U-Haul Holding Co NV
For the period ended Mar 31, 2025. Filed May 29, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2025 · Filed May 29, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-03-31; filed 2024-05-30.
0000950170-24-066736
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-03-31; filed 2025-05-29.
0000950170-25-078451
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 205 previous paragraphs and 202 current paragraphs.
110 unchanged; 61 reworded; 30 added; 32 removed; 2 previous and 1 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 22 previous and 22 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (30)
Current report
Property and Casualty Insurance Segment
Current report
Life Insurance Segment
Current report
Self-moving equipment rental revenues increased $100.8 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. In-Town transactions improved, while revenue per transaction increased for both our In-Town and one-way markets. Average miles driven per transaction decreased for one-way moves. Compared to the same period last year, we increased the number of Company-operated retail locations and independent dealers, as well as the number of box trucks in the rental fleet. Conversely, over this same time period we have reduced the number of pickup trucks in the rental fleet.
Current report
Sales of self-moving and self-storage products and services decreased $8.3 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. Approximately $15.7 million of the decrease was related to the exercise of an option by Mercury in February 2024 to purchase 78 U-Haul branded self-storage locations from W.P. Carey resulting in locations formerly leased by U-Haul now being treated as managed properties. From an operational standpoint, our customers will not recognize any changes to the services they receive from these locations (described in Note 20 - Related Party Transactions - Related Party Revenues). Excluding the effects of this ownership change, moving supplies, propane and hitch sales from U-Haul owned and operated locations increased.
Current report
Property management fees decreased $0.2 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024, primarily due to a $3.8 million decrease in management incentive fees related to the above mentioned Mercury transaction, partially offset by an increase in base management fees of $3.6 million.
Current report
Other interest income at Moving and Storage decreased $61.0 million due to reduced invested cash balances and lower interest yields compared to fiscal 2024.
Current report
Self-moving equipment rental revenues increased $100.1 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. In-Town transactions improved, while revenue per transaction increased for both our In-Town and one-way markets. Average miles driven per transaction decreased for one-way moves. Compared to the same period last year, we increased the number of Company-operated retail locations and independent dealers, as well as the number of box trucks in the rental fleet. Conversely, over this same time period we have reduced the number of pickup trucks in the rental fleet.
Current report
Sales of self-moving and self-storage products and services decreased $8.3 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. Approximately $15.7 million of the decrease was related to the exercise of an option by Mercury in February 2024 to purchase 78 U-Haul branded self-storage locations from W.P. Carey resulting in locations formerly leased by U-Haul now being treated as managed properties. From an operational standpoint, our customers will not recognize any changes to the services they receive from these locations (described in Note 20 - Related Party Transactions - Related Party Revenues). Excluding the effects of this ownership change, moving supplies, propane and hitch sales from U-Haul owned and operated locations increased.
Current report
Property management fees decreased $0.2 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024, primarily due to a $3.8 million decrease in management incentive fees related to the above mentioned Mercury transaction, partially offset by an increase in base management fees of $3.6 million.
Current report
Benefits and losses expenses were $22.3 million and $11.9 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. The main driver of the change was a decrease in the amount of favorable development in the current year as compared with the amount of favorable development in the prior year.
Current report
Operating expenses were $26.3 million and $19.6 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. The increase was due to the salary and wage expenses, receivable write-off and audit fees.
