DONEGAL GROUP INC
For the period ended Dec 31, 2024. Filed Mar 10, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2024 · Filed Mar 10, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2023-12-31; filed 2024-03-06.
0001140361-24-011762
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-12-31; filed 2025-03-10.
0001140361-25-007891
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 120 previous paragraphs and 122 current paragraphs.
86 unchanged; 27 reworded; 6 added; 6 removed; 1 previous and 3 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 13 previous and 15 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (6)
Current report
Net Investment Gains
Current report
Net Income and Earnings Per Share
Current report
Our stockholders’ equity increased by $66.0 million during 2024, primarily due to our net income, stock issuances under our stock compensation plans and other increases exceeding the cash dividends we declared during the year and resulting in an increase in our book value per share to $15.36 at December 31, 2024, compared to $14.39 a year earlier.
Current report
In November 2023, the FASB issued guidance that amended previous guidance on the disclosure of reportable segments. The guidance requires disclosure of incremental segment information including the title and position of the individual identified as the chief operating decision maker, a narrative explanation of how the chief operating decision maker uses each reported measure of a segment’s profit or loss in assessing performance and determining how to allocate resources, as well as quantification of significant segment expenses and other items. We refer to Note 19 - Segment Information for further information and disclosure of items required within the amended and enhanced guidance. The adoption of this guidance did not have an impact on our financial position, results of operations or cash flows.
Current report
In December 2023, the FASB issued guidance to enhance the transparency and usefulness of income tax disclosures. The guidance requires disclosure of specific categories in the rate reconciliation table and additional information for reconciling items that meet a quantitative threshold of equal to or greater than 5 percent of the amount computed by multiplying pretax income or loss by the applicable statutory income tax rate. The guidance also requires disaggregated disclosure of the amount of income taxes paid for federal, state and foreign taxes. The guidance is effective for annual periods beginning after December 15, 2024. The adoption of this guidance will not have an impact on our financial position, results of operations or cash flows.
Current report
In November 2024, the FASB issued guidance requiring disaggregated disclosure of income statement expenses in the notes to financial statements. The guidance requires disclosure of certain expenses, including employee compensation, depreciation and selling expenses. The guidance will not impact current income statement expense captions that industry-specific guidance requires. The guidance is effective for annual reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2026. The adoption of this guidance will not have an impact on our financial position, results of operations or cash flows.
Removed paragraphs (6)
Previous report
Donegal Mutual completed the merger of Mountain States Mutual Casualty Company, or Mountain States, with and into Donegal Mutual effective May 25, 2017. Donegal Mutual was the surviving company in the merger, and Mountain States’ insurance subsidiaries, Mountain States Indemnity Company and Mountain States Commercial Insurance Company (collectively, the “Mountain States insurance subsidiaries”), became insurance subsidiaries of Donegal Mutual upon completion of the merger. Upon completion of the merger, Donegal Mutual assumed all of the policy obligations of Mountain States and began to market its products together with the Mountain States insurance subsidiaries as the Mountain States Insurance Group in four Southwestern states. Donegal Mutual also entered into a 100% quota-share reinsurance agreement with the Mountain States insurance subsidiaries on the merger date. Beginning with policies effective in 2021, Donegal Mutual began to place the business of the Mountain States Insurance Group into the underwriting pool.
Previous report
Results of Operations
Previous report
Net Investment (Losses) Gains
Previous report
Net (Loss) Income and (Loss) Earnings Per Share
Previous report
Our stockholders’ equity decreased by $47.4 million during 2022, primarily due to $45.4 million of after-tax unrealized losses within our available-for-sale fixed-maturity portfolio, resulting in a decrease in our book value per share to $14.79 at December 31, 2022, compared to $16.95 a year earlier.
Reworded paragraphs (27)
Previous wording
Donegal Mutual Insurance Company (“Donegal Mutual”) organized us as an insurance holding company on August 26, 1986. See “Business - History and Organizational Structure” for more information. Our insurance subsidiaries are Atlantic States Insurance Company (“Atlantic States”), Michigan Insurance Company (“MICO”), The Peninsula Insurance Company and its wholly owned subsidiary, Peninsula Indemnity Company (collectively, “Peninsula”), and Southern Insurance Company of Virginia (“Southern”). Our insurance subsidiaries and their affiliates write commercial and personal lines of property and casualty coverages exclusively through a network of independent insurance agents in certain Mid-Atlantic, Midwest, New England, Southern and Southwestern states. The commercial lines products of our insurance subsidiaries consist primarily of commercial automobile, commercial multi-peril and workers’ compensation policies. The personal lines products of our insurance subsidiaries consist primarily of homeowners and private passenger automobile policies.
