Skip to main content

PEARSON PLC

For the period ended Dec 31, 2023. Filed Mar 14, 2024.

View on SEC.gov

About this filing

The yearly report of a company based outside the US. It covers much of what a 10-K does, and may follow accounting rules other than US ones.

FY2023 · Filed Mar 14, 2024

PSO$17.27-1.4%Stored close · as of Nov 6, 2026
See the whole filing, with its images and exhibits

ESG data

ESG dataStrategic report

Our performance

About our reporting

This report provides a summary of Pearson’s sustainable business strategy and our environmental, social, and governance (ESG) performance for the calendar year ended 31 December 2023. The Board’s Reputation & Responsibility Committee has reviewed the reported information, including the list of material topics on page 94.

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

Our report is in accordance with the GRI standards, using the GRI 1: Foundation 2021 guidance. There is no relevant GRI sector standard for our industry.

Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB)

We continue to report in line with the SASB’s standards to provide industry-based insights into the most relevant sustainability-related risks and opportunities for the media, and professional services sectors.

UN Global Compact (UNGC) and the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

We were proud to participate in the Early Adopter Programme of the UN Global Communication on Progress (CoP) designed to add value and streamline sustainability reporting for all participating companies of the UNGC. Our CoP is publicly available on our participant profile at: https://unglobalcompact.org/what-is-gc/participants/7319-Pearson-plc

Lifelong learning and education have an important role to play in achieving all the UN SDGs, but we focus our efforts on those where we have the greatest impact. Our priority SDGs are: 4 quality education, 8 decent work and economic growth, and 10 reducing inequalities.

ESG material issues reporting against GRI and SASB
Material issuesGRISASBPage/web referenceComments/omissions
Product effectivenessGRI 203-2: significant indirect impactsRisks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 34-38 Performance: non-financial KPIs Page 24
Consumer engagementGRI 203-2: significant indirect impactsRisks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 34-38, 16-17 Performance: non-financial KPIs Page 24
Digital growthGRI 203-2: significant indirect impactsRisks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 34-38 Performance: non-financial KPIs - Page 24
Employee learning and developmentGRI 404-1: average hours of training per year, per employee GRI 404-2: programmes for upgrading employee skills and transition assistance programmes GRI 404-3: percentage of employees receiving regular performance and career development reviewsRisks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 39-41 Performance: Pages 24, 39-41We do not report on average hours of training, or % of employees receiving reviews. 100% of direct employees are covered by the Gallup survey.
ESG data continuedStrategic report
Material issuesGRISASBPage/web referenceComments/omissions
Employee engagementSV-PS-330a.2. (1) voluntary and (2) involuntary turnover rate for employees SV-PS-330a.3. employee engagement %Risks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 39-41 Performance: Page 34
Inclusion and diversity405-1 Diversity of governance bodies and employeesSV-PS-330a.1. & SV-ME-260a.1. percentage of gender and racial/ethnic group representation for: (1) Executive Management (2) professionals (3) all other employees SV-ME-260a.2. description of policies and procedures to ensure pluralism in news media contentRisks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 40-41 Performance: Pages 24, 39-40 Social Equity portal: https://www.pearson.com/en-GB/social-equity.html
Reducing our environmental impactGHG Emission scope 1, 2, 3. Baseline and methodology. Any offsets including type, amount, criteriaRisks, opportunities, and management approach: Pages 35, 42-43 TCFD Report: Pages 44-48Performance: Pages 24, 42-43
Data privacy and cyber securityGRI 418 -1 Substantiated complaints received concerning breaches of customer privacy and losses of customer dataSV-PS-230a.1 description of approach to identifying and addressing data security risks SV-PS-230a.2. description of policies and practices relating to collection, usage, and retention of customer information SV-PS-230a.3. number of data breaches percentage involving customers’ confidential business information or personally identifiable information number of customers affectedThe following sections of our report detail: — our approach to data security risks: Page 100 — governance of data privacy, cyber security and technology resilience: Page 96 — approach to customer data and safeguarding and training provided: Pages 34, 38 — consumer-facing privacy centre explaining how Pearson uses personal information: https://www.pearson.com/en-GB/privacy-center.htmlIn the event of a reportable breach, we would disclose information about the incident and commit to contact any affected data subjects in a timely way. In line with regulations, we will disclose material lapses to the relevant regulators. To the extent that any relevant regulator should find fault with our data management and/or data security practices, they will publish their findings/sanctions.
Journalistic integrity & sponsorship identificationSV-ME-270a.3 Description of approach for ensuring journalistic integrity of news programming related to: (1) truthfulness, accuracy, objectivity, fairness, and accountability, (2) independence of content and/or transparency of potential bias, and (3) protection of privacy and limitation of harm— Business Partner Global Content Policy, on page 94

