report
On September 3, 2024, the Company paid off its $77.0 million advance from the Reserve Bank under the Bank Term Funding Program (“BTFP”) and concurrently secured three FHLB advances totaling $56.0 million. The FHLB advances have a weighted average fixed interest rate of 4.01% compared to 4.76% for the retired BTFP advance. Total borrowings as of December 31, 2024 consisted of subordinated debt totaling $24.8 million and the FHLB advances.
Removed paragraphs (8)
Previous report
The increase in rates on loans, investment securities, and interest-bearing deposits in other banks was primarily attributable to an increase in benchmark interest rates since 2022.
Previous report
Non-interest income decreased $16.6 million during the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to the same period in 2022. The decrease in non-interest income was primarily due to the Restructuring that resulted in a loss on sale of available-for-sale securities of $17.1 million. Core non-interest income (Non-GAAP) increased $483 thousand primarily due to favorable variances of $671 thousand as a result of mark-to-market adjustments on investments related to the Company’s nonqualified deferred compensation plan, as well as increases in other charges and fees of $188 thousand primarily as a result of penalty fee income recognized on the early withdrawal of certificates of deposit, and gains recorded on the sale
Previous report
of the guaranteed portion of SBA 7(a) loans totaling $131 thousand. These increases were partially offset by a decrease in BOLI income of $320 thousand due to the surrender of all BOLI policies as part of the Restructuring.
Previous report
Non-interest expense decreased $1.1 million or 3.3% during the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to the same period in 2022 primarily due to decreases in salaries and employee benefits expense. The decrease in salaries and employee benefits was primarily due to a reduction in incentive related compensation accruals year-over-year. The decrease in professional fees was the result of a favorable verdict received by the Company on a multi-year legal matter that was resolved during the year and lower legal and consulting expenses. The increase in FDIC insurance expense resulted from the FDIC increasing the base assessment rate for all insured depository institutions. The increase in franchise tax expense was due to an increase in the Bank’s equity as that is the basis the Commonwealth of Virginia uses to assess taxes on banking institutions. The increase in advertising expense was due to increased marketing and promotional activity. The decrease in occupancy expense of premises was due to a decrease in office rent as a result of the renegotiation of certain leases. The decrease in furniture and equipment expense was due to lower depreciation expense on fixed assets and lower software and equipment service expense due to contract renegotiation efforts.
Previous report
The Company did not purchase investment securities during the year ended December 31, 2023. During the year ended December 31, 2023, the Company sold available-for-sale securities with a total par value of $173.2 million, which were comprised of $124.7 million of mortgage-backed securities, $25.1 million of U.S. government and federal agencies, $19.3 million of U.S. Treasuries, $3.5 million of municipal bonds and $0.6 million of collateralized mortgage obligations. The sale resulted in a pre-tax loss of $17.3 million. The Company had $39.3 million in maturities and principal repayments on securities during the year ended December 31, 2023, which was comprised of $34.1 million of mortgage-backed securities and $5.2 million of collateralized mortgage obligation securities.
Previous report
The Company’s asset quality remained strong during the year ended December 31, 2023. The Company did not have any nonperforming assets, which includes nonperforming loans and OREO, as of December 31, 2023 or December 31, 2022. As a result, the Company did not have any nonperforming loans, which consists of loans that are 90 days or more past due or loans placed on nonaccrual as of December 31, 2023 or December 31, 2022.
Previous report
The Company did not make any loan modifications to borrowers experiencing financial difficulty during the year ended December 31, 2023. The Company had a recorded investment in troubled debt restructurings (“TDRs”) of $418 thousand as of December 31, 2022, all of which were in compliance with their modified terms at December 31, 2022. The Company adopted ASU 2022-02 on January 1, 2023, which eliminated the accounting guidance for TDRs.
Previous report
On March 12, 2023, the Reserve Bank made available the BTFP, which enhances the ability of banks to borrow against the par value of certain high-quality, unencumbered investments. On May 15, 2023, the Company obtained a $54.0 million BTFP advance to secure lower funding costs relative to wholesale deposits. The BTFP advance has a term of one year, bears interest at a fixed rate of 4.80% and can be prepaid at any time without penalty.