Current report
Cash Flows by Segments
Current report
Consolidating Schedules by Segment
Current report
Consolidating balance sheets by segment as of March 31, 2025 are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating balance sheets by segment as of March 31, 2025 are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating balance sheets by segment as of March 31, 2024 are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating balance sheets by segment as of March 31, 2024 are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating statements of operations by segment for year ending March 31, 2025 are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating statements of operations by segment for year ending March 31, 2024 are as follows:
Current report
Eliminate intercompany premiums
Current report
Eliminate equity in earnings of subsidiaries
Current report
Consolidating statements of operations by segment for year ending March 31, 2023 are as follows:
Current report
Eliminate intercompany premiums
Current report
Eliminate equity in earnings of subsidiaries
Current report
Consolidating cash flow statements by segment for the year ended March 31, 2025, are as follows:
Current report
Continuation of consolidating cash flow statements by segment for the year ended March 31, 2025, are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating cash flow statements by segment for the year ended March 31, 2024, are as follows:
Current report
Continuation of consolidating cash flow statements by segment for the year ended March 31, 2024, are as follows:
Current report
Consolidating cash flow statements by segment for the year ended March 31, 2023 are as follows:
Current report
Continuation of consolidating cash flow statements by segment for the year ended March 31, 2023 are as follows:
Removed paragraphs (32)
Previous report
Property and Casualty Insurance, comprised of Repwest and its subsidiaries and ARCOA; and
Previous report
Property and Casualty Insurance Operating Segment
Previous report
Life Insurance Operating Segment
Previous report
Life Insurance provides life and health insurance products primarily to the senior market through the direct writing and reinsuring of life insurance, Medicare supplement and annuity policies.
Previous report
Self-moving equipment rental revenues decreased $253.2 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. Transactions, revenue and average miles driven per transaction decreased with the rate of decline lessening throughout the year. These declines were more pronounced in our one-way markets. Compared to the end of last year, we decreased the number of trucks in the fleet while increasing the number of trailers and retail locations.
Previous report
Sales of self-moving and self-storage products and services decreased $21.5 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023, primarily due to decreased sales of hitches, moving supplies and propane. The decrease in self-moving transactions has negatively impacted the sales of moving supplies.
Previous report
Self-moving equipment rental revenues decreased $253.4 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. Transactions, revenue and average miles driven per transaction decreased with the rate of decline lessening throughout the year. These declines were more pronounced in our one-way markets. Compared to the end of last year, we decreased the number of trucks in the fleet while increasing the number of trailers and retail locations.
Previous report
Sales of self-moving and self-storage products and services decreased $21.5 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023, primarily due to decreased sales of hitches, moving supplies and propane. The decrease in self-moving transactions has negatively impacted the sales of moving supplies
Previous report
Net investment and interest income decreased $70.9 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023 decreased as the interest income has been classified as Other interest income in fiscal 2024.
Previous report
Benefits and losses expenses were $11.9 million and $21.5 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. Benefits and losses incurred decreased due to a reduction in reserves caused by favorable development in Repwest’s run-off book of business.
Previous report
Operating expenses were $19.6 million and $21.1 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Previous report
Cash Flows by Operating Segments
Previous report
ASC 740 -Income Taxes liabilities and interest of $94.6 million is not included above due to uncertainty surrounding ultimate settlements, if any.
Previous report
Consolidating Schedules by Operating and Reporting Segment
Previous report
Consolidating balance sheets by industry segment as of March 31, 2024 are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating balance sheets by industry segment as of March 31, 2024 are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating balance sheets by industry segment as of March 31, 2023 are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating balance sheets by industry segment as of March 31, 2023 are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating statements of operations by industry segment for year ending March 31, 2024 are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating statements of operations by industry segment for year ending March 31, 2023 are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating statements of operations by industry segment for year ending March 31, 2022 are as follows:
Previous report
Eliminate intercompany lease/interest income
Previous report
(c)
Previous report
(d)
Previous report
Consolidating cash flow statements by industry segment for the year ended March 31, 2024, are as follows:
Previous report
Continuation of consolidating cash flow statements by industry segment for the year ended March 31, 2024, are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating cash flow statements by industry segment for the year ended March 31, 2023, are as follows:
Previous report
(b)
Previous report
Continuation of consolidating cash flow statements by industry segment for the year ended March 31, 2023, are as follows:
Previous report
Consolidating cash flow statements by industry segment for the year ended March 31, 2022 are as follows:
Previous report
Continuation of consolidating cash flow statements by industry segment for the year ended March 31, 2022 are as follows:
Reworded paragraphs (61)
Previous wording
U-Haul Holding Company’s three operating and reportable segments are:
Current wording
U-Haul Holding Company’s three operating and reportable segments are Moving and Storage, Property and Casualty Insurance, and Life Insurance.