Strategic report

GRI General Disclosures Index
DisclosurePage/LocationComment
2-1 Organisational details68, 72,74
2-2 Entities included in the organisation’s sustainability reporting94-96
2-4 Restatements of information81
2-5 External assurancehttps://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/ purpose/our-esg-reporting
2-6 Activities, value chain and other business relationships11
2-7 Employees53-54
2-8 Workers who are not employeesWe do not currently report on workers who are not employees. Most common type of workers are regular employees (17,128) and most common type of work performed is in testing centres, technology, sales, customer services, and professional development
2-9 Governance structure and composition66-80
2-10 Nomination and selection of the highest governance body88-90
2-11 Chair of the highest governance body66
2-12 Role of the highest governance body in overseeing the management of impacts68-80
2-13 Delegation of responsibility for managing impacts80
2-14 Role of the highest governance body in sustainability reporting94-96
DisclosurePage/LocationComment
2-15 Conflicts of interest76
2-16 Communication of critical concerns94
2-17 Collective knowledge of the highest governance body74-77
2-18 Evaluation of the performance of the highest governance body85-87
2-19 Remuneration policies107-135
2-20 Process to determine remuneration110
2-21 Annual total compensation ratio110
2-22 Statement on sustainable development strategy34
2-23 Policy commitments16
2-24 Embedding policy commitments16-20
2-25 Processes to remediate negative impacts94https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/ corporate-policies
2-26 Mechanisms for seeking advice and raising concerns94https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/ corporate-policies
2-27 Compliance with laws and regulations94
2-28 Membership associations92We are also members of the Global Business Coalition for Education, and the Corporate Consultative Group of the World Resource Institute (WRI).
2-29 Approach to stakeholder engagement16-20
2-30 Collective bargaining agreements134Board members engage with employees on a regular basis.
ESG data continuedStrategic report

ESG performance tables

Environment

Methodology: We follow the requirements from the GHG Protocol Corporate Accounting and Reporting Standard (revised edition) to calculate our emissions.

For scope 2, we use the dual reporting methodology (location and market-based approach), together with some of the latest emission factors from recognised public sources, including, but not limited to, the UK Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy, the International Energy Agency, the US Energy Information Administration, the US Environmental Protection Agency, and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). Energy use includes gas and electricity consumption in MWh and vehicle fuel use converted from mileage into MWh using BEIS conversion factors. We are also using the latest global warming potential from the IPCC’s Sixth Assessment Report.

An independent third party has verified and provided limited assurance of our energy consumption; scope 1, 2 and 3 GHG emissions; and renewable electricity claims, as well as our social KPIs. See SLR Consulting assurance statement here: https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/sustainability/our-esg-reporting

Greenhouse gas (GHG) (carbon dioxide equivalent) emissions overview (metric tons CO 2 e)

20232022
Scope 14,6614,622
Scope 2 (market-based 1)14*182
Scope 2 (location-based 2)14,05229,034
Scope 3302,572362,473
Total - location-based321,285396,128
Total - market-based307,247367,276
Total global scope 1 and 2 (location-based)18,71333,656
Total UK scope 1 and 2 (location-based)2,2805,671
Total global scope 1 and 2 (market-based)4,6754,804
Total UK scope 1 and 2 (market-based)8211,662
1.The market-based approach reflects emissions from electricity purposefully chosen.

It derives emission factors from a contract for the sale and purchase of energy.

