NATIONAL BEVERAGE CORP
For the period ended May 3, 2025. Filed Jul 2, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2025 · Filed Jul 2, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-04-27; filed 2024-06-26.
0001437749-24-021311
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-05-03; filed 2025-07-02.
0001437749-25-022007
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 51 previous paragraphs and 46 current paragraphs.
21 unchanged; 22 reworded; 3 added; 6 removed; 2 previous and 0 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 2 previous and 2 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (3)
Current report
Income Taxes
Current report
Net cash used in financing activities for Fiscal 2025 reflects payment of a special cash dividend of $304.1 million. No dividends were paid during Fiscal 2024.
Current report
CRITICAL ACCOUNTING ESTIMATES
Removed paragraphs (6)
Previous report
CRITICAL ACCOUNTING POLICIES AND ESTIMATES
Previous report
Credit Risk
Previous report
Impairment of Long-Lived Assets
Previous report
All long-lived assets, excluding goodwill and intangible assets not subject to amortization, are evaluated for impairment on the basis of undiscounted cash flows whenever events or changes in circumstances indicate that the carrying amount of an asset may not be recoverable. Goodwill and intangible assets not subject to amortization are evaluated for impairment annually or sooner if we believe such assets may be impaired. An impairment loss is written down to its estimated fair value based on discounted future cash flows.
Previous report
The Company’s effective income tax rate is based on estimates of taxes which will ultimately be payable. Deferred taxes are recorded to give recognition to temporary differences between the tax bases of assets or liabilities and their reported amounts in the financial statements. Valuation allowances are established to reduce the carrying amounts of deferred tax assets when it is deemed, more likely than not, that the benefit of deferred tax assets will not be realized.
Previous report
Insurance Programs
Reworded paragraphs (22)
Previous wording
National Beverage Corp., in recent years, has transformed into an innovative, healthier refreshment company. From our corporate philosophy, development of products and marketing to manufacturing, we are converting consumers to a ‘Better for You’ thirst quencher that compassionately cares for their nutritional health. We are committed to our quest to innovate for the joy, benefit and enjoyment of our consumers’ healthier lifestyle.
Current wording
National Beverage Corp., in recent years, has transformed into an innovative, healthier refreshment company. From our corporate philosophy to product development and marketing, we are converting consumers to a ‘Better for You’ thirst quencher that cares compassionately for their nutritional health. We are committed to our quest to innovate for the joy, benefit and enjoyment of our consumers’ healthier lifestyle.
Previous wording
The majority of our brands are geared to the active and health-conscious consumer including sparkling waters, energy drinks and juices. Our portfolio of Power+ Brands includes LaCroix®, LaCroix Cúrate® and LaCroix NiCola® sparkling water products; Clear Fruit® non-carbonated water beverages enhanced with fruit flavor; Rip It® energy drinks and shots; and Everfresh®, Everfresh Premier Varietals™ and Mr. Pure® 100% juice and juice-based products. Additionally, we produce and distribute carbonated soft drinks including Shasta® and Faygo®, iconic brands whose consumer loyalty spans more than 135 years.
Current wording
The majority of our brands are geared to the active and health-conscious consumer including sparkling waters, energy drinks and juices. Our portfolio of Power+ Brands includes LaCroix® sparkling water; Clear Fruit® non-carbonated water beverages enhanced with fruit flavor; Rip It® energy drinks and shots; and Everfresh®, Everfresh Premier Varietals™ and Mr. Pure® 100% juice and juice-based products. Additionally, we produce and distribute carbonated soft drinks including Shasta® and Faygo®, iconic brands whose consumer loyalty spans more than 135 years.
Previous wording
Presently, our primary market focus is the United States and Canada. Certain of our beverages are also distributed on a limited basis in other countries and options to expand distribution to other regions are being pursued. To service a diverse customer base that includes numerous national retailers, as well as thousands of smaller “up-and-down-the-street” accounts, we utilize a hybrid distribution system consisting of warehouse and direct-store delivery. The warehouse delivery system allows our retail partners to further maximize their assets by utilizing their ability to pick up beverages at our warehouses, further lowering their/our product costs.