Previous wording
See Note 1, Basis of Presentation, Note 21,Reportable Segment Information, and Note 22, Financial Information by Geographic Area, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in Item 8: Consolidated Financial Statements and Supplementary Data, of this Annual Report.
Current wording
See Note 1, Basis of Presentation, Note 21, Reportable Segment Information, and Note 22, Financial Information by Geographic Area, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Previous wording
Moving and Storage consists of the rental of trucks, trailers, portable moving and storage units, specialty rental items and self-storage spaces primarily to the household mover as well as sales of moving supplies, towing accessories and propane. Operations are conducted under the registered trade name U-Haul® throughout the United States and Canada.
Current wording
Moving and Storage operations consist of the rental of trucks and trailers, sales of moving supplies, sales of towing accessories, sales of propane, and the rental of fixed and portable moving and storage units to the “do-it-yourself” mover and management of self-storage properties owned by others. Operations are conducted under the registered trade name U-Haul throughout the United States and Canada.
Previous wording
Property and Casualty Insurance provides loss adjusting and claims handling for U-Haul through regional offices in the United States and Canada. Property and Casualty Insurance also underwrites components of the Safemove®, Safetow®, Safemove Plus®, Safestor® and Safestor Mobile® protection packages to U-Haul® customers. We continue to focus on increasing the penetration of these products into the moving and storage market. The business plan for Property and Casualty Insurance includes offering property and casualty products in other U-Haul® related programs.
Current wording
Property and Casualty Insurance provides loss adjusting and claims handling for U-Haul through regional offices in the United States and Canada. Property and Casualty Insurance also underwrites components of the Safemove, Safetow, Safemove Plus, Safestor and Safehaul protection packages to U-Haul customers. We continue to focus on increasing the penetration of these products into the moving and storage market. The business plan for Property and Casualty Insurance includes offering property and casualty products in other U-Haul related programs.
Previous wording
On September 9, 2022, we announced that the Company was made aware of a data security incident involving U-Haul's information technology network. U-Haul detected a compromise of two unique passwords used to access U-Haul customers' information. U-Haul took immediate steps to contain the incident and promptly enhanced its security measures to prevent any further unauthorized access. U-Haul retained cybersecurity experts and incident response counsel to investigate the incident and implement additional security safeguards. The investigation determined that between November 5, 2021 and April 8, 2022, the threat actor accessed customer contracts containing customers’ names, dates of birth, and driver’s license or state identification numbers. None of U-Haul’s financial, payment processing or email systems were involved. U-Haul has notified impacted customers and relevant governmental authorities.
Current wording
On September 9, 2022, we announced that the Company was made aware of a data security incident involving U-Haul's information technology network. U-Haul detected two unique passwords were compromised and used to access U-Haul customers' information. U-Haul took immediate steps to contain the incident and promptly enhanced its security measures to prevent any further unauthorized access. U-Haul retained cybersecurity experts and incident response counsel to investigate the incident and implement additional security safeguards. The investigation determined that between November 5, 2021 and April 8, 2022, the threat actor accessed customer contracts containing customers’ names, dates of birth, and driver’s license or state identification numbers. None of U-Haul’s financial, payment processing or email systems were involved. U-Haul has notified impacted customers and relevant governmental authorities.
Previous wording
Several class action lawsuits related to the incident have been filed against U-Haul. The lawsuits have been consolidated into one action in the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona (the "Court"). On October 27, 2023, the Court dismissed with prejudice all claims except those brought under the California Consumer Privacy Act. The remaining claims will be vigorously defended by the Company; however, the outcome of such lawsuits cannot be predicted or guaranteed with any certainty. The parties are currently working on a settlement agreement, which will then go through the approval process by the Court.