2.The location-based approach reflects the average emissions intensity of grids on which energy consumption occurs.
*We purchase renewable electricity in countries of consumption. For American Samoa, Bangladesh, Kenya, Republic of Korea, Northern Marina Islands and Romania, Pearson was not able to purchase country-specific Energy Attribute Certificates and we had to buy from neighbouring countries/regions such as United States, India, Uganda, China and Poland. However, this represents only 0.1% of Pearson total electricity consumption
Intensity ratio20232022
tCO2/ m £ sales revenue (scope 1, 2 market-based and 3)83.695.6
Energy20232022
% electricity from renewable sources100%99%
Total electricity consumption from renewable sources only (MWh)36,32183,523
Total electricity consumption from non-renewable sources only (MWh)0957
On-site generated electricity (MWh)177184
Total gas consumption (MWh)18,30924,170
Total fuel oil consumption (MWh)49159
Vehicles (MWh)4,693**347
Total energy consumption (MWh)59,372109,340
Global (gas, electricity and transport)59,323108,997
UK (gas, electricity and transport)11,51929,811
Resource use20232022
Paper used (t)22,85924,187
% FSC50%33%
% PEFC6%20%
% SFI13%9%
Waste20232022
Total waste generated (t)680***1,298
Share of waste recycled in office space23.9%17.7%
Water20232022
Total water consumption (m3)84,857***538,556
**An increase in activity for company vehicles in the US is included in this year’s figures.
***We report estimated water and waste in some of our properties by applying an intensity ratio per sqm based on all actual data available. This year, the intensity ratio per sqm for waste generated and water consumption was much lower than 2022.

Strategic report

Social

All employee figures, with the exception of total average number of employees (as noted below) are based on employee volumes as at 31 December 2023.

Our employees20232022
Total average number of employees for the year†18,36020,438
Employees by geography (regional representation)17,61220,169
US as of 31 December9,24110,694
UK as of 31 December3,3593,931
Rest of world as of 31 December5,0125,544
†Total average number of employees is calculated using a Full-time Equivalent (FTE) methodology, as an average across the reporting period. Seasonal/temporary staff are excluded from calculation.
Gender diversity breakdown20232022
Total number of permanent, regular employees97%97%
Male40%40%
Female59%59%
Non-binary0%0%
No data1%1%
Total number of temporary, limited-term employees3%3%
Male36%32%
Female63%66%
Non-binary0%0%
No data1%2%
Total full-time, regular employees79%79%
Male44%44%
Female56%55%
Non-binary0%0%
Not disclosed1%1%
Total part-time, regular employees21%21%
Male27%27%
Female72%72%
Non-binary0%0%
Not disclosed1%1%
Board and Executive Management team’sgender identity or sexNumberof BoardmembersPercentageof theBoardNumber of seniorpositions on theBoard (CEO, CFO,SID and Chair)Number inExecutiveManagement*Percentageof ExecutiveManagement
Men545.53654.5
Women654.51545.5
Other categories
Not specified / prefer not to say
Board and Executive Management team’sethnic backgroundNumberof BoardmembersPercentageof theBoardNumber of seniorpositions on theBoard (CEO, CFO,SID and Chair)Number inExecutiveManagement*Percentageof ExecutiveManagement
White British or other White (including minority-white groups)8734873
Mixed/Multiple Ethnic Groups21819
Asian/Asian British1919
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British
Other ethnic group, including Arab19
Not specified/ prefer not to say
*Prepared in accordance with UK Listing Rule 9.8.6R(10) as at 31 December 2023. As prescribed by this rule and for the purpose of this disclosure, the Executive Management includes the Company Secretary. The data contained in the tables above was collected as part of the annual declaration process, whereby the Board and the Executive Management team received declaration forms for self-completion. The declaration forms included, for all individuals whose data is being reported, the same questions relating to ethnicity and gender. The data is used for statistical reporting purposes and is provided with consent.
Female leadership breakdown20232022
Senior leadership47%41%
VP and Director47%48%
Manager51%51%
Percentage of women in technology roles (IT/engineering)30%31%
.
Employee racial and ethnic diversity breakdown20232022
Total workforce (US and UK)32% (US) / 17% (UK)32% (US) / 18% (UK)
Senior leadership (US and UK)15% (US) / 14% (UK)19% (US) / 12% (UK)
VP and Director (US and UK)18% (US) / 16% (UK)18% (US) / 13% (UK)
Manager (US and UK)27% (US) / 18% (UK)25% (US) / 14% (UK)
ESG data continuedStrategic report
Employee racial and ethnic diversity breakdown - US20232022
% of total workforce32%32%
Asian11%10%
Black or African American11%11%
Hispanic or Latino9%9%
Other2%2%
White68%67%
Not stated0%1%
Employee racial and ethnic diversity breakdown - UK20232022
% of total workforce17%18%
Asian10%10%
Black4%4%
Hispanic or Latino0%0%
Other4%4%
White64%66%
Not stated18%16%
% of total management workforce (US and UK)20232022
Asian12%10%
Black or African American4%4%
Hispanic or Latino4%4%
Other2%2%
White76%77%
Not stated2%3%
Turnover20232022
Turnover rate, total average for the year16,446 / 34%6,974 / 33%
Voluntary turnover3,037 / 16%4,658 / 22%
Involuntary turnover3,409 / 18%2,316 / 11%
1.% calculated using average 2023 H/C of 18,360, not 2023 year-end position.
Turnover by gender20232022
Total female3,840 / 20%4,233 / 20%
Total male2,475 / 13%2,659 / 12%
Non-binary21 / 0%6 / 0%
Not disclosed110 / 1%76 / 0%
Turnover by age group20232022
Under 30 years old1,693 / 9%1,720 / 8%
30-50 years old3,324 / 18%3,449 / 16%
Over 50 years old1,414 / 7%1,785 / 8%
No date15 / 0%20 / 0%
New hires20232022
Total number and rate of new employee hires (number of hires/averageheadcount)23,770 / 20%5,600 / 26%
Total number of new hires - female2,289 / 61%3,378 / 60%
Total number of new hires - male1,374 / 36%2,076 / 37%
Total number of new hires - non-binary19 / 1%24 / 0%
Total number of new hires - not-disclosed88 / 2%122 / 2%
2.% calculated using average 2023 H/C of 18,360, not 2023 year-end position.
New hires by age group20232022
Under 30 years old38%38%
30-50 years old44%44%
Over 50 years old18%17%
No date0%1%
Employee engagement measures320232022
Engagement4.09^3.96^
Inclusion4.21^4.12^
Progress73%67%
Learning and growth76%72%
Volunteering hours20,694n/a
3.Sourced from Gallup Access. Propriety data.
^GrandMean on a five-point Likert scale.
BTEC International Registrations20232022
65,033437,994
Governance20232022
Total number of concerns raised and investigated9292
Percentage of employees completing code of conduct certification or training100%100%
4.Increase due to partnership with the Ministry of Education in Jordan to offer BTEC qualifications in public schools.