Current wording
Donegal Mutual Insurance Company (“Donegal Mutual”) organized us as an insurance holding company on August 26, 1986. See “Business - History and Organizational Structure” for more information. Our insurance subsidiaries are Atlantic States Insurance Company (“Atlantic States”), Michigan Insurance Company (“MICO”), The Peninsula Insurance Company and its wholly owned subsidiary, Peninsula Indemnity Company (collectively, “Peninsula”), and Southern Insurance Company of Virginia (“Southern”). Our insurance subsidiaries and their affiliates write commercial and personal lines of property and casualty coverages exclusively through a network of independent insurance agents in certain Mid-Atlantic, Midwest, Southern and Southwestern states. The commercial lines products of our insurance subsidiaries consist primarily of commercial automobile, commercial multi-peril and workers’ compensation policies. The personal lines products of our insurance subsidiaries consist primarily of homeowners and private passenger automobile policies.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2023, Donegal Mutual held approximately 44% of our outstanding Class A common stock and approximately 84% of our outstanding Class B common stock. This ownership provides Donegal Mutual with approximately 71% of the combined voting power of our outstanding shares of Class A common stock and our outstanding shares of Class B common stock.
Current wording
At December 31, 2024, Donegal Mutual held approximately 44% of our outstanding Class A common stock and approximately 84% of our outstanding Class B common stock. This ownership provides Donegal Mutual with approximately 70% of the combined voting power of our outstanding shares of Class A common stock and our outstanding shares of Class B common stock.
Previous wording
Donegal Mutual and our insurance subsidiaries operate together as the Donegal Insurance Group and share a combined business plan designed to achieve market penetration and underwriting profitability objectives. The products our insurance subsidiaries and Donegal Mutual offer are generally complementary, thereby allowing Donegal Insurance Group to offer a broader range of products to a given market and to expand Donegal Insurance Group’s ability to service an entire personal lines or commercial lines account. Distinctions within the products of Donegal Mutual and our insurance subsidiaries generally relate to specific risk profiles targeted within similar classes of business, such as preferred tier products compared to standard tier products, but we do not allocate all of the standard risk gradients to one company. Therefore, the underwriting profitability of the business the individual companies write directly will vary. However, because the pool homogenizes the risk characteristics of the predominant percentage of the business Donegal Mutual and Atlantic States write directly and each company shares the underwriting results according to each company’s participation percentage, each company realizes its percentage share of the underwriting results of the pool.
Current wording
Donegal Mutual and our insurance subsidiaries operate together as the Donegal Insurance Group and share a combined business plan designed to achieve market penetration and underwriting profitability objectives. The products our insurance subsidiaries and Donegal Mutual offer are generally complementary, thereby allowing Donegal Insurance Group to offer a broader range of products to a given market and to expand Donegal Insurance Group’s ability to service an entire personal lines or commercial lines account. Distinctions within the products of Donegal Mutual and our insurance subsidiaries generally allow the individual companies to manage certain risk segments through variations in coverage, terms and pricing. Therefore, the underwriting profitability of the business the individual companies write directly will vary. However, because the pool homogenizes the risk characteristics of the predominant percentage of the business Donegal Mutual and Atlantic States write directly and each company shares the underwriting results according to each company’s participation percentage, each company realizes its percentage share of the underwriting results of the pool.
Previous wording
On April 29, 2022, Donegal Mutual disclosed that it will, at its discretion, purchase shares of our Class A common stock and our Class B common stock at market prices prevailing from time to time in the open market subject to the provisions of SEC Rule 10b-18 and in privately negotiated transactions. Such disclosure did not stipulate a maximum number of shares that may be purchased under this program. Donegal Mutual purchased 516,620 and 1,035,778 shares of our Class A common stock during 2023 and 2022, respectively. Donegal Mutual did not purchase any shares of our Class B common stock during 2023. Donegal Mutual purchased 54,231 shares of our Class B common stock during 2022.
Current wording
On April 29, 2022, Donegal Mutual disclosed that it will, at its discretion, purchase shares of our Class A common stock and our Class B common stock at market prices prevailing from time to time in the open market subject to the provisions of SEC Rule 10b-18 and in privately negotiated transactions. Such disclosure did not stipulate a maximum number of shares that may be purchased under this program. Donegal Mutual purchased 1,057,282 and 516,620 shares of our Class A common stock during 2024 and 2023, respectively. Donegal Mutual did not purchase any shares of our Class B common stock during 2024 or 2023.
Previous wording
Reserve estimates can change over time because of unexpected changes in assumptions related to our insurance subsidiaries’ external environment and, to a lesser extent, assumptions related to our insurance subsidiaries’ internal operations. For example, our insurance subsidiaries have experienced an increase in claims severity and a lengthening of the claim settlement periods on bodily injury claims during the past several years. In addition, the COVID-19 pandemic and related government mandates and restrictions resulted in various changes from historical claims reporting and settlement trends during 2020 and resulted in significant increases in loss costs in 2022 and 2023 due to a number of factors, including supply chain disruption, higher new and used automobile values, increases in the cost of replacement automobile parts and rising labor rates. While these trend changes have begun to normalize, they caused significant disruption to historical loss patterns and give rise to greater uncertainty as to the pattern of future loss settlements. Related uncertainties regarding future trends include social inflation, availability and cost of replacement automobile parts and building materials, availability of skilled labor, the rate of plaintiff attorney involvement in claims and the cost of medical technologies and procedures. Assumptions related to our insurance subsidiaries’ external environment include the absence of significant changes in tort law and the legal environment that increase liability exposure, consistency in judicial interpretations of insurance coverage and policy provisions and the rate of loss cost inflation. Internal assumptions include consistency in the recording of premium and loss statistics, consistency in the recording of claims, payment and case reserving methodology, accurate measurement of the impact of rate changes and changes in policy provisions, consistency in the quality and characteristics of business written within a given line of business and consistency in reinsurance coverage and collectability of reinsured losses, among other items. To the extent our insurance subsidiaries determine that underlying factors impacting their assumptions have changed, our insurance subsidiaries make adjustments in their reserves that they consider appropriate for such changes. Accordingly, our insurance subsidiaries’ ultimate liability for unpaid losses and loss expenses will likely differ from the amount recorded at December 31, 2023. For every 1% change in our insurance subsidiaries’ loss and loss expense reserves, net of reinsurance recoverable, the effect on our pre-tax results of operations would be approximately $6.9 million.