Current wording
Several class action lawsuits related to the incident were filed against U-Haul, which were consolidated into one action in the U.S. District Court for the District of Arizona (the "Court"). On October 27, 2023, the Court dismissed with prejudice all claims, except those brought under the California Consumer Privacy Act. The parties settled all remaining claims for $5.1 million pursuant to a settlement agreement approved by order of the Court on October 25, 2024. The full amount of $5.1 million is covered by insurance and has been paid by the insurer into trust for disbursement in accordance with the terms of the settlement agreement.
Previous wording
Our consolidated financial statements have been prepared in accordance with the generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) in the United States. The methods, estimates and judgments we use in applying our accounting policies can have a significant impact on the results we report in our consolidated financial statements. Note 3, Accounting Policies, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements in Item 8: Consolidated Financial Statements and Supplementary Data, of this Annual Report summarizes the significant accounting policies and methods used in the preparation of our consolidated financial statements and related disclosures. Certain accounting policies require us to make difficult and subjective judgments and assumptions, often as a result of the need to estimate matters that are inherently uncertain.
Current wording
Our consolidated financial statements have been prepared in accordance with the generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) in the United States. The methods, estimates and judgments we use in applying our accounting policies can have a significant impact on the results we report in our consolidated financial statements. Note 3, Accounting Policies, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements summarizes the significant accounting policies and methods used in the preparation of our consolidated financial statements and related disclosures. Certain accounting policies require us to make difficult and subjective judgments and assumptions, often as a result of the need to estimate matters that are inherently uncertain.
Previous wording
We have reserved each claim based upon the accumulation of current claim costs projected through each claimant’s life expectancy and then adjusted for applicable reinsurance arrangements. Management reviews each claim bi-annually, or more frequently if there are changes in facts or circumstances, to determine if the estimated life time claim costs have increased and then adjusts the reserve estimate accordingly at that time. We have factored in an estimate of what the potential cost increases could be in our liability related to claims incurred but not reported ("IBNR"). We have not assumed settlement of the existing claims in calculating the reserve amount unless it is in the final stages of completion.
Current wording
We have reserved each claim based upon the accumulation of current claim costs projected through each claimant’s life expectancy and then adjusted for applicable reinsurance arrangements. Management reviews each claim bi-annually, or more frequently if there are changes in facts or circumstances, to determine if the estimated lifetime claim costs have increased and then adjusts the reserve estimate accordingly at that time. We have factored in an estimate of what the potential cost increases could be in our liability related to claims incurred but not reported ("IBNR"). We have not assumed settlement of the existing claims in calculating the reserve amount unless it is in the final stages of completion.
Previous wording
There was a $1.0 million and $2.0 million net impairment charge recorded in fixed maturity securities for fiscal 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
There was a $2.1 million and ($1.0) million net impairment charge recorded in fixed maturity securities for fiscal 2025 and 2024, respectively.
Previous wording
We file a consolidated tax return with all of our legal subsidiaries.
Current wording
We file a consolidated tax return with all of our legal U.S. subsidiaries. There is a separate tax return filing for U-Haul's Canadian subsidiary.
Previous wording
Please see Note 15, Provision for Taxes, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in Item 8: Consolidated Financial Statements and Supplementary Data, of this Annual Report for more information.
Current wording
Please see Note 15, Provision for Taxes, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Previous wording
Please see Note 3, Accounting Policies, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in Item 8: Consolidated Financial Statements and Supplementary Data, of this Annual Report for more information.
Current wording
Please see Note 3, Accounting Policies, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Previous wording
Self-storage revenues increased $86.6 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. The average monthly number of occupied units increased by 7%, or 36,100 units during fiscal 2024 compared with the same period last year. The growth in revenues and square feet rented comes from a combination of occupancy gains, the addition of new capacity to the portfolio and a 2.9% improvement in average revenue per occupied square foot. The occupancy gains and revenue per square foot improvements slowed over the course of the fiscal year. During fiscal 2024, we added approximately 5.5 million net rentable square feet.