Strategic report

Non-financial and sustainability information statement

In accordance with Sections 414CA and 414CB of the Companies Act 2006, which outline requirements fornon-financial reporting, the table below signposts to content in this strategic report, relevant to the management, performance and position of the company, and the impact of our activities in specificnon-financial areas.

Business modelBusiness model: Page 22
Environmental mattersPolicies: Addressed in the following pages, with full policies for Pearson Plc available at: https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/corporate-policies
ClimatePosition and performance: Pages 42-43
Resource useRisks/opportunities: Pages 45
Climate-related financial disclosure as defined in section 414CA(2a) Companies Act 2006’: Governance – (a) on page 40; Strategy – (d), (e) and (f) on pages 41-43; Risk management – (b) and (c) on page 42; Metrics and Targets – (g) and (h) on page 48.
Social and community mattersPolicies: Addressed in the following pages, with full policies for Pearson Plc available at: https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/corporate-policies
Driving learning for everyone with our productPosition and performance: Pages 39-41
Social engagementRisks/opportunities: https://plc.pearson.com/sites/pearson-corp/files/pearson/esgmateriality2023-14-04.pdf
Employee mattersPolicies: Addressed in the following pages, with full policies for Pearson Plc available at: https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/corporate-policies
Employee engagementPosition and performance: Pages 39-41
Investing in talentRisks/opportunities: https://plc.pearson.com/sites/pearson-corp/files/pearson/esgmateriality2023-14-04.pdf
Diversity, equity and inclusionKPIs: Page 24
Human rights mattersPolicies: Addressed in the following pages, with full policies for Pearson Plc available at: https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/corporate-policies
Customer welfare (data privacy, security, andPosition and performance: Page 39
safeguarding)Risks/opportunities: https://plc.pearson.com/sites/pearson-corp/files/pearson/esgmateriality2023-14-04.pdf
Empowering our people to make a differenceKPIs: Page 24
Sustainable procurement
Anti-corruption and bribery mattersPolicies: https://plc.pearson.com/en-GB/corporate-policies

Pearson has a wide range of policies that underpin our sustainability commitments, including:

—Pearson Code of Conduct
—Pearson Business Partners’ Code of Conduct (Partner Code)
—Responsible Procurement Policy; and our Modern Slavery and Human Rights Statement
—Anti-Bribery and Corruption (ABC) Policy; Raising Concerns and Anti-Retaliation Policy
—Pearson’s safeguarding principles (include data privacy/security)
—Global Content Policy

The implementation of these policies are discussed throughout the report and on our website.

ContentsView on SEC.gov

The text of this filing, as the company filed it with the SEC, without its images or exhibits. This is not investment advice.