Current wording
Presently, our primary market focus is the United States. Certain of our beverages are also distributed on a limited basis in other countries and options to expand distribution to other regions are being pursued. To service a diverse customer base that includes numerous national retailers, as well as thousands of smaller “up-and-down-the-street” accounts, we utilize a hybrid distribution system consisting of warehouse and direct-store delivery. The warehouse delivery system allows our retail partners to further maximize their assets by utilizing their ability to pick up beverages at our warehouses, further lowering their/our product costs.
Previous wording
Our operating results are affected by numerous factors, including fluctuations in the costs of raw materials, supply chain disruptions, holiday and seasonal programming and weather conditions. Beverage sales are seasonal with higher sales volume realized during the summer months when outdoor activities are more prevalent. See “Item 1A. Risk Factors” in Part I of this report for additional information about risks and uncertainties facing our Company. Also, see Note 14 - Restatements for certain cash flow restatements. Management believes these corrections did not in any way limit investment opportunities during these periods.
Current wording
Our operating results are affected by numerous factors, including fluctuations in the costs of raw materials, supply chain disruptions, holiday and seasonal programming and weather conditions. Beverage sales are seasonal with higher sales volume realized during the summer months when outdoor activities are more prevalent. See “Item 1A. Risk Factors” in Part I of this report for additional information about risks and uncertainties facing our Company.
Previous wording
The following section generally discusses the fiscal years ended April 27, 2024 (“Fiscal 2024”) and April 29, 2023 (“Fiscal 2023”) results and year-to-year comparisons between Fiscal 2024 and Fiscal 2023. Discussions of fiscal year ended April 30, 2022 (“Fiscal 2022”) results and year-to-year comparisons between Fiscal 2023 and Fiscal 2022 can be found in “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” in Part II, Item 7 of our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended April 29, 2023, which is available free of charge on our website at www.nationalbeverage.com.
Current wording
The following section generally discusses the fiscal years ended May 3, 2025 (“Fiscal 2025”) and April 27, 2024 (“Fiscal 2024”) results and year-to-year comparisons between Fiscal 2025 and Fiscal 2024. Discussions of fiscal year ended April 29, 2023 (“Fiscal 2023”) results and year-to-year comparisons between Fiscal 2024 and Fiscal 2023 can be found in “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” in Part II, Item 7 of our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended April 27, 2024, which is available free of charge on our website at www.nationalbeverage.com. Fiscal 2025 consists of 53 weeks; Fiscal 2024 and Fiscal 2023 both consisted of 52 weeks.
Previous wording
Net sales for Fiscal 2024 increased 1.6% to $1,191.7 million compared to $1,172.9 million for Fiscal 2023. The increase in sales resulted from a 1.8% increase in average selling price per case, partially offset by a 0.2% decline in case volume. The volume decline primarily impacted Power+Brands, partially offset by an increase in carbonated soft drink brands.
Current wording
Net sales for Fiscal 2025 increased 0.8% to $1,201.4 million compared to $1,191.7 million for Fiscal 2024. The increase in sales resulted primarily from a 1.7% increase in average selling price per case and an additional selling week, partially offset by a 0.9% decrease in case volume. The decrease in case volume primarily impacted Power+ Brands, partially offset by an increase in carbonated soft drink brands***.***
Previous wording
Gross profit for Fiscal 2024 increased to $428.5 million compared to $396.8 million for Fiscal 2023. The increase in gross profit was primarily due to the increased average selling price per case and a decline in packaging costs. The cost of sales per case decreased 1.7% and gross margin increased to 36.0% compared to 33.8% for Fiscal 2023.