Current wording
Self-storage revenues increased $66.8 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. The average monthly number of occupied units increased by 6.2%, or 35,441 units during fiscal 2025 compared with the same period last year. The growth in revenues and square feet rented comes from a combination of occupancy gains, the addition of new capacity to the portfolio and a 1.5% improvement in average revenue per occupied square foot. The occupancy gains and revenue per square foot improvements slowed over the course of the fiscal year. During fiscal 2025, we added approximately 6.5 million net rentable square feet.
Previous wording
Life insurance premiums decreased $9.4 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023 primarily due to decreased sales of single premium life products and policy decrements in Medicare supplement.
Current wording
Life insurance premiums decreased $6.0 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024 primarily due to decreased sales of single premium life products and policy decrements in Medicare supplement.
Previous wording
Property and casualty insurance premiums increased $1.6 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. A significant portion of Repwest’s premiums are from policies sold in conjunction with U-Haul moving and storage transactions and generally correspond to the related activity at U-Haul during the same period.
Current wording
Property and casualty insurance premiums increased $4.1 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. A significant portion of Repwest’s premiums are from policies sold in conjunction with U-Haul moving and storage transactions and generally correspond to the related activity at U-Haul during the same period.
Previous wording
Net investment and interest income decreased $30.2 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. Changes in the market value of unaffiliated common stocks held at our Property and Casualty Insurance subsidiary accounted for $17.9 million of the increase. Our Life Insurance subsidiaries investment income increased $22.3 million primarily from gains on derivatives used as hedges to fixed indexed annuities. The Moving and Storage segment decreased as the interest income has been classified as Other interest income in fiscal 2024.
Current wording
Net investment and interest income increased $5.5 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. At our Property and Casualty insurance subsidiaries, investment income decreased $1.9 million due to changes in the market value of common stocks investments offset by realized gains on the sale of common stock. Our Life insurance subsidiaries investment income increased $8.0 million primarily from gains on derivatives used as hedges to fixed index annuities.
Previous wording
Other revenue decreased $12.8 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023, caused primarily by decreases in our U-Box® program.
Current wording
Other revenue increased $40.3 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024, caused primarily by increases in our U-Box program.
Previous wording
Total costs and expenses increased $228.8 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. Operating expenses for Moving and Storage increased $99.7 million. Repair expenses associated with the rental fleet experienced a $33.0 million increase during fiscal year 2024 due to higher cost of preventative maintenance along with the costs associated with selling more retired trucks. Personnel related costs increased $50.3 million along with increases in liability costs, property taxes and building maintenance.
Current wording
Total costs and expenses increased $464.6 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. Operating expenses for Moving and Storage increased $142.0 million. Repair expenses associated with the rental fleet experienced a $43.1 million decrease during the fiscal year while increases in personnel, liability costs, property taxes, utilities and building maintenance accounted for the remainder of the increase. Approximately $16.5 million of the operating expense increase was due to non-recurring costs associated with our transition to a new box supplier that we recognized in the second quarter of fiscal 2025.
Previous wording
Depreciation expense associated with our rental fleet increased $44.0 million for fiscal 2024 compared with fiscal 2023, due to an increase in the pace of new additions to the fleet combined with their higher cost. Net gains from the disposal of rental equipment decreased $91.8 million as resale values have decreased and the average cost of units being sold has increased. Depreciation expense on all other assets, largely from buildings and improvements, increased $40.0 million. Net losses on the disposal or retirement of land and buildings increased $2.3 million. Additional details are available in the following Moving and Storage section.