Reworded paragraphs (37)
Previous wording
This discussion and analysis contains financial information determined by methods other than in accordance with GAAP. Management believes that the supplemental non-GAAP information provides a better comparison of period-to-period operating performance. Additionally, the Company believes this information is utilized by regulators and market analysts to evaluate a company’s financial condition and therefore, such information is useful to investors. Non-GAAP measures used in this report consist of tax-equivalent net interest income, core non-interest income, core net income, core earnings per share (diluted), core return on average assets and core return on average equity excluding the impact of losses recognized in July 2023 on the sale of available-for-sale securities and taxes paid on the early surrender of bank owned life insurance policies.
Current wording
This discussion and analysis contains financial information determined by methods other than in accordance with GAAP. Management believes that the supplemental non-GAAP information provides a better comparison of period-to-period operating performance. Additionally, the Company believes this information is utilized by regulators and market analysts to evaluate a company’s financial condition and therefore, such information is useful to investors. Non-GAAP measures used in this report consist of tax-equivalent net interest income, core net income, core earnings per share (diluted), core return on average assets, core return on average equity and core income tax expense.
Previous wording
These disclosures should not be viewed as a substitute for financial results in accordance with GAAP, nor are they necessarily comparable to non-GAAP performance measures which may be presented by other companies. Where the non-
Current wording
These disclosures should not be viewed as a substitute for financial results in accordance with GAAP, nor are they necessarily comparable to non-GAAP performance measures which may be presented by other companies. Where the non-GAAP financial measure is used, the comparable GAAP financial measure, as well as reconciliation to that comparable
Previous wording
GAAP financial measure is used, the comparable GAAP financial measure, as well as reconciliation to that comparable GAAP financial measure, as well as a statement of the company’s reasons for utilizing the non-GAAP financial measure, can be found within this discussion and analysis.
Current wording
GAAP financial measure, a statement of the company’s reasons for utilizing the non-GAAP financial measure, can be found within this discussion and analysis.
Previous wording
As of December 31, 2023, the Company had total consolidated assets of $2.24 billion, total loans net of unearned income of $1.86 billion, total deposits of $1.91 billion and total shareholders’ equity of $229.9 million.
Current wording
As of December 31, 2024, the Company had total consolidated assets of $2.23 billion, total loans net of unearned income of $1.87 billion, total deposits of $1.89 billion and total shareholders’ equity of $246.6 million.
Previous wording
The Company is utilizing a discounted cash flow model to estimate its current expected credit losses. For the purposes of calculating its quantitative reserves, the Company has segmented its loan portfolio based on loans which share similar risk characteristics. Within the quantitative portion of the calculation, the Company utilizes at least one or a combination of loss drivers, which may include unemployment rates, home price indices, and/or gross domestic product, to adjust its loss rates over a reasonable and supportable forecast period of one year. A straight-line reversion technique is used for the following four quarters, at which time the Company reverts to historical averages. To further adjust the allowance for credit losses for expected losses not already included within the quantitative component of the calculation, the Company may consider qualitative factors, including but not limited to: variability in the economic forecast, changes in volume and
Current wording
The Company utilizes a discounted cash flow model to estimate its current expected credit losses. For the purposes of calculating its quantitative reserves, the Company has segmented its loan portfolio based on loans which share similar risk characteristics. Within the quantitative portion of the calculation, the Company utilizes at least one or a combination of loss drivers, which may include unemployment rates, home price indices, and/or gross domestic product, to adjust its loss rates over a reasonable and supportable forecast period of one year. A straight-line reversion technique is used for the following four quarters, at which time the Company reverts to historical averages. To further adjust the allowance for credit losses for expected losses not already included within the quantitative component of the calculation, the Company may consider qualitative factors, including but not limited to: variability in the economic forecast, changes in volume and severity of adversely classified loans, changes in concentrations of credit, changes in the nature and volume of the loan segments, factors related to credit administration, and other idiosyncratic risks not embedded in the data used in the model.