Current wording
Reserve estimates can change over time because of unexpected changes in assumptions related to our insurance subsidiaries’ external environment and, to a lesser extent, assumptions related to our insurance subsidiaries’ internal operations. For example, our insurance subsidiaries have experienced an increase in claims severity and a lengthening of the claim settlement periods on bodily injury claims during the past several years. In addition, the COVID-19 pandemic and related government mandates and restrictions resulted in various changes from historical claims reporting and settlement trends during 2020 and resulted in significant increases in loss costs in subsequent years due to a number of factors, including supply chain disruption, higher new and used automobile values, increases in the cost of replacement automobile parts and rising labor rates. These trend changes caused significant disruption to historical loss patterns and give rise to greater uncertainty as to the pattern of future loss settlements. Related uncertainties regarding future trends include social inflation, availability and cost of replacement automobile parts and building materials, availability and cost of skilled labor, the rate of specialized plaintiff attorney involvement in claims, plaintiff attorney utilization of litigation financing and the cost of medical technologies and procedures. Assumptions related to our insurance subsidiaries’ external environment include the absence of significant changes in tort law and the legal environment that increase liability exposure, consistency in judicial interpretations of insurance coverage and policy provisions and the rate of loss cost inflation. Internal assumptions include consistency in the recording of premium and loss statistics, consistency in the recording of claims, payment and case reserving methodology, accurate measurement of the impact of rate changes and changes in policy provisions, consistency in the quality and characteristics of business written within a given line of business and consistency in reinsurance coverage and collectability of reinsured losses, among other items. To the extent our insurance subsidiaries determine that underlying factors impacting their assumptions have changed, our insurance subsidiaries make adjustments in their reserves that they consider appropriate for such changes. Accordingly, our insurance subsidiaries’ ultimate liability for unpaid losses and loss expenses will likely differ from the amount recorded at December 31, 2024. For every 1% change in our insurance subsidiaries’ loss and loss expense reserves, net of reinsurance recoverable, the effect on our pre-tax results of operations would be approximately $7.0 million.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries recognized a decrease in their liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years of $16.7 million, $44.8 million and $31.2 million in 2023, 2022 and 2021, respectively. Our insurance subsidiaries made no significant changes in their reserving philosophy or claims management personnel, and they have made no significant offsetting changes in estimates that increased or decreased their loss and loss expense reserves in those years. The 2023 development represented 2.5% of the December 31, 2022 net carried reserves and resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the personal automobile and commercial automobile lines of business for accident years prior to 2023. The majority of the 2023 development related to decreases in the liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years for Atlantic States and MICO. The 2022 development represented 7.2% of the December 31, 2021 net carried reserves and resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the personal automobile and commercial automobile lines of business for accident years prior to 2022. The majority of the 2022 development related to decreases in the liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years for Atlantic States and MICO. The 2021 development represented 5.6% of the December 31, 2020 net carried reserves and resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the personal automobile, workers’ compensation and commercial automobile lines of business for accident years prior to 2021. The majority of the 2021 development related to decreases in the liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years for Atlantic States and MICO.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries recognized a decrease in their liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years of $15.0 million, $16.7 million and $44.8 million in 2024, 2023 and 2022, respectively. Our insurance subsidiaries made no significant changes in their reserving philosophy or claims management personnel, and they have made no significant offsetting changes in estimates that increased or decreased their loss and loss expense reserves in those years. The 2024 development represented 2.2% of the December 31, 2023 net carried reserves and resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the commercial multi-peril, personal automobile and homeowner lines of business, offset partially by higher-than-expected loss emergence in the workers’ compensation and commercial automobile lines of business, for accident years prior to 2024. The majority of the 2024 development related to decreases in the liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years for Atlantic States and MICO. The 2023 development represented 2.5% of the December 31, 2022 net carried reserves and resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the personal automobile and commercial automobile lines of business for accident years prior to 2023. The majority of the 2023 development related to decreases in the liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years for Atlantic States and MICO. The 2022 development represented 7.2% of the December 31, 2021 net carried reserves and resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the personal automobile and commercial automobile lines of business for accident years prior to 2022. The majority of the 2022 development related to decreases in the liability for losses and loss expenses of prior years for Atlantic States and MICO.