Current wording
Gross profit for Fiscal 2025 increased to $443.9 million compared to $428.5 million for Fiscal 2024. The increase in gross profit was primarily due to a decline in packaging costs and the increase in average selling price per case, partially offset by the decrease in case volume. The average cost of sales per case remained relatively unchanged and gross margin increased to 37.0% compared to 36.0% for Fiscal 2024.
Previous wording
Selling, general and administrative expenses for Fiscal 2024 decreased $0.2 million to $209.9 million from $210.1 million for Fiscal 2023. The decrease was primarily due to a decrease in shipping costs, partially offset by an increase in marketing and selling costs. As a percentage of net sales, selling, general and administrative expenses decreased to 17.6% compared to 17.9% in Fiscal 2023.
Current wording
Selling, general and administrative expenses for Fiscal 2025 decreased $1.4 million to $208.5 million from $209.9 million for Fiscal 2024. The decrease was primarily due to reduced marketing spending and a decline in shipping and handling costs. As a percentage of net sales, selling, general and administrative expenses decreased to 17.4% compared to 17.6% in Fiscal 2024***.***
Previous wording
Other income (expense), net includes primarily interest income of $12.2 million for Fiscal 2024 and $2.3 million for Fiscal 2023. The increase in interest income is due to increased average invested balances and higher yields.
Current wording
Other income (expense), net includes primarily interest income of $9.3 million for Fiscal 2025 and $12.2 million for Fiscal 2024. The decrease in interest income is due to decreased average invested balances.
Previous wording
For Fiscal 2024 and Fiscal 2023, our effective tax rates were 23.1% and 23.7%, respectively. The differences between the effective rate and the federal statutory rate of 21% were primarily due to the effects of state income taxes.
Current wording
For Fiscal 2025 and Fiscal 2024, our effective tax rates were 23.6% and 23.1%, respectively. The differences between the effective rate and the federal statutory rate of 21% were primarily due to the effects of state income taxes.
Previous wording
Our principal sources of liquidity are our existing cash and cash-equivalents, cash generated from operations and borrowing capacity available under our revolving credit facilities. At April 27, 2024, we had $327.0 million in cash and cash equivalents and maintained unsecured revolving credit facilities totaling $150 million, under which no borrowings were outstanding and $2.2 million was reserved for standby letters of credit. We believe that existing capital resources will be sufficient to meet our liquidity and capital requirements for the next twelve months. See Note 5 - Debt, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements.
Current wording
Our principal sources of liquidity are our existing cash and cash-equivalents, cash generated from operations and borrowing capacity available under our revolving credit facilities. At May 3, 2025, we had $193.8 million in cash and cash equivalents and maintained unsecured revolving credit facilities totaling $150 million, under which no borrowings were outstanding and $2.7 million was reserved for standby letters of credit. We believe that existing capital resources will be sufficient to meet our liquidity and capital requirements for the next twelve months. See Note 5 - Debt, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements.
Previous wording
Pursuant to a management agreement, we incurred fees to Corporate Management Advisors, Inc. (“CMA”) of $11.9 million and $11.7 million for Fiscal 2024 and Fiscal 2023, respectively. At April 27, 2024 and April 29, 2023, current liabilities included amounts due to CMA of $3.0 million and $2.9 million, respectively. See Note 6 - Capital Stock and Transactions with Related Parties, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements.
Current wording
Pursuant to a management agreement, we incurred fees to Corporate Management Advisors, Inc. (“CMA”) of $12.0 million and $11.9 million for Fiscal 2025 and Fiscal 2024, respectively. At May 3, 2025 and April 27, 2024, current liabilities included amounts due to CMA of $2.1 million and $3.0 million, respectively. See Note 6 - Capital Stock and Transactions with Related Parties, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements.