Previous wording
The Company reported net income of $5.2 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, a decrease of $26.6 million when compared to the same period in 2022. As disclosed in our second quarter Form 10-Q filed August 9, 2023, during July, the Company sold certain lower-yielding available-for-sale investment securities with a total par value of $161.2 million and agreed to surrender $21.4 million of bank owned life insurance (“BOLI”) contracts, resulting in a non-recurring, after-tax loss of $14.6 million that was recorded during the third quarter of 2023 (the “Restructuring”). Core net income (Non-GAAP) defined as reported net income excluding the non-recurring after-tax loss on securities sale and taxes paid in conjunction with the surrender of the Bank’s BOLI policies resulting from the Restructuring, was $19.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, a decrease of $12.0 million when compared to the same period in 2022. The following table reconciles net income to core net income, which is a non-GAAP measure, and outlines reported (GAAP) and core (Non-GAAP) diluted earnings per share, ROAA and ROAE as follows:
Current wording
The Company reported net income of $17.1 million for the year ended December 31, 2024, an increase of $12.0 million when compared to the same period in 2023. As disclosed in our 2023 10-K filed March 20, 2024, during July 2023, the Company sold certain lower-yielding available-for-sale investment securities with a total par value of $161.2 million and agreed to surrender $21.4 million of bank owned life insurance (“BOLI”) contracts, resulting in a non-recurring, after-tax loss of $14.6 million that was recorded during the third quarter of 2023 (the “Restructuring”). Core net income (Non-GAAP) defined as reported net income excluding the non-recurring after-tax loss resulting from the Restructuring, was $19.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2023. The following table reconciles net income to core net income, which is a non-GAAP measure, and outlines reported (GAAP) and core (Non-GAAP) diluted earnings per share, ROAA and ROAE as follows:
Previous wording
Net interest income is the excess of interest earned on loans and investments over the interest paid on deposits and borrowings, and is the Company’s primary revenue source. Net interest income is affected by overall balance sheet growth, changes in interest rates and changes in the mix of investments, loans, deposits and borrowings. The Company’s interest-earning assets include loans, investment securities and interest-bearing deposits in other banks, while our interest-bearing liabilities include interest-bearing deposits and borrowings. Net interest margin represents the difference between interest received and interest paid as a percentage of average total interest-earning assets. Management seeks to maximize net interest income without exposing the Company to an excessive level of interest rate risk through management’s asset and liability management policies. Interest rate risk is managed by monitoring the pricing, maturity, and repricing options of all classes of interest-bearing assets and liabilities. Management expects net interest income and net interest margin to fluctuate based on changes in interest rates and changes in the amount and composition of the Company’s interest-earning assets and interest-bearing liabilities.
Current wording
received and interest paid as a percentage of average total interest-earning assets. Management seeks to maximize net interest income without exposing the Company to an excessive level of interest rate risk through management’s asset and liability management policies. Interest rate risk is managed by monitoring the pricing, maturity, and repricing options of all classes of interest-bearing assets and liabilities. Management expects net interest income and net interest margin to fluctuate based on changes in interest rates and changes in the amount and composition of the Company’s interest-earning assets and interest-bearing liabilities.
Previous wording
Net interest income decreased $19.9 million or 28.3% on a fully tax-equivalent basis for the year ended December 31, 2023. The decrease in net interest income was driven by the increase in the costs of interest-bearing liabilities outpacing the increase in yield on interest-earning assets.
Current wording
Net interest income increased $0.5 million or 0.9% on a fully tax-equivalent basis for the year ended December 31, 2024. The increase in net interest income was driven by the increase in the yield of interest-earning assets and the reduction in the average balance of interest-bearing liabilities outpacing the increase in the cost on interest-bearing liabilities.
Previous wording
On a fully tax-equivalent basis, the net interest margin was 2.22% for the year ended December 31, 2023, compared to 3.16% for the same period in 2022. The decrease in net interest margin was primarily due to increases in the cost of interest-bearing deposits, which was partially offset by an increase in yields on the Company’s interest-earning assets.
Current wording
On a fully tax-equivalent basis, the net interest margin was 2.28% for the year ended December 31, 2024, compared to 2.21% for the same period in 2023. The increase in net interest margin was primarily due to increases in the yield of interest-bearing assets, which was partially offset by an increase in the cost of interest-bearing deposits.
Previous wording
The cost of interest-bearing liabilities increased 2.19% from 0.89% for the year ended December 31, 2022 to 3.08% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The increase in the cost of interest-bearing liabilities was primarily due to higher interest expense on deposits and other borrowings. The increase in the cost of interest-bearing liabilities was primarily due to a 2.21% increase in the cost of interest-bearing deposits as a result of the repricing of the Company’s time deposits coupled with an increase in rates offered on money market, NOW and savings deposit accounts since the fourth quarter of 2022.
Current wording
The cost of interest-bearing liabilities increased 0.70% from 3.08% for the year ended December 31, 2023 to 3.78% for the year ended December 31, 2024. The increase in the cost of interest-bearing liabilities was primarily due to higher interest expense on deposits and other borrowings. The increase in the cost of interest-bearing liabilities was primarily due to a 71 basis point increase in the cost of interest-bearing deposits as a result of the repricing of the Company’s time deposits coupled with an increase in rates offered on money market, NOW and savings deposit accounts since the fourth quarter of 2023.