Previous wording
Excluding the impact of severe weather events and the COVID-19 pandemic, our insurance subsidiaries have noted stable amounts in the number of claims incurred and the number of claims outstanding at period ends relative to their premium base in recent years across most of their lines of business. However, the amount of the average claim outstanding has increased gradually over the past several years due to various factors such as increased property and automobile repair and replacement costs, rising medical loss costs and increased litigation trends. We have also experienced a general slowing of settlement rates in litigated claims. Our insurance subsidiaries could have to make further adjustments to their estimates in the future. However, on the basis of our insurance subsidiaries’ internal procedures, which analyze, among other things, their prior assumptions, their experience with similar cases and historical trends such as reserving patterns, loss payments, pending levels of unpaid claims and product mix, as well as court decisions, economic conditions and public attitudes, we believe that our insurance subsidiaries have made adequate provision for their liability for losses and loss expenses.
Current wording
Excluding the impact of severe weather events and the COVID-19 pandemic, our insurance subsidiaries have noted stable amounts in the number of claims incurred and the number of claims outstanding at period ends relative to their premium base in recent years across most of their lines of business. However, the amount of the average claim outstanding has increased gradually over the past several years due to various factors such as increased property and automobile repair and replacement costs, rising medical loss costs and increased litigation trends and lengthening of repair completion times for property and automobile claims. We have also experienced a general slowing of settlement rates in litigated claims. Our insurance subsidiaries could have to make further adjustments to their estimates in the future. However, on the basis of our insurance subsidiaries’ internal procedures, which analyze, among other things, their prior assumptions, their experience with similar cases and historical trends such as reserving patterns, loss payments, pending levels of unpaid claims and product mix, as well as court decisions, economic conditions and public attitudes, we believe that our insurance subsidiaries have made adequate provision for their liability for losses and loss expenses.
Previous wording
Atlantic States’ participation in the pool with Donegal Mutual exposes Atlantic States to adverse loss development on the business of Donegal Mutual that the pool includes. However, pooled business represents the predominant percentage of the net underwriting activity of both companies, and Donegal Mutual and Atlantic States share proportionately any adverse risk development relating to the pooled business. The business in the pool is homogeneous and each company has a pro-rata share of the entire pool. Since the predominant percentage of the business of Atlantic States and Donegal Mutual is pooled and the results shared by each company according to its participation level under the terms of the pooling agreement, the intent of the underwriting pool is to produce a more uniform and stable underwriting result from year to year for each company than either would experience individually and to spread the risk of loss between the companies.
Current wording
Atlantic States’ participation in the underwriting pool with Donegal Mutual exposes Atlantic States to adverse loss development on the business that Donegal Mutual contributes to the underwriting pool. However, pooled business represents the predominant percentage of the net underwriting activity of both companies, and Donegal Mutual and Atlantic States share proportionately any adverse risk development relating to the pooled business. The business in the underwriting pool is homogeneous and each company has a pro-rata share of the entire underwriting pool. Since the predominant percentage of the business of Atlantic States and Donegal Mutual is pooled and the results shared by each company according to its participation level under the terms of the pooling agreement, the intent of the underwriting pool is to produce a more uniform and stable underwriting result from year to year for each company than either would experience individually and to spread the risk of loss between the companies.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries base their reserves for unpaid losses and loss expenses on current trends in loss and loss expense development and reflect their best estimates for future amounts needed to pay losses and loss expenses with respect to incurred events currently known to them plus incurred but not reported (“IBNR”) claims. Our insurance subsidiaries develop their reserve estimates based on an assessment of known facts and circumstances, review of historical loss settlement patterns, estimates of trends in claims severity, frequency, legal and regulatory changes and other assumptions. Our insurance subsidiaries consistently apply actuarial loss reserving techniques and assumptions, which rely on historical information as adjusted to reflect current conditions, including consideration of recent case reserve activity. Our insurance subsidiaries use the point estimate their actuaries select. For the year ended December 31, 2023, the actuaries developed a range from a low of $651.1 million to a high of $728.7 million and selected a point estimate of $689.1 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for commercial lines in 2023 was $507.2 million to $565.4 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $535.7 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for personal lines in 2023 was $144.0 million to $163.3 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $153.5 million. For the year ended December 31, 2022, the actuaries developed a range from a low of $621.6 million to a high of $721.6 million and selected a point estimate of $669.9 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for commercial lines in 2022 was $486.4 million to $560.5 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $522.0 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for personal lines in 2022 was $135.2 million to $161.1 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $147.9 million.