Previous wording
The Company’s cash position increased $169.0 million for Fiscal 2024 compared to an increase of $110.0 million for Fiscal 2023. Net cash provided by operating activities for Fiscal 2024 was $197.9 million compared to $161.7 million for Fiscal 2023. For Fiscal 2024, cash flow provided by operating activities was principally provided by an increase in operating income, a reduction in working capital other than cash, an increase in net interest income, partially offset by an increase in tax and lease payments.
Current wording
The Company’s cash position decreased $133.2 million in Fiscal 2025 primarily due to the payment of a special cash dividend of $304.1 million in the first quarter of fiscal 2025. Net cash provided by operating activities for Fiscal 2025 was $206.7 million compared to $197.9 million for Fiscal 2024. For Fiscal 2025, cash flow provided by operating activities was principally provided by an increase in net income, partially offset by an increase in working capital excluding cash.
Previous wording
Net cash used in investing activities for Fiscal 2024 reflects capital expenditures of $30.2 million, compared to capital expenditures of $22.0 million for Fiscal 2023. Expenditures for property, plant and equipment in Fiscal 2024 were primarily for capital projects to expand our capacity, enhance sustainability and packaging capabilities and improve efficiencies at our production facilities. We intend to continue such projects in Fiscal 2025 and anticipate Fiscal 2025 capital expenditures to be comparable to Fiscal 2024.
Current wording
Net cash used in investing activities for Fiscal 2025 reflects capital expenditures of $36.3 million, compared to capital expenditures of $30.2 million for Fiscal 2024. Expenditures for property, plant and equipment in Fiscal 2025 were primarily for capital projects to expand our capacity, enhance sustainability and packaging capabilities and improve efficiencies at our production facilities. We intend to continue such projects in Fiscal 2026 and anticipate Fiscal 2026 capital expenditures will not exceed Fiscal 2025 capital spending.
Previous wording
During Fiscal 2024, our working capital increased $176.9 million to $398.9 million. The increase in working capital primarily resulted from increased cash and cash equivalents generated by operations of $169.0 million and other net working capital increases of $7.9 million. Trade receivables decreased $2.1 million and days sales outstanding was 31.5 days at April 27, 2024 compared to 33.3 days at April 29, 2023. Inventories decreased $9.0 million as a result of the reduced quantities of finished goods and raw materials. Annual inventory turns increased to 8.6 times from 7.9 times. At April 27, 2024, the current ratio was 3.9 to 1 compared to 2.5 to 1 at April 29, 2023.
Current wording
During Fiscal 2025, our working capital decreased $131.7 million to $267.2 million. The decrease in working capital and current ratio was primarily due to the payment of the $304.1 million cash dividend. Trade receivables increased $1.3 million and days sales outstanding was 32.5 days at May 3, 2025 compared to 31.5 days at April 27, 2024. Inventories increased $0.5 million as a result of increased quantities of finished goods and raw materials. Annual inventory turns increased to 8.7 times from 8.6 times. At May 3, 2025, the current ratio was 2.9 to 1 compared to 3.9 to 1 at April 27, 2024.
Previous wording
We contribute to certain pension plans under collective bargaining agreements and to a discretionary profit-sharing plan. Annual contributions were $3.8 million for Fiscal 2024 and Fiscal 2023, respectively. See Note 11- Pension Plans, of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Current wording
We contribute to certain pension plans under collective bargaining agreements and to a discretionary profit-sharing plan. Annual contributions were $4.2 million and $3.8 million for Fiscal 2025 and Fiscal 2024, respectively. See Note 11- Pension Plans, of Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Previous wording
We maintain self-insured and deductible programs for certain liability, medical and workers’ compensation exposures. Other long-term liabilities include known claims and estimated incurred but not reported claims not otherwise covered by insurance based on actuarial assumptions and historical claims experience. Since the timing and amount of claim payments vary significantly, we are not able to reasonably estimate future payments for specific periods and therefore such payments have not been included in the table above. Standby letters of credit aggregating $2.2 million have been issued in connection with our self-insurance programs. These standby letters of credit expire through March 2025 and are expected to be renewed.