Previous wording
The loan portfolio’s yield for the year ended December 31, 2023 was 4.84% compared to 4.44% for the year ended December 31, 2022. The increase in yield on the Company’s loan portfolio was primarily attributable to an increase in yield on the Company’s variable rate loans as a result of an increase in interest rates since 2022, coupled with a higher weighted average yield on loans originated since December 31, 2022.
Current wording
The loan portfolio’s yield for the year ended December 31, 2024 was 5.28% compared to 4.84% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The increase in yield on the Company’s loan portfolio was primarily a result of repricing of assets subsequent to the fourth quarter of 2023 and certain prepayment penalties.
Previous wording
The investment securities portfolio’s yield for the year ended December 31, 2023 was 2.04% compared to 1.87% for the year ended December 31, 2022. The increase was primarily due to the Company realizing the full benefit of higher yields on investment securities purchased during the latter part of the second quarter of 2022.
Current wording
The investment securities portfolio’s yield for the year ended December 31, 2024 was 2.01% compared to 2.04% for the year ended December 31, 2023. The decrease was primarily due higher yielding investments maturing during the year ended December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
The yield on interest-bearing deposits due from banks for the year ended December 31, 2023 was 5.35% compared to 1.28% for the year ended December 31, 2022. The increase was primarily due to higher federal funds rate during the year ended December 31, 2023 when compared to same period in 2022.
Current wording
The yield on interest-bearing deposits due from banks for the year ended December 31, 2024 was 5.35% compared to 5.35% for the year ended December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
Interest income increased by $16.7 million or 19.8% to $101.0 million on a fully tax-equivalent basis for the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to $84.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2022, driven by both an increase in rates and volume on interest-earning assets. The increase in rate on interest-earning assets was primarily attributable to the Company’s loan portfolio and interest-bearing deposits due from banks. The increase in volume of average interest-earning assets was primarily attributable to the Company’s loan portfolio.
Current wording
Interest income increased by $9.3 million or 9.2% to $110.3 million on a fully tax-equivalent basis for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $101.0 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, driven by an increase in rates which was partially offset by decrease in volume on interest-earning assets. The increase in rate on interest-earning assets
Previous wording
Fully tax-equivalent interest income on loans increased by approximately $12.2 million as a result of volume growth and an increase in rate. Average loans increased approximately $115.4 million between the years ended December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, which was primarily attributable to growth in the investor real estate and residential mortgage portfolios.
Current wording
Fully tax-equivalent interest income on loans increased by approximately $9.9 million or 11.5% primarily as a result of rate. Average loans increased approximately $33.4 million between the years ended December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, which was primarily attributable to growth in the investor real estate and residential loan portfolios.
Previous wording
Fully tax-equivalent interest income on investment securities decreased by approximately $0.8 million as a result of volume decreases due the Restructuring that took place in July 2023, and to a lesser extent, the amortization of securities,
Current wording
Fully tax-equivalent interest income on investment securities decreased by approximately $2.4 million. The decrease was primarily the result of volume decreasing from the Restructuring and to a lesser extent, the amortization and maturities of securities. Average investment securities decreased approximately $116.5 million between the years ended December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
Interest expense increased by $36.6 million to $50.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to $13.6 million for the year ended December 31, 2022, primarily due to an increase in rates and, to a lesser extent, volume of deposits and other borrowed funds. The increase in rates was primarily a result of the repricing of the Company’s time deposits coupled with an increase in rates offered on deposit accounts during the year ended December 31, 2023 as a result of an increase in benchmark interest rates.
Current wording
Interest expense increased by $8.8 million to $59.1 million for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $50.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2023, primarily due to an increase in rates. The increase in rates was primarily a result of the repricing of the Company’s time deposits. The increase in rates was partially offset by 69.7 million or 4.3% decrease in average interest-bearing liabilities, as the Company utilized a portion of the cash from the Restructuring and other cash flow from the investment portfolio to pay down higher cost funding.
Previous wording
The Company recorded a $3.3 million recovery of provision for credit losses for the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to a $175 thousand provision for the year ended December 31, 2022. The recovery of provision for credit losses during 2023 was primarily a result of changes in the Company’s loss driver analysis, resulting from a periodic review of our assumptions and improved economic forecasts used in the quantitative portion of the model and assessment of management’s considerations of existing economic versus historical conditions combined with the continued strong credit performance of our loan portfolio segments.
Current wording
The Company recorded a $0.4 million recovery of provision for credit losses for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to a $3.3 million recovery of provision for the year ended December 31, 2023. The decreased recovery of provision for credit losses during 2024 was primarily a result of changes in the composition and volume of the loan portfolio, considerations of qualitative factors and the continued strong credit performance of our loan portfolio segments.
Previous wording
The Company’s recurring sources of non-interest income consist primarily of interchange income, bank owned life insurance income, service charges on deposit accounts and insurance commissions. Generally speaking, loan fees are included in interest income on the loan portfolio and not reported as non-interest income.
Current wording
The Company’s recurring sources of non-interest income consist primarily of interchange income, service charges on deposit accounts, gain on sale of government guaranteed loans, and insurance commissions. Generally speaking, loan fees are included in interest income on the loan portfolio and not reported as non-interest income.
Previous wording
Income tax expense decreased $5.4 million or 65.8% to $2.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to $8.3 million for the year ended December 31, 2022. Excluding the impact of the Restructuring, the effective tax rate for the year ended December 31, 2023 was 21.2% compared to 20.6% for the same period in 2022. The increase in effective tax rate between the comparative periods was due to changes in temporary differences.
Current wording
Income tax expense increased $1.9 million or 68.5% to $4.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to $2.8 million for the year ended December 31, 2023. Our effective tax rate for the year ended December 31, 2024 was 21.7% compared to 35.4% for the year ended December 31, 2023 or 21.2% for the year ended December 31, 2023, when excluding the impact of the Restructuring (Non-GAAP). The increase in effective tax rate between the adjusted comparative periods was due to changes in temporary differences. Income tax for the twelve months ended December 31, 2024 represents a $0.6 million or 10.5% decrease when compared to the Company’s core income tax expense (Non-GAAP) for the twelve months ended December 31, 2023 of $5.3 million.
Previous wording
The Company’s total assets decreased $105.7 million or 4.5% to $2.24 billion at December 31, 2023 compared to $2.35 billion at December 31, 2022. The decrease in total assets is primarily attributable to a decrease in available-for-sale securities and BOLI of $187.6 million and $21.2 million, respectively, partially offset by increases in loans, net of unearned income and interest-bearing deposits in banks of $70.5 million and $36.6 million, respectively.
Current wording
The Company’s total assets decreased $7.6 million or 0.3% to $2.23 billion at December 31, 2024 compared to $2.24 billion at December 31, 2023. The decrease in total assets is primarily attributable to a decrease in available-for-sale securities of $39.7 million, partially offset by increases in interest-bearing deposits in banks and loans, net of unearned income of $24.9 million and $12.2 million, respectively.
Previous wording
The Company’s total liabilities decreased $122.8 million or 5.8% to $2.01 billion at December 31, 2023 compared to $2.14 billion at December 31, 2022. The decrease in total liabilities was attributable to an $161.1 million decrease in deposits, primarily driven by a $44.0 million decrease in wholesale deposits (Brokered and QwickRate CDs), and $15.5 million decrease in federal funds purchased, partially offset by an increase in borrowings as a result of the Bank Term Funding Program (“BTFP”) advance obtained during the second quarter of 2023. The Company reduced wholesale deposits by $65.6 million since March 31, 2023.
Current wording
The Company’s total liabilities decreased $24.3 million or 1.2% to $1.99 billion at December 31, 2024 compared to $2.01 billion at December 31, 2023. The decrease in total liabilities was primarily attributable to a decrease in time deposits of $125.5 million and a decrease of Federal Reserve Bank borrowings of $54.0 million. The decreases were partially offset by an increase in non-interest bearing demand deposits and interest-bearing demand deposits of $21.9 million and $97.1 million, respectively.
Previous wording
Shareholders’ equity increased $17.1 million or 8.0% to $229.9 million at December 31, 2023 compared to $212.8 million at December 31, 2022. The increase in shareholders’ equity was primarily attributable to a decrease in accumulated other comprehensive loss as a result of the realization of losses on the sale of certain low-yielding investment securities as part of the Restructuring and improvements in market values, net income recorded for the year, and increase in additional paid-in capital as a result of option exercises during the year ended December 31, 2023. These increases were partially offset by a decrease to retained earnings as a result of the Company’s adoption of ASC 326 on January 1, 2023 and dividends declared. Book value per share was $16.25 as of December 31, 2023 compared to $15.09 as of December 31, 2022.
Current wording
Shareholders’ equity increased $16.7 million or 7.3% to $246.6 million at December 31, 2024 compared to $229.9 million at December 31, 2023. The increase in shareholders’ equity was primarily attributable to the Company’s earnings over the previous twelve months and a decrease in accumulated other comprehensive loss, which was due to decreases in unrealized losses on our available-for-sale investment portfolio from market value increases. This increase was partially offset by increased cash dividends paid. Book value per share was $17.28 as of December 31, 2024 compared to $16.25 as of December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
The Company maintains a primarily fixed income investment securities portfolio that had a total carrying value of $265.5 million at December 31, 2023 and $457.0 million at December 31, 2022. The investment portfolio is used as a source of liquidity, interest income, and credit risk diversification, as well as to manage rate sensitivity and provide collateral for secured public funds and secured credit lines. Investment securities are classified as available-for-sale or held-to-maturity based on management’s investment strategy and management’s assessment of the intent and ability to hold the securities until maturity. Investment securities that we may sell prior to maturity in response to changes in management’s investment strategy, liquidity needs, interest rate risk profile or for other reasons are classified as available-for-sale. The Company also had restricted stock and equity securities within its investment securities portfolio with total carrying values of $5.0 million and $2.8 million, respectively, as of December 31, 2023 and $4.4 million and $2.1 million, respectively, as of December 31, 2022.
Current wording
The Company maintains a primarily fixed income investment securities portfolio that had a total carrying value of $222.3 million at December 31, 2024 and $265.5 million at December 31, 2023. The investment portfolio is used as a source of liquidity, interest income, and credit risk diversification, as well as to manage rate sensitivity and provide collateral for secured public funds and secured credit lines. Investment securities are classified as available-for-sale or held-to-maturity based on management’s investment strategy and management’s assessment of the intent and ability to hold the securities until maturity. Investment securities that we may sell prior to maturity in response to changes in management’s investment strategy, liquidity needs, interest rate risk profile or for other reasons are classified as available-for-sale. The Company also had restricted stock and equity securities within its investment securities portfolio with total carrying values of $7.6 million and $2.8 million, respectively, as of December 31, 2024 and $5.0 million and $2.8 million, respectively, as of December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
In the prevailing rate environments as of both December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, the Company’s investment portfolio had an estimated weighted average remaining life of approximately 4.2 years and 4.5 years, respectively. The Company’s available-for-sale investment portfolio had an estimated weighted average remaining life of approximately 3.0 years and 3.8 years in the prevailing rate environments as of December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively. The held-to-maturity investment portfolio had an estimated weighted average remaining life of approximately 6.7 years and 7.3 years as of December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively.
Current wording
In the prevailing rate environments as of both December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, the Company’s investment portfolio had an estimated weighted average remaining life of approximately 4.2 years. The Company’s available-for-sale investment portfolio had an estimated weighted average remaining life of approximately 3.1 years and 3.0 years in the prevailing rate environments as of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively. The held-to-maturity investment portfolio had an estimated weighted average remaining life of approximately 6.0 years and 6.7 years as of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
Gross loans net of unearned income increased $70.5 million or 3.9% to $1.86 billion as of December 31, 2023 compared to $1.79 billion as of December 31, 2022. The Company continues to maintain its disciplined underwriting standards while prudently pursuing loan growth opportunities that provide acceptable risk-adjusted returns.
Current wording
Gross loans net of unearned income increased $12.7 million or 0.7% to $1.87 billion as of December 31, 2024 compared to $1.85 billion as of December 31, 2023. The Company continues to maintain its disciplined underwriting standards while prudently pursuing loan growth opportunities that provide acceptable risk-adjusted returns.
Previous wording
The Company recorded net recoveries of $2 thousand during the year ended December 31, 2023 compared to net recoveries of $1 thousand during the year ended December 31, 2022. At December 31, 2023, the allowance for loan credit losses was $19.5 million, or 1.05% of outstanding loans, net of unearned income, compared to $20.2 million, or 1.13% of outstanding loans, net of unearned income, at December 31, 2022. The decrease in the allowance as a percentage of outstanding loans, net of unearned income, was primarily a result of improved economic forecasts used in the quantitative portion of the model and an assessment of management’s considerations of existing economic versus historical conditions combined with the continued strong credit performance of our loan portfolio segments.