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries base their reserves for unpaid losses and loss expenses on current trends in loss and loss expense development and reflect their best estimates for future amounts needed to pay losses and loss expenses with respect to incurred events currently known to them plus incurred but not reported (“IBNR”) claims. Our insurance subsidiaries develop their reserve estimates based on an assessment of known facts and circumstances, review of historical loss settlement patterns, estimates of trends in claims severity, frequency, legal and regulatory changes and other assumptions. Our insurance subsidiaries consistently apply actuarial loss reserving techniques and assumptions, which rely on historical information as adjusted to reflect current conditions, including consideration of recent case reserve activity. Our insurance subsidiaries use the point estimate their actuaries select. For the year ended December 31, 2024, the actuaries developed a range from a low of $672.1 million to a high of $740.4 million and selected a point estimate of $704.4 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for commercial lines in 2024 was $533.0 million to $587.5 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $558.2 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for personal lines in 2024 was $139.1 million to $153.0 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $146.2 million. For the year ended December 31, 2023, the actuaries developed a range from a low of $651.1 million to a high of $728.7 million and selected a point estimate of $689.1 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for commercial lines in 2023 was $507.2 million to $565.4 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $535.7 million. The actuaries’ range of estimates for personal lines in 2023 was $144.0 million to $163.3 million, and the actuaries selected a point estimate of $153.5 million.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ net premiums earned increased to $822.5 million for 2022, an increase of $46.5 million, or 6.0%, compared to 2021, primarily reflecting solid premium retention and renewal premium increases. Our insurance subsidiaries earn premiums and recognize them as income over the terms of the policies they issue. Such terms are generally one year or less in duration. Therefore, increases or decreases in net premiums earned generally reflect increases or decreases in net premiums written in the preceding twelve-month period compared to the same period one year earlier.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ net premiums earned increased to $936.7 million for 2024, an increase of $54.6 million, or 6.2%, compared to 2023, primarily reflecting solid premium retention and renewal premium increases. Our insurance subsidiaries earn premiums and recognize them as income over the terms of the policies they issue. Such terms are generally one year or less in duration. Therefore, increases or decreases in net premiums earned generally reflect increases or decreases in net premiums written in the preceding twelve-month period compared to the same period one year earlier.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ 2022 net premiums written increased 4.9% to $843.5 million, compared to $804.3 million for 2021. Commercial lines net premiums written increased $18.0 million, or 3.6%, for 2022 compared to 2021. We attribute the increase in commercial lines net premiums written primarily to modest new business writings, strong premium retention and a continuation of renewal premium increases in lines other than workers’ compensation, offset partially by planned attrition in regions we have targeted for profit improvement. Personal lines net premiums written increased $21.3 million, or 7.0%, for 2022 compared to 2021. We attribute the increase in personal lines net premiums written primarily to renewal premium increases, strong policy retention and new business writings in certain states where we have introduced an updated suite of products.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ 2024 net premiums written increased 5.2% to $942.3 million, compared to $895.7 million for 2023. Commercial lines net premiums written increased $19.5 million, or 3.7%, for 2024 compared to 2023. We attribute the increase in commercial lines net premiums written primarily to strong premium retention and a continuation of renewal premium increases in lines other than workers’ compensation, offset partially by planned attrition in states we exited or classes of business we have targeted for profit improvement. Personal lines net premiums written increased $27.1 million, or 7.4%, for 2024 compared to 2023. We attribute the increase in personal lines net premiums written primarily to renewal premium rate increases and solid policy retention, offset partially by planned attrition due to non-renewal actions and lower new business writings.
Previous wording
For 2022, our net investment income increased 9.3% to $34.0 million, compared to $31.1 million for 2021, due primarily to higher average reinvestment yields and higher average invested assets for 2022 compared to 2021.
Current wording
For 2024, our net investment income increased 10.0% to $44.9 million, compared to $40.9 million for 2023, due primarily to higher average reinvestment yields and higher average invested assets for 2024 compared to 2023.
Previous wording
Our net investment losses for 2022 were $10.2 million. Our net investment gains for 2021 were $6.5 million. The net investment (losses) gains for 2022 and 2021 were primarily related to (decreases) increases in unrealized (losses) gains within our equity securities portfolio. We did not recognize any impairment losses during 2022 or 2021.