Current wording
We maintain self-insured and deductible programs for certain liability, medical and workers’ compensation exposures. Other long-term liabilities include known claims and estimated incurred but not reported claims not otherwise covered by insurance based on actuarial assumptions and historical claims experience. Since the timing and amount of claim payments vary significantly, we are not able to reasonably estimate future payments for specific periods and therefore such payments have not been included in the table above. Standby letters of credit aggregating $2.7 million have been issued in connection with our self-insurance programs. These standby letters of credit expire through March 2026 and are expected to be renewed.
Previous wording
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with United States generally accepted accounting principles requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the amounts reported in the financial statements and accompanying notes. Although these estimates are based on management’s knowledge of current events and actions it may undertake in the future, they may ultimately differ from actual results. We believe that the critical accounting policies described in the following paragraphs comprise the most significant estimates and assumptions used in the preparation of our consolidated financial statements. For these policies, we caution that future events rarely develop exactly as estimated and the best estimates routinely require adjustment.
Current wording
The preparation of financial statements in conformity with United States generally accepted accounting principles requires management to make estimates and assumptions that affect the amounts reported in the financial statements and accompanying notes. Although these estimates are based on management’s knowledge of current events and actions it may undertake in the future, they may ultimately differ from actual results. We believe that the critical accounting policies described in the following paragraphs comprise the most significant estimates and assumptions used in the preparation of our consolidated financial statements. For these policies, we caution that future events rarely develop exactly as estimated and the best estimates routinely require adjustment. See Note 1- Significant Accounting Policies, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements for a complete description of our significant accounting policies.
Previous wording
We offer various sales incentive arrangements to our customers that require customer performance or achievement of certain sales volume targets. Sales incentives are accrued over the period of benefit or expected sales. When the incentive is paid in advance, the aggregate incentive is recorded as a prepaid asset and amortized over the period of benefit. The recognition of these incentives involves the use of judgment related to performance and sales volume estimates that are made based on historical experience and other factors. Sales incentives are accounted for as a reduction of sales and actual amounts ultimately realized may vary from accrued amounts. Such differences are recorded once determined and have historically not been significant.
Current wording
Revenue is recognized when the performance obligation is satisfied. Our written sales terms do not allow a right of return except in rare instances. We offer various sales incentive arrangements to our customers that require customer performance or achievement of certain sales volume targets. Sales incentives are accrued over the period of benefit or expected sales. When the incentive is paid in advance, the aggregate incentive is recorded as a prepaid asset and amortized over the period of benefit. The recognition of these incentives involves the use of judgment related to performance and sales volume estimates that are made based on historical experience and other factors. Sales incentives are accounted for as a reduction of sales and actual amounts ultimately realized may vary from accrued amounts. Such differences are recorded once determined and have historically not been significant.
Previous wording
We recognize revenue upon delivery to our customers, based on written sales terms that do not allow a right of return except in rare instances. Our products are typically sold on credit; however smaller direct-store delivery accounts may be sold on a cash basis. Our credit terms normally require payment within 30 days of delivery and may allow discounts for early payment. We estimate and reserve for credit losses based on our experience with past due accounts, collectability and our analysis of customer data.
Current wording
We sell products to a variety of customers and extend credit based on an evaluation of each customer’s financial condition, generally without requiring collateral. Exposure to credit losses varies by customer principally due to the financial condition of each customer. Our products are typically sold on credit; however smaller direct-store delivery accounts may be sold on a cash on delivery basis. Our credit terms normally require payment within 30 days of delivery and may allow discounts for early payment. We estimate and reserve for credit losses based on our experience with past due accounts, collectability and our analysis of customer data.
Previous wording
See Note 1 – Significant Accounting Policies – Recently Issued Accounting Pronouncements, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements, for a full description of recent accounting pronouncements including the respective expected dates of adoption and expected effects on the Company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or liquidity.