Current wording
Depreciation expense associated with our rental fleet increased $128.1 million for fiscal 2025 compared with fiscal 2024 due to an increase in the pace of new additions to the fleet combined with their higher cost. Net gains from the disposal of rental equipment decreased $140.2 million as resale values have decreased and the average cost of units being sold has increased. We increased the number of retired trucks sold compared to the same period last year. Depreciation expense on all other assets, largely from buildings and improvements, increased $25.9 million. Net losses on the disposal or retirement of land and buildings increased $7.8 million. Additional details are available in the following Moving and Storage section.
Previous wording
As a result of the above-mentioned changes in revenues and expenses, earnings from operations decreased $467.8 million to $977.8 million for fiscal 2024, compared with $1,445.6 million for fiscal 2023.
Current wording
As a result of the above-mentioned changes in revenues and expenses, earnings from operations decreased $261.6 million to $716.2 million for fiscal 2025, compared with $977.8 million for fiscal 2024.
Previous wording
Interest expense for fiscal 2024 was $256.2 million, compared with $224.0 million for fiscal 2023 due to an increase in our average cost of debt.
Current wording
Interest expense for fiscal 2025 was $295.7 million, compared with $256.2 million for fiscal 2024 due to an increase in our average amount of debt outstanding combined with a higher incremental cost of new debt.
Previous wording
Income tax expense was $211.5 million for fiscal 2024, compared with $294.9 million for fiscal 2023. See Note 14, Provision for Taxes, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements included in Item 8: Consolidated Financial Statements and Supplementary Data, of this Annual Report for more information on income taxes.
Current wording
Income tax expense was $110.4 million for fiscal 2025, compared with $211.5 million for fiscal 2024. See Note 15, Provision for Taxes, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements for more information on income taxes.
Previous wording
As a result of the above-mentioned items, earnings available to common stockholders were $628.7 million for fiscal 2024, compared with $924.5 million for fiscal 2023.
Current wording
As a result of the above-mentioned items, earnings available to common stockholders were $367.1 million for fiscal 2025, compared with $628.7 million for fiscal 2024.
Previous wording
Self-storage revenues increased $86.6 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. The average monthly number of occupied units increased by 7%, or 36,100 units during fiscal 2024 compared with the same period last year. The growth in revenues and square feet rented comes from a combination of occupancy gains, the addition of new capacity to the portfolio and a 2.9% improvement in average revenue per occupied square foot. The occupancy gains and revenue per square foot improvements slowed over the course of the fiscal year. During fiscal 2024, we added approximately 5.5 million net rentable square feet.
Current wording
Self-storage revenues increased $66.8 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. The average monthly number of occupied units increased by 6.2%, or 35,441 units during fiscal 2025 compared with the same period last year. The growth in revenues and square feet rented comes from a combination of occupancy gains, the addition of new capacity to the portfolio and a 1.5% improvement in average revenue per occupied square foot. The occupancy gains and revenue per square foot improvements slowed over the course of the fiscal year. During fiscal 2025, we added approximately 6.5 million net rentable square feet.
Previous wording
During fiscal 2024, we added approximately 5.5 million net rentable square feet of new storage. This was a mix of approximately 1.2 million square feet of existing self-storage acquired along with 4.3 million square feet of new development.
Current wording
During fiscal 2025, we added approximately 6.5 million net rentable square feet of new storage. This was a mix of approximately 1.8 million square feet of existing self-storage acquired along with 4.7 million square feet of new development.
Previous wording
Other revenue decreased $13.4 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023, caused primarily by decreases in our U-Box® program.
Current wording
Other revenue increased $39.4 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024, caused primarily by increases in our U-Box program.
Previous wording
Total costs and expenses increased $227.2 million during fiscal 2024, compared with fiscal 2023. Operating expenses increased $99.7 million. Repair expenses associated with the rental fleet experienced a $33.0 million increase during fiscal year 2024 due to higher cost of preventative maintenance along with the costs associated with selling more retired trucks. Personnel related costs increased $50.3 million along with increases in liability costs, property taxes and building maintenance.
Current wording
Total costs and expenses increased $448.2 million during fiscal 2025, compared with fiscal 2024. Operating expenses increased $142.0 million. Repair expenses associated with the rental fleet experienced a $43.1 million decrease during the fiscal year while increases in personnel, liability costs, property taxes, utilities and building maintenance accounted for the remainder of the increase. Approximately $16.5 million of the operating expense increase was due to non-recurring costs associated with our transition to a new box supplier that we recognized in the second quarter of fiscal 2025.
Previous wording
Depreciation expense associated with our rental fleet increased $44.0 million for fiscal 2024 compared with fiscal 2023 due to an increase in the pace of new additions to the fleet combined with their higher cost. Net gains from the disposal of rental equipment decreased $91.8 million as resale values have decreased and the average cost of units being sold has increased. Depreciation expense on all other assets, largely from buildings and improvements, increased $40.0 million. Net losses on the disposal or retirement of land and buildings increased $2.3 million. Additional details are available in the following Moving and Storage section.
Current wording
Depreciation expense associated with our rental fleet increased $128.1 million for fiscal 2025 compared with fiscal 2024, due to an increase in the pace of new additions to the fleet combined with their higher cost. Net gains from the disposal of rental equipment decreased $140.2 million as resale values have decreased and the average cost of units being sold has increased. Depreciation expense on all other assets, largely from buildings and improvements, increased $25.9 million. Net losses on the disposal or retirement of land and buildings increased $7.8 million.
Previous wording
Net premiums were $97.9 million and $96.2 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. A significant portion of Repwest’s premiums are from policies sold in conjunction with U-Haul moving and storage transactions and generally correspond to the related activity at U-Haul during the same period.
Current wording
Net premiums were $102.0 million and $97.9 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. A significant portion of Repwest’s premiums are from policies sold in conjunction with U-Haul moving and storage transactions and generally correspond to the related activity at U-Haul during the same period.
Previous wording
Net investment and interest income were $25.2 million and $7.3 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. The main driver of the change in net investment income was the increase in valuation of unaffiliated common stock.
Current wording
Net investment and interest income were $23.2 million and $25.2 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. The main driver of the change in net investment income was the decrease in valuation of unaffiliated common stocks offset by an increase in realized investment gain from the sale of common stock.
Previous wording
Operating expenses were $48.3 million and $45.0 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. The change was primarily due to an increase in commissions, wages and other administrative expenses.
Current wording
Operating expenses were $47.7 million and $48.3 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. The change was primarily due to a decrease in commissions in select geographies.
Previous wording
As a result of the above-mentioned changes in revenues and expenses, pretax earnings from operations were $62.5 million and $36.6 million for the twelve months ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Current wording
As a result of the above-mentioned changes in revenues and expenses, pretax earnings from operations were $54.7 million and $62.5 million for the twelve months ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
Net premiums were $89.7 million and $99.1 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. Medicare Supplement premiums decreased due to the advanced age of the block. Life premiums decreased primarily from the decrease in sales of single premium life and final expense. Deferred annuity deposits were $352.6 million or $26.1 million above prior year and are accounted for on the balance sheet as deposits rather than premiums.
Current wording
Net premiums were $83.7 million and $89.7 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. Medicare Supplement premiums decreased $3.6 million due to the advanced age of the block. Life premiums decreased $2.8 million primarily from the decrease in sales of single premium life and final expense. Deferred annuity deposits were $455.9 million or $103.3 million above prior year and are accounted for on the balance sheet as deposits rather than premiums.
Previous wording
Net investment income was $124.7 million and $102.4 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. Realized gains on derivatives used as hedges to fixed indexed annuities was $15.3 million this year compared to a $12.6 million realized loss for the prior year. The change in the provision for expected credit losses resulted in a $2.8 million additional increase to the investment income this year compared to a $2.9 million decrease last year. Net interest income and realized gain on the invested assets increased $3.0 million.