Current wording
Our net investment gains for 2024 were $5.0 million, compared to $3.2 million for 2023. The net investment gains for 2024 and 2023 were primarily related to increases in the market value of the equity securities held at the end of the respective periods. We did not recognize any impairment losses during 2024 or 2023.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ loss ratio, which is the ratio of incurred losses and loss expenses to premiums earned, was 68.6% for 2022, compared to 67.1% for 2021. Our insurance subsidiaries’ commercial lines loss ratio decreased to 67.1% for 2022, compared to 68.6% for 2021. This decrease resulted primarily from the commercial automobile loss ratio decreasing to 64.2% for 2022, compared to 75.0% for 2021. The personal lines loss ratio increased to 71.0% for 2022, compared to 64.8% for 2021. The personal automobile loss ratio increased to 72.1% for 2022, compared to 65.6% for 2021, primarily due to an increase in automobile claim severity due to the ongoing impact of supply chain disruption and labor shortages on the costs of repair and replacement vehicles. The homeowners loss ratio increased to 76.1% for 2022, compared to 69.6% for 2021, primarily due to increased average claim severity due to the ongoing impact of supply chain disruption and labor shortages on repair and replacement costs for homes. Our insurance subsidiaries experienced favorable loss reserve development of approximately $44.8 million, or 5.4 percentage points of the loss ratio, during 2022 in their reserves for prior accident years, compared to approximately $31.2 million, or 4.0 percentage points of the loss ratio, during 2021. The favorable loss reserve development in 2022 resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the personal automobile and commercial automobile lines of business for accident years prior to 2022. Weather-related losses of $63.5 million, or 7.7 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2022 increased from $45.3 million, or 5.8 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2021, with the increase primarily impacting the commercial multi-peril line of business. Large fire losses, which we define as individual fire losses in excess of $50,000, were $53.5 million, or 6.5 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2022, compared to $45.6 million, or 5.9 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2021. The increase was related to increased average claim severity of both commercial property and home fires in 2022 compared to 2021, which we attribute in part to inflationary repair cost increases.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ loss ratio, which is the ratio of incurred losses and loss expenses to premiums earned, was 64.5% for 2024, compared to 69.1% for 2023. Our insurance subsidiaries’ commercial lines loss ratio decreased to 62.0% for 2024, compared to 64.8% for 2023. This decrease resulted primarily from the commercial multi-peril loss ratio decreasing to 57.5% for 2024, compared to 73.1% for 2023, primarily due to a decrease in severity of non-weather claims, offset partially by increases in the commercial automobile and workers’ compensation loss ratios due primarily to increases in loss emergence for prior accident years. The commercial automobile loss ratio increased to 68.5% for 2024, compared to 63.0% for 2023. The workers’ compensation loss ratio increased to 67.7% for 2024, compared to 59.0% for 2023. The personal lines loss ratio decreased to 68.0% for 2024, compared to 75.6% for 2023, due primarily to increases in net premiums earned related to premium rate increases. The personal automobile loss ratio decreased to 68.5% for 2024, compared to 78.5% for 2023. The homeowners loss ratio decreased to 66.7% for 2024, compared to 73.6% for 2023. Our insurance subsidiaries experienced favorable loss reserve development of approximately $15.0 million, or 1.6 percentage points of the loss ratio, during 2024 in their reserves for prior accident years, compared to approximately $16.7 million, or 1.9 percentage points of the loss ratio, during 2023. The favorable loss reserve development in 2024 resulted primarily from lower-than-expected loss emergence in the commercial multi-peril, personal automobile and homeowner lines of business, offset partially by higher-than-expected loss emergence in the workers’ compensation and commercial automobile lines of business, for accident years prior to 2024. Weather-related losses of $67.7 million, or 7.2 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2024 increased from $72.9 million, or 8.3 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2023, with the decrease primarily impacting the commercial multi-peril and homeowners lines of business. Large fire losses, which we define as individual fire losses in excess of $50,000, were $45.8 million, or 4.9 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2024, compared to $45.4 million, or 5.2 percentage points of the loss ratio, for 2023.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ expense ratio, which is the ratio of policy acquisition and other underwriting expenses to premiums earned, was 34.1% for 2022, compared to 33.3% for 2021. We attribute the modest increase to higher technology system-related expenses for 2022 compared to 2021, offset somewhat by lower commercial growth incentive costs for our agents and decreased underwriting-based incentive costs for our employees for 2022 compared to 2021. The increase in technology systems-related expenses for 2022 was primarily due to an increased allocation of costs from Donegal Mutual to our insurance subsidiaries following the successful implementation of the second phase of our ongoing systems modernization project in August 2021.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ expense ratio, which is the ratio of policy acquisition and other underwriting expenses to premiums earned, was 33.7% for 2024, compared to 34.7% for 2023. We attribute the decrease to the impacts of various expense reduction initiatives, including agency incentive program revisions, commission schedule adjustments, targeted staffing reductions, and hiring restrictions for open employment positions, among others. These impacts were offset partially by an increase in underwriting-based incentive costs as well as higher technology systems-related expenses that were primarily due to increased costs related to our ongoing systems modernization project, a portion of which Donegal Mutual Insurance Company allocates to our insurance subsidiaries. We expect the impact from allocated costs from Donegal Mutual Insurance Company to our insurance subsidiaries related to the ongoing systems modernization project peaked at approximately 1.3 percentage points of the expense ratio for 2024 and will subside gradually in 2025 and subsequent years.
Previous wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ combined ratio was 103.3% and 101.0% for 2022 and 2021, respectively. The combined ratio represents the sum of the loss ratio, the expense ratio and the dividend ratio, which is the ratio of workers’ compensation policy dividends incurred to premiums earned. We attribute the increase in our combined ratio primarily to the increase in the loss ratio.
Current wording
Our insurance subsidiaries’ combined ratio was 98.6% and 104.4% for 2024 and 2023, respectively. The combined ratio represents the sum of the loss ratio, the expense ratio and the dividend ratio, which is the ratio of workers’ compensation policy dividends incurred to premiums earned. We attribute the decrease in our combined ratio primarily to the decreases in the loss and expense ratios.
Previous wording
Our interest expense for 2022 decreased to $620,558, compared to $895,605 for 2021. We attribute the decrease to lower average borrowings under our lines of credit during 2022 compared to 2021.
Current wording
Our interest expense for 2024 increased to $946,020, compared to $619,813 for 2023. We attribute the increase to higher interest rates on borrowings under our lines of credit during 2024 compared to 2023.