Current wording
See Note 1 – Significant Accounting Policies - Recently Issued Accounting Pronouncements, of Notes to the Consolidated Financial Statements, for a complete description of recent accounting pronouncements including the respective expected dates of adoption and expected effects on the Company’s consolidated financial position, results of operations or liquidity.
Previous wording
National Beverage Corp. and its representatives may make written or oral statements relating to future events or results relative to our financial, operational and business performance, achievements, objectives and strategies. These statements are “forward-looking” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and include statements contained in this report and other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission and in reports to our stockholders. Certain statements including, without limitation, statements containing the words “believes,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “plans,” “expects,” “estimates”, ”may,” “will,” “should,” “could,” and similar expressions constitute “forward- looking statements” and involve known and unknown risk, uncertainties and other factors that may cause the actual results, performance or achievements of our Company to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward looking statements. Such factors include, but are not limited to, the following: general economic and business conditions, pricing of competitive products, success of new product and flavor introductions, fluctuations in the costs and availability of raw materials and packaging supplies, ability to pass along cost increases to our customers, labor strikes or work stoppages or other interruptions in the employment of labor, continued retailer support for our products, changes in brand image, consumer demand and preferences and our success in creating products geared toward consumers’ tastes, success in implementing business strategies, changes in business strategy or development plans, technology failures or cyberattacks on our technology systems or our effective response to technology failures or cyberattacks on our customers’, suppliers’ or other third parties’ technology systems, government regulations, taxes or fees imposed on the sale of our products, unfavorable weather conditions, changing weather patterns and natural disasters, climate change or legislative or regulatory responses to such change and other factors referenced in this report, filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission and other reports to our stockholders. We disclaim any obligation to update any such factors or to publicly announce the results of any revisions to any forward- looking statements contained herein to reflect future events or developments.
Current wording
National Beverage Corp. and its representatives may make written or oral statements relating to future events or results relative to our financial, operational and business performance, achievements, objectives and strategies. These statements are “forward-looking” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and include statements contained in this report and other filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission and in reports to our stockholders. Certain statements including, without limitation, statements containing the words “believes,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “plans,” “expects,” “estimates”, ”may,” “will,” “should,” “could,” and similar expressions constitute “forward-looking statements” and involve known and unknown risk, uncertainties and other factors that may cause the actual results, performance or achievements of our Company to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward looking statements. Such factors include, but are not limited to, the following: general economic and business conditions, pricing of competitive products, success of new product and flavor introductions, fluctuations in the costs and availability of raw materials and packaging supplies, including effects of potential tariffs, ability to recover cost increases, labor strikes or work stoppages or other interruptions in the employment of labor, continued retailer support for our products, changes in brand image, consumer demand and preferences and our success in creating products geared toward consumers’ tastes, success in implementing business strategies, changes in business strategy or development plans, technology failures or cyberattacks on our technology systems or our effective response to technology failures or cyberattacks on our customers’, suppliers’ or other third parties’ technology systems, government regulations, taxes or fees imposed on the sale of our products, unfavorable weather conditions, changing weather patterns and natural disasters, climate change or legislative or regulatory responses to such change and other factors referenced in this report, filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission and other reports to our stockholders. We disclaim any obligation to update any such factors or to publicly announce the results of any revisions to any forward- looking statements contained herein to reflect future events or developments.
Rearranged previous paragraphs (2)
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
We sell products to a variety of customers and extend credit based on an evaluation of each customer’s financial condition, generally without requiring collateral. Exposure to credit losses varies by customer principally due to the financial condition of each customer. We monitor our exposure to credit losses and maintain allowances for anticipated credit losses based on our experience with past due accounts, collectability and our analysis of customer data.
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
We maintain self-insured and deductible programs for certain liability, medical and workers’ compensation exposures. Accordingly, we accrue for known claims and estimated incurred but not reported claims not otherwise covered by insurance based on actuarial assumptions and historical claims experience.