Current wording
Net investment income was $132.7 million and $124.7 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. Realized gains on derivatives used as hedges to fixed indexed annuities were $2.0 million current year to date. The change in the provision for expected credit losses resulted in a current year to date $2.3 million additional increase to the investment income. Net interest income and realized gain on the invested assets increased $5.2 million.
Previous wording
Benefits and losses incurred were $155.2 million and $142.5 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively. Interest credited to policyholders increased $18.7 million due to an increase in the interest credited rates on equity - indexed annuities due to rising equity markets. Life benefits decreased $3.3 million due to fewer death claims and lower sales. Medicare supplement benefits decreased by $4.0 million from fewer policies in force.
Current wording
Benefits and losses incurred were $160.4 million and $155.2 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. Interest credited to policyholders increased $13.5 million due to the rolling of the block into a higher interest rate environment. Life benefits decreased $3.5 million due to fewer death claims and lower sales. Medicare supplement benefits decreased by $2.2 million from fewer policies in force.
Previous wording
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs, sales inducement asset and the value of business acquired was $24.2 million and $27.9 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Current wording
Amortization of deferred acquisition costs, sales inducement asset and the value of business acquired was $18.3 million and $24.2 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. The decrease in amortization was driven by experience updates to assumptions impacting the expected term of the underlying contracts.
Previous wording
As a result of the above-mentioned changes in revenues and expenses, pretax earnings from operations were $19.7 million and $13.9 million for the years ended December 31, 2023 and 2022, respectively.
Current wording
As a result of the above-mentioned changes in revenues and expenses, pretax earnings from operations were $16.2 million and $19.7 million for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
As of March 31, 2024, cash and cash equivalents totaled $1,534.5 million, compared with $2,060.5 million as of March 31, 2023. The assets of our insurance subsidiaries are generally unavailable to fulfill the obligations of non-insurance operations (U-Haul Holding Company, U-Haul and Real Estate). As of March 31, 2024 (or as otherwise indicated), cash and cash equivalents, other financial assets (receivables, other investments, fixed maturities, equity securities and related party assets) and debt obligations of each operating segment were:
Current wording
As of March 31, 2025, cash and cash equivalents totaled $988.8 million, compared with $1,534.5 million as of March 31, 2024. The assets of our insurance subsidiaries are generally unavailable to fulfill the obligations of non-insurance operations (U-Haul Holding Company, U-Haul and Real Estate). As of March 31, 2025 (or as otherwise indicated), cash and cash equivalents, other financial assets (receivables, other investments, fixed maturities, equity securities and related party assets) and debt obligations of each operating segment were:
Previous wording
(b) Excludes ($32,676) of debt issuance costs
Current wording
(b) Excludes ($35,484) of debt issuance costs
Previous wording
As of March 31, 2024, Moving and Storage had available borrowing capacity under existing credit facilities of $506.1 million. The majority of invested cash at the Moving and Storage segment is held in government money market funds. Our current forecasted debt payments for fiscal 2025 on all borrowings are $535.0 million. For detailed information regarding our debt obligations, please see Note 10, Notes, Loans and Finance Leases Payable, net, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Current wording
As of March 31, 2025, Moving and Storage had available borrowing capacity under existing credit facilities of $475.0 million. The majority of invested cash at the Moving and Storage segment is held in government money market funds. Our current forecasted debt payments for fiscal 2026 on all borrowings are $649.6 million. For detailed information regarding our debt obligations, please see Note 10, Notes, Loans and Finance Leases Payable, net, of the Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements.
Showing the first 40 of 61 pairs. Open the source sections for the rest.
Rearranged current paragraphs (1)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
(b) Eliminate purchase and sale of real estate
Rearranged previous paragraphs (2)
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
Moving and Storage, comprised of U-Haul Holding Company, U-Haul, and Real Estate and the subsidiaries of U-Haul and Real Estate;
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
Balances for the year ended December 31, 2021