Previous wording
Our income tax benefit was $1.7 million for 2022, compared to income tax expense of $5.1 million for 2021. Our effective tax rate for 2021 was 16.8%.
Current wording
Our income tax expense was $11.5 million for 2024, compared to $637,972 for 2023. Our effective tax rate for 2024 and 2023 was 18.4% and 12.6%, respectively.
Previous wording
Our net loss for 2022 was $2.0 million, or $.06 per share of Class A common stock and $.07 per share of Class B common stock, compared to net income for 2021 of $25.3 million, or $0.83 per share of Class A common stock on a diluted basis and $0.74 per share of Class B common stock. We had 27.1 million and 25.8 million Class A shares outstanding at December 31, 2022 and 2021, respectively. We had 5.6 million Class B shares outstanding for both periods. There are no outstanding securities that dilute our shares of Class B common stock.
Current wording
Our net income for 2024 was $50.9 million, or $1.53 per share of Class A common stock on a diluted basis and $1.38 per share of Class B common stock, compared to $4.4 million, or $0.14 per share of Class A common stock on a diluted basis and $0.11 per share of Class B common stock, for 2023. We had 30.0 million and 27.8 million Class A shares outstanding at December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. We had 5.6 million Class B shares outstanding for both periods. There are no outstanding securities that dilute our shares of Class B common stock.
Previous wording
We have historically generated sufficient net positive cash flow from our operations to fund our commitments and build our investment portfolio, thereby increasing future investment returns. The pooling agreement with Donegal Mutual historically has been cash flow positive because of the profitability of the underwriting pool. Because we settle the pool monthly, our cash flows are substantially similar to the cash flows that would result from the underwriting of direct business. We maintain a high degree of liquidity in our investment portfolio in the form of marketable fixed maturities, equity securities and short-term investments. We structure our fixed-maturity investment portfolio following a “laddering” approach so that projected cash flows from investment income and principal maturities are evenly distributed from a timing perspective. This laddering approach provides an additional measure of liquidity to meet our obligations and the obligations of our insurance subsidiaries should an unexpected variation occur in the future. Net cash flows provided by operating activities in 2023, 2022 and 2021 were $28.6 million, $67.1 million and $76.7 million, respectively. The decrease in net cash flows provided by operating activities for 2023 was primarily related to higher cash outflows for claim payments compared to 2022 and 2021.
Current wording
We have historically generated sufficient net positive cash flow from our operations to fund our commitments and build our investment portfolio, thereby increasing future investment returns. The pooling agreement with Donegal Mutual historically has been cash flow positive because of the profitability of the underwriting pool. Because we settle the pool monthly, our cash flows are substantially similar to the cash flows that would result from the underwriting of direct business. We maintain a high degree of liquidity in our investment portfolio in the form of marketable fixed maturities, equity securities and short-term investments. We structure our fixed-maturity investment portfolio following a “laddering” approach so that projected cash flows from investment income and principal maturities are evenly distributed from a timing perspective. This laddering approach provides an additional measure of liquidity to meet our obligations and the obligations of our insurance subsidiaries should an unexpected variation occur in the future. Net cash flows provided by operating activities in 2024, 2023 and 2022 were $67.4 million, $28.6 million and $67.1 million, respectively.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2023, we had no outstanding borrowings under our line of credit with M&T and had the ability to borrow up to $20.0 million at interest rates equal to the then-current Term SOFR rate plus 2.11%. At December 31, 2023, Atlantic States had a $35.0 million outstanding advance with the FHLB of Pittsburgh that carries a fixed interest rate of 1.74% and is due in August 2024. In March 2020, Atlantic States issued $50.0 million of debt to the FHLB of Pittsburgh in exchange for a cash advance in the same amount for contingent liquidity funding in light of uncertainty surrounding the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. Atlantic States repaid this advance when it became due in March 2021. In September 2021, upon receipt of approval from the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services, MICO repaid in full the $5.0 million surplus note held previously by Donegal Mutual, along with accrued interest of $178,082. We discuss in Note 9 – Borrowings our estimate of the timing of the amounts payable for the borrowings under our lines of credit based on their contractual maturities.
Current wording
At December 31, 2024, we had no outstanding borrowings under our line of credit with M&T and had the ability to borrow up to $20.0 million at interest rates equal to the then-current Term SOFR rate plus 2.11%. At December 31, 2024, Atlantic States had a $35.0 million outstanding advance with the FHLB of Pittsburgh that carries a fixed interest rate of 3.806% and is due in September 2026. We discuss in Note 9 – Borrowings our estimate of the timing of the amounts payable for the borrowings under our lines of credit based on their contractual maturities.