Current wording
The Company recorded net recoveries of $2 thousand during the year ended December 31, 2024 compared to net recoveries of $2 thousand during the year ended December 31, 2023. At December 31, 2024, the allowance for loan credit losses was $18.7 million, or 1.00% of outstanding loans, net of unearned income, compared to $19.5 million, or 1.05% of outstanding loans, net of unearned income, at December 31, 2023. The decrease in the allowance as a percentage of outstanding loans, net of unearned income, was primarily a result of changes in the Company’s loss driver analysis and assumptions, changes in the composition of the loan portfolio, improved economic forecasts used in the quantitative portion of the model and considerations of qualitative factors combined with the continued strong credit performance of our loan portfolio segments.
Previous wording
Total deposits decreased $161.1 million or 7.8% to $1.91 billion as of December 31, 2023 compared to $2.07 billion as of December 31, 2022.
Current wording
Total deposits decreased $14.2 million or 0.7% to $1.89 billion as of December 31, 2024 compared to $1.91 billion as of December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
Non-interest bearing demand deposits decreased $65.3 million or 13.7% to $411.4 million as of December 31, 2023 compared to $476.7 million at December 31, 2022. Non-interest bearing demand deposits represented 21.6% and 23.1% of total deposits at December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively.
Current wording
Non-interest bearing demand deposits increased $21.9 million or 5.3% to $433.3 million as of December 31, 2024 compared to $411.4 million at December 31, 2023. Non-interest bearing demand deposits represented 22.9% and 21.6% of total deposits at December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
Interest-bearing deposits, which include NOW accounts, regular savings accounts, money market accounts, and time deposits, decreased $95.8 million or 6.0% to $1.50 billion as of December 31, 2023 compared to $1.59 billion as of December 31, 2022. Interest-bearing deposits represented 78.4% and 76.9% of total deposits at December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively.
Current wording
Interest-bearing deposits, which include NOW accounts, regular savings accounts, money market accounts, and time deposits, decreased $36.1 million or 2.41% to $1.46 billion as of December 31, 2024 compared to $1.50 billion as of December 31, 2023. Interest-bearing deposits represented 77.1% and 78.4% of total deposits at December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
The Company focuses on funding asset growth with deposit accounts, with an emphasis on core deposit growth, as its primary source of deposits. Core deposits consist of checking accounts, NOW accounts, money market accounts, regular savings accounts, time deposits, reciprocal IntraFi Demand® deposits, IntraFi Money Market® deposits and IntraFi CD® deposits. Core deposits totaled $1.58 billion or 82.7% of total deposits and $1.69 billion or 81.9% of total deposits at December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively.
Current wording
The Company focuses on funding asset growth with deposit accounts, with an emphasis on core deposit growth, as its primary source of deposits. Core deposits consist of checking accounts, NOW accounts, money market accounts, regular savings accounts, time deposits, reciprocal IntraFi Demand® deposits, IntraFi Money Market® deposits and IntraFi CD® deposits. Core deposits totaled $1.62 billion or 85.4% of total deposits and $1.58 billion or 82.7% of total deposits at December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
The total amount of our uninsured deposits (deposits in excess of $250,000, as calculated in accordance with FDIC regulations) was estimated at $802.8 million at December 31, 2023 and $963.9 million at December 31, 2022. Included in these amounts were $168.7 million and $162.2 million of public fund deposits that are collateralized by securities as of December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022, respectively. Deposits that were not insured or not collateralized by securities represented 33% and 39% of total deposits, respectively, as of December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022.
Current wording
The total amount of our uninsured deposits (deposits in excess of $250,000, as calculated in accordance with FDIC regulations) was estimated at $816.7 million at December 31, 2024 and $802.8 million at December 31, 2023. Included in these amounts were $157.4 million and $168.7 million of public fund deposits that are collateralized by securities as of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, respectively. Deposits that were not insured or not collateralized by securities represented 35% and 33% of total deposits, respectively, as of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
Shareholders’ equity increased $17.1 million or 8.0% to $229.9 million at December 31, 2023 compared to $212.8 million at December 31, 2022. The increase in shareholders’ equity was primarily attributable to a decrease in accumulated other comprehensive loss as a result of the realization of losses on the sale of certain low-yielding investment securities as part of the Restructuring and improvements in market values, net income recorded for the year, and increase in additional paid-in capital as a result of option exercises during the year ended December 31, 2023. These increases were partially offset by a decrease to retained earnings as a result of the Company’s adoption of ASC 326 on January 1, 2023 and dividends declared.
Current wording
Shareholders’ equity increased $16.7 million or 7.3% to $246.6 million at December 31, 2024 compared to $229.9 million at December 31, 2023. The increase in shareholders’ equity was primarily attributable the Company’s earnings during the year and a decrease in accumulated other comprehensive loss, which was attributable to a decrease in unrealized losses on our available-for-sale portfolio due to market value increases. These increases were partially offset by cash dividends paid.
Previous wording
up to 700,000 shares of its outstanding common stock, or 5.0% of outstanding shares as of December 31, 2023. The stock repurchase program will expire on August 31, 2024 or earlier if all the authorized shares have been repurchased. The Company had not repurchased any of its outstanding common stock under the program as of December 31, 2023.
Current wording
In August of 2023, the Company’s Board of Directors authorized the extension of the Company’s stock repurchase program that was originally adopted in August of 2021. Under the stock repurchase program, the Company may repurchase up to 700,000 shares of its outstanding common stock. The stock repurchase program will expire on August 31, 2025 or earlier if all the authorized shares have been repurchased. The Company repurchased 3,003 shares at $16.48 per share during the twelve months ended December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
In addition to the liquidity provided by balance sheet cash flows, the Company supplements its liquidity with additional sources such as secured borrowing credit lines with the FHLB and the Reserve Bank. Specifically, the Company has pledged a portion of its commercial real estate and residential real estate loan portfolios to the FHLB and the Reserve Bank. Based on collateral pledged as of December 31, 2023, the total FHLB available borrowing capacity was $436.9 million. Additional borrowing capacity with the Reserve Bank was approximately $22.8 million as of December 31, 2023.
Current wording
In addition to the liquidity provided by balance sheet cash flows, the Company supplements its liquidity with additional sources such as secured borrowing credit lines with the FHLB and the Reserve Bank. Specifically, the Company has pledged a portion of its loan portfolio to the FHLB and the Reserve Bank. Based on collateral pledged as of December 31, 2024, the total FHLB available borrowing capacity was $462.2 million. Additional borrowing capacity with the Reserve Bank was approximately $104.0 million as of December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
Total liquidity, defined as cash and cash equivalents, unencumbered securities at fair value, and available secured borrowing capacity, was $638.9 million at December 31, 2023 compared to $763.5 million at December 31, 2022. The Company’s liquidity position represented 101% of uninsured, non-collateralized deposits at December 31, 2023.
Current wording
Total liquidity, defined as cash and cash equivalents, unencumbered securities at fair value, and available secured borrowing capacity, was $727.3 million at December 31, 2024 compared to $638.9 million at December 31, 2023. The Company’s liquidity position represented 110.3% of uninsured, non-collateralized deposits at December 31, 2024.
Previous wording
In addition to available secured borrowing capacity, the Company had available federal funds lines with correspondent banks of $100.0 million at December 31, 2023.
Current wording
In addition to available secured borrowing capacity, the Company had available federal funds lines with correspondent banks of $110.0 million at December 31, 2024.
Rearranged current paragraphs (2)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
Net interest income is the excess of interest earned on loans and investments over the interest paid on deposits and borrowings, and is the Company’s primary revenue source. Net interest income is affected by overall balance sheet growth, changes in interest rates and changes in the mix of investments, loans, deposits and borrowings. The Company’s interest-earning assets include loans, investment securities and interest-bearing deposits in other banks, while our interest-bearing liabilities include interest-bearing deposits and borrowings. Net interest margin represents the difference between interest
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
was primarily attributable to the Company’s loan portfolio. The decrease in volume of average interest-earning assets was primarily attributable to the Company’s securities portfolio.
Rearranged previous paragraphs (3)
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
severity of adversely classified loans, changes in concentrations of credit, changes in the nature and volume of the loan segments, factors related to credit administration, and other idiosyncratic risks not embedded in the data used in the model.
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
partially offset by rate increases. Average investment securities decreased approximately $74.6 million between the years ended December 31, 2023 and December 31, 2022.
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
In August of 2023, the Company’s Board of Directors authorized the extension of the Company’s stock repurchase program that was originally adopted in August of 2021. Under the stock repurchase program, the Company may repurchase