Previous wording
The cash dividends we declared to our stockholders totaled $22.2 million, $20.9 million and $19.6 million in 2023, 2022 and 2021, respectively. There are no regulatory restrictions on our payment of dividends to our stockholders, although there are restrictions under applicable state laws on the payment of dividends from our insurance subsidiaries to us. Our insurance subsidiaries are required by law to maintain certain minimum surplus on a statutory basis and are subject to regulations under which their payment of dividends from statutory surplus is restricted and may require prior approval of their domiciliary insurance regulatory authorities. Our insurance subsidiaries are also subject to risk-based capital (“RBC”) requirements. The amount of statutory capital and surplus necessary for our insurance subsidiaries to satisfy regulatory requirements, including the RBC requirements, was not significant in relation to our insurance subsidiaries’ statutory capital and surplus at December 31, 2023. Amounts available for distribution to us as dividends from our insurance subsidiaries without prior approval of insurance regulatory authorities in 2024 are approximately $27.4 million from Atlantic States, $7.2 million from MICO and $5.0 million from Peninsula, or a total of approximately $39.6 million.
Current wording
The cash dividends we declared to our stockholders totaled $23.2 million, $22.2 million and $20.9 million in 2024, 2023 and 2022, respectively. There are no regulatory restrictions on our payment of dividends to our stockholders, although there are restrictions under applicable state laws on the payment of dividends from our insurance subsidiaries to us, which is a significant source of cash for payment of stockholder dividends by us. Our insurance subsidiaries are required by law to maintain certain minimum surplus on a statutory basis and are subject to regulations under which their payment of dividends from statutory surplus is restricted and may require prior approval of their domiciliary insurance regulatory authorities. Our insurance subsidiaries are also subject to risk-based capital (“RBC”) requirements. The amount of statutory capital and surplus necessary for our insurance subsidiaries to satisfy regulatory requirements, including the RBC requirements, was not significant in relation to our insurance subsidiaries’ statutory capital and surplus at December 31, 2024. Amounts available for distribution to us as dividends from our insurance subsidiaries without prior approval of insurance regulatory authorities in 2025 are approximately $40.7 million from Atlantic States, $7.8 million from MICO and $4.7 million from Peninsula, or a total of approximately $53.3 million.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2023 and 2022, our investment portfolio of primarily investment-grade bonds, common stock, short-term investments and cash totaled $1.3 billion, representing 58.6% and 58.2%, respectively, of our total assets. See “Business - Investments” for more information.
Current wording
At December 31, 2024 and 2023, our investment portfolio of primarily investment-grade bonds, common stock, short-term investments and cash totaled $1.4 billion and $1.3 billion, respectively, representing 61.6% and 58.6%, respectively, of our total assets. See “Business - Investments” for more information.
Previous wording
The carrying value of our fixed maturity investments represented 95.6% and 92.9% of our total invested assets at December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Current wording
The carrying value of our fixed maturity investments represented 95.6% of our total invested assets at December 31, 2024 and 2023.
Previous wording
Our fixed maturity investments consisted of high-quality marketable bonds, of which 95.2% were rated at investment-grade levels at December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Current wording
Our fixed maturity investments consisted of high-quality marketable bonds, of which 95.6% and 95.2% were rated at investment-grade levels at December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2023, the net unrealized loss on our available-for-sale fixed maturity investments, net of deferred taxes, amounted to $31.9 million, compared to a net unrealized loss of $38.0 million at December 31, 2022.
Current wording
At December 31, 2024, the net unrealized loss on our available-for-sale fixed maturity investments, net of deferred taxes, amounted to $27.4 million, compared to $31.9 million at December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
In September 2016, the FASB issued guidance that amended previous guidance on the impairment of financial instruments by adding an impairment model that requires an entity to recognize expected credit losses as an allowance rather than impairments as credit losses are incurred. The intent of this guidance is to reduce complexity and result in a more timely recognition of expected credit losses. In November 2019, the FASB issued guidance that delayed the effective date for “smaller reporting companies,” as defined in Item 10(f)(1) of Regulation S-K, to annual and interim reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2022 from December 15, 2019. We were a smaller reporting company at the time this guidance was issued, and our adoption of this guidance on January 1, 2023 resulted in an after-tax decrease in retained earnings of $1.9 million. The adoption of this guidance did not have a significant impact on our results of operations or cash flows.
Current wording
In September 2016, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (the “FASB”) issued guidance that amended previous guidance on the impairment of financial instruments by adding an impairment model that requires an entity to recognize expected credit losses as an allowance rather than impairments as credit losses are incurred. The intent of this guidance is to reduce complexity and result in a more timely recognition of expected credit losses. In November 2019, the FASB issued guidance that delayed the effective date for “smaller reporting companies,” as defined in Item 10(f)(1) of Regulation S-K, to annual and interim reporting periods beginning after December 15, 2022 from December 15, 2019. We were a smaller reporting company at the time this guidance was issued, and our adoption of this guidance on January 1, 2023 resulted in an after-tax decrease in retained earnings of $1.9 million. The adoption of this guidance did not have a significant impact on our results of operations or cash flows.
Rearranged current paragraphs (3)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
The following table provides a reconciliation of our net premiums earned to our net premiums written for 2024:
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
The following table provides a reconciliation of our net premiums earned to our net premiums written for 2023:
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
The following table provides a reconciliation of our net premiums earned to our net premiums written for 2022:
Rearranged previous paragraphs (1)
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
The following table provides a reconciliation of our net premiums earned to our net premiums written for 2023, 2022 and 2021: