J.Jill, Inc.
For the period ended Feb 1, 2025. Filed Apr 1, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2025 · Filed Apr 1, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-02-03; filed 2024-04-04.
0000950170-24-041871
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-02-01; filed 2025-04-01.
0000950170-25-048494
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 125 previous paragraphs and 146 current paragraphs.
73 unchanged; 37 reworded; 35 added; 13 removed; 2 previous and 1 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 4 previous and 4 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (35)
Current report
All references in this Annual Report to "J.Jill", "we", "our", "us", "the Company" or similar terms are to J.Jill, Inc. and its subsidiaries.
Current report
With the exception of store selling expenses, certain marketing expenses and incentive compensation, SG&A expenses generally do not vary proportionately with net sales. As a result, SG&A expenses as a percentage of net sales are usually higher in lower-volume periods and lower in higher-volume periods.
Current report
Represents amortization of capitalized implementation costs related to cloud-based software arrangements that are included within Selling, general and administrative expenses. Adjusted EBITDA for fiscal year ended February 3, 2024 has been restated to include such adjustments to Net income, and no adjustment was made for fiscal year ended January 28, 2023 as the amount was immaterial.
Current report
Represents loss on the prepayment of a portion of the term loan (the “Term Loan Credit Agreement” and, such facility, the “Term Loan Facility”).
Current report
(h)
Current report
Represents loss on write-off of property and equipment and inventory at one store location due to hurricane and insurance recovery received to date.
Current report
(i)
Current report
Represents items management believes are not indicative of ongoing operating performance, including non-ordinary course professional fees, non-employee share-based payments, and legal settlements and fees.
Current report
Loss on extinguishment of debt. For Fiscal Year 2024, the Company recognized a loss on extinguishment of debt of $8.6 million related to the voluntary prepayment of a portion of the Term Loan Credit Agreement. No such loss was incurred by the Company during Fiscal Year 2023.
Current report
Selling, general and administrative expenses for Fiscal Year 2024 increased $8.8 million, or 2.6%, to $353.4 million from $344.5 million for Fiscal Year 2023. The increase is primarily driven by $3.0 million in professional fees, $2.7 million in stock-based compensation, $1.9 million in shipping, $1.6 million in telecommunication, $1.4 million in marketing and $1.2 million in compensation and benefits. The increase was partially offset by a decrease of $1.6 million in depreciation and amortization, $1.0 million in occupancy, and an increase of $0.5 million in capitalized payroll related to the order management system implementation.
Current report
Loss on Extinguishment of Debt
Current report
For Fiscal Year 2024, the Company recognized a loss on extinguishment of debt of $8.6 million related to the voluntary prepayment of a portion of the Term Loan Credit Agreement. No such loss was incurred by the Company during Fiscal Year 2023.
Current report
For Fiscal Year 2023, the Company recognized a loss on debt refinancing of $12.7 million related to entering into a Term Loan Credit Agreement and the repayment of the Priming Credit Agreement and the Subordinated Credit Agreement. No such loss was incurred by the Company during Fiscal Year 2024.
Current report
Interest Expense
Current report
Interest expense was $15.7 million and $25.7 million for Fiscal Years 2024 and 2023, respectively. The decrease was primarily due to a lower debt balance for Fiscal Year 2024.
Current report
Interest expense consists of interest expense on the Term Loan Credit Agreement for Fiscal Year 2024, and, on the Company’s Term Loan Credit Agreement and Priming Credit Agreement prior to its repayment in full on April 5, 2023, for Fiscal Year 2023, and amortization of deferred costs related to the asset-based revolving credit facility agreement (the “ABL Credit Agreement” and, such facility, the “ABL Facility”) for Fiscal Years 2024 and 2023.
Current report
Interest Expense - Related Party
Current report
For Fiscal Year 2023, the Company incurred $1.1 million of Interest expense - related party associated with the Subordinated Credit Agreement, until it was repaid in full on April 5, 2023. The Company did not incur any Interest expense - related party during Fiscal Year 2024.
Current report
Interest Income
Current report
For Fiscal Year 2024, the Company earned interest on cash of $2.6 million, compared to $2.8 million for Fiscal Year 2023.
Current report
On June 14, 2024, the Company issued and sold 1,000,000 shares of its common stock. The shares were offered at an offering price of $31.00 per share, less underwriting discounts and commissions. The Company utilized the net proceeds from its sale of shares for repayment of its debt and general corporate purposes. See Note 15. Shareholders’ Equity to the consolidated financial statements included in this Annual Report for additional information on the Company’s common stock issuance.
Current report
During the third quarter of Fiscal Year 2024, the Company issued 3,572,664 shares of common stock following the exercise of 3,573,707 warrants (the “Warrants”) that were previously issued pursuant to a Warrant Agreement, dated as of October 2, 2020, by and between the Company and American Stock Transfer & Company LLC (the “Warrant Agreement”). The exercise price of the Warrants was net share settled as per the terms of the Warrant Agreement. Given the non-substantive exercise price of the Warrants in relation to the fair value of the common shares issued upon exercise, the exercise of these Warrants had no impact on net income per common share, both basic and diluted.
Current report
On December 6, 2024, the Board approved a share repurchase program (the “Share Repurchase Program”), under which the Company is authorized to repurchase up to $25.0 million of the Company’s common stock, over the next two years. Under the Share Repurchase Program, shares of the Company’s common stock may be purchased from time to time through open market or private transactions, block trades, or such other manner as the Company may determine, in accordance with applicable insider trading and other securities laws and regulations under the Exchange Act and share repurchase parameters determined by the Board. The timing and the number of shares repurchased are subject to the discretion of the Company and may be affected by market conditions and other factors. The Share Repurchase Program does not obligate the Company to acquire any particular amount of common stock and may be modified, suspended or terminated at any time.
Current report
We believe our cash and cash equivalents balance, along with our future cash flows from operations, capacity for borrowings under the ABL Facility and access to credit and capital markets, provide sufficient liquidity to meet the needs of our business operations, make voluntary prepayments, pay dividends, repurchase shares, and to satisfy our projected cash requirements for the next 12 months and the foreseeable future.
Current report
Credit Facilities
Current report
On May 10, 2024, the Company made a voluntary principal prepayment of $58.2 million on the Term Loan Credit Agreement, in lieu of the previously expected ECF payment of $26.6 million. The expected ECF payment was rejected by the lenders as permitted under the provisions of the Term Loan Credit Agreement. On June 21, 2024, the Company made an additional voluntary principal prepayment of $27.2 million (See Note 15. Shareholders’ Equity, Common Stock Issuance, for additional information). Together with the required quarterly payments, the Company has repaid $94.2 million in principal under the Term Loan Credit Agreement in Fiscal Year 2024. In connection with the voluntary principal prepayments, the Company paid a $2.6 million premium, amounting to 3% on the aggregate principal amount being prepaid, and $1.6 million towards interest, in accordance with the provisions of the Term Loan Credit Agreement.
Current report
In connection with the voluntary principal prepayments discussed above, for Fiscal Year 2024, the Company recognized a loss on extinguishment of debt of approximately $8.6 million, consisting of $6.0 million of accelerated amortization of the discount and fees and $2.6 million of prepayment premium, in its consolidated statements of operations and comprehensive income. As of February 1, 2025, the remaining Term Loan Facility principal balance was $74.3 million, which is to be repaid upon maturity on May 8, 2028. The remaining unamortized discount and fees of $4.9 million will continue to be amortized over the remaining term through maturity. See Note 9. Debt to the consolidated financial statements included in this Annual Report for additional information.
Current report
For Fiscal Year 2024, the Company would be required to make an ECF payment of $11.8 million prior to May 7, 2025 under the terms of the Term Loan Credit Agreement. However, the voluntary principal prepayments discussed above satisfied the ECF payment requirement and, accordingly, no ECF payment is required.
Current report
Net cash provided by operating activities during Fiscal Year 2024 increased $1.7 million compared to Fiscal Year 2023. The increase during Fiscal Year 2024 was driven by higher net income of $3.3 million and changes in operating assets and liabilities of $5.1 million, partially offset by lower adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash from operations of $6.7 million. The higher change in operating assets and liabilities was driven by higher cash inflows relating to timing of payments for accounts payable of $8.9 million, changes in accrued expenses and other current liabilities of $5.4 million mainly due to lower interest expense and management incentive accruals, and operating lease assets and liabilities of $3.3 million due mainly to new leases. These increases were partially offset by increased payments for inventories of $5.4 million mainly due to the calendar shift timing and the strategy to ship goods approximately one week early to offset delays related to the re-routing of shipping lanes away from the Red Sea, timing of payments related to other noncurrent assets and liabilities of $5.1 million driven mainly by higher software-as-a-service implementation expenditures related to the order management system, and accounts receivable of $2.0 million.
Current report
Net cash used in financing activities during Fiscal Year 2024 was $74.0 million, which was driven by principal repayments and prepayment premium on the Term Loan and dividends paid to common shareholders, partially offset by proceeds from the issuance of common stock, net of underwriting costs.
Current report
During the fiscal year ended February 1, 2025, the Company declared and paid dividends of $2.9 million to stockholders of the Company’s common stock. While dividends are generally recorded as a reduction to Retained earnings, since the Company has an accumulated deficit, dividends are recorded as a reduction to Additional paid-in capital. For the fiscal year ended February 3, 2024, no dividend was declared or paid.
Current report
Share Repurchase
Current report
On December 6, 2024, the Board approved a share repurchase program (the “Share Repurchase Program”), under which the Company is authorized to repurchase up to $25.0 million of the Company’s common stock over the next two years. Under the Share Repurchase Program, shares of the Company’s common stock may be purchased from time to time through open market or private transactions, block trades, or such other manner as the Company may determine, in accordance with applicable insider trading and other securities laws and regulations under the Exchange Act and share repurchase parameters determined by the Board. The timing and the number of shares repurchased are subject to the discretion of the Company and may be affected by market conditions and other factors. The Share Repurchase Program does not obligate the Company to acquire any particular amount of common stock and may be modified, suspended or terminated at any time.
Current report
Self-Insured Group Health Insurance Reserves
Current report
In January 2025, the Company transitioned to a self-insured group health insurance program up to certain stop-loss limits. Such costs are accrued based on known claims and an estimation of incurred but not reported (“IBNR”) claims. IBNR claims are estimated using historical claim information and actuarial estimates.
Removed paragraphs (13)
Previous report
Our historical revenue growth has been accompanied by increased selling, general and administrative expenses. The most significant increases were in marketing and payroll investments.
Previous report
The fair value adjustment of warrants increased due to the increase in J.Jill’s stock price.
Previous report
Represents items management believes are not indicative of ongoing operating performance. In Fiscal Year 2023 and Fiscal Year 2022, these expenses are primarily composed of legal and advisory costs. Fiscal Years 2021 expenses are primarily composed of incremental one-time costs related to COVID-19.
Previous report
Fair value adjustments. Fair value adjustments consist of the mark-to-market of warrants and derivative liabilities related to the debt restructuring consummated on September 30, 2020. These fair value adjustments were due to the increase in J.Jill’s stock price from January 30, 2021 through May 31, 2021. Effective May 31, 2021, these liabilities were reclassified to equity because from that date they can only be settled by exercise of the warrants into common stock. Our Fiscal Year 2021 results include fair value adjustments totaling $59.8 million. See Note 14. Net Income (Loss) Per Share, in the notes to the financial statements included elsewhere in this Annual Report, for additional information on these fair value adjustments.
Previous report
COVID-19 impact. Our Fiscal Year 2021 financial results were significantly impacted by COVID-19. Although the Company lost revenues, we continued to incur certain expenses, such as payroll and rent; therefore, ratios and other items may not be comparable to our Fiscal Year 2023 and Fiscal Year 2022 financial results.
Previous report
Selling, general and administrative expenses for Fiscal Year 2023 decreased $0.7 million, or 0.2%, to $341.2 million from $341.9 million for Fiscal Year 2022. The decrease is driven by a $2.8 million decrease in depreciation and amortization, and a $1.1 million decrease in shipping expenses. The decrease was partially offset by a $1.6 million increase in software application hosting and maintenance expenses and a $1.6 million increase in compensation expenses.
Previous report
Interest Expense, net
Previous report
Interest expense, net consists of interest expense on the Credit Facilities, partially offset by interest earned on cash. Interest expense for Fiscal Year 2023 increased by $3.9 million, or 19.6%, to $24.0 million from $20.1 million for Fiscal Year 2022. The increase was driven by higher interest rates.
Previous report
As of February 3, 2024 the Company expects to make an ECF payment of $26.6 million (amounting to 50% of the annual ECF) for Fiscal Year 2023, in accordance with the provisions of the Term Loan Credit Agreement. The amount expected to be repaid is included in the line item “Current portion of long-term debt” in the Company’s consolidated balance sheet.
Previous report
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (the “CARES Act”) enacted in March 2020, the Company received federal income tax refunds of $17.5 million in Fiscal Year 2021 and the remaining $9.2 million in Fiscal Year 2022 from the net operating loss carryback provisions relating to the Fiscal Year ended January 30, 2021.
Previous report
Net cash provided by operating activities during Fiscal Year 2023 decreased $11.1 million compared to Fiscal Year 2022. Net income for Fiscal Year 2023 was offset by the increase in cash used for working capital of $12.9 million compared to Fiscal Year 2022. Working capital cash uses consisted of lower cash inflows relating to prepaid expenses and other current assets of $10.8 million driven primarily by lower collection of income tax receivables in the current year, and accrued expenses and other current liabilities of $8.2 million mainly due to lower accrued employee compensation and other accruals, partially offset by the impact of product returns, and inventories of $8.1 million due to increased inventory in-transit. These net cash outflows were partially offset by higher accounts payable of $12.4 million and lower accounts receivable of $3.2 million due to the timing of payments.
Previous report
Net cash used in financing activities during Fiscal Year 2022 was $8.3 million, which was driven by the $5.0 million repayment of the Existing Term Loan and $2.1 million principal payment on the Priming Facility.
Reworded paragraphs (37)
Previous wording
We operate on a 52- or 53-week fiscal year that ends on the Saturday that is closest to January 31. Each fiscal year generally is comprised of four 13-week fiscal quarters, although in the years with 53 weeks, the fourth quarter represents a 14-week period. References in this Annual Report to “Fiscal Year 2023” refer to the fiscal year ended February 3, 2024, references to the “Fiscal Year 2022” refer to the fiscal year ended January 28, 2023 and references to “Fiscal Year 2021” refer to the fiscal year ended January 29, 2022. Fiscal Year 2023 is comprised of 53 weeks and Fiscal Years 2022, and 2021 are comprised of 52 weeks.
Current wording
We operate on a 52 or 53-week fiscal year that ends on the Saturday that is closest to January 31. Each fiscal year generally is comprised of four 13-week fiscal quarters, although in the years with 53 weeks, the fourth quarter represents a 14-week period. References in this Annual Report to “Fiscal Year 2024” refer to the fiscal year ended February 1, 2025, references to the “Fiscal Year 2023” refer to the fiscal year ended February 3, 2024 and references to “Fiscal Year 2022” refer to the fiscal year ended January 28, 2023. Fiscal Years 2024 and 2022 are comprised of 52 weeks and Fiscal Year 2023 is comprised of 53 weeks.
Previous wording
J.Jill is a national lifestyle brand that provides apparel, footwear and accessories designed to help its customers move through a full life with ease. The brand represents an easy, thoughtful and inspired style that celebrates the totality of all women and designs its products with its core brand ethos in mind: keep it simple and make it matter. J.Jill offers a high touch customer experience through over 200 stores nationwide and a robust ecommerce platform. J.Jill is headquartered outside Boston.
Current wording
J.Jill is a national lifestyle brand that provides apparel, footwear and accessories designed to help its customers move through a full life with ease. The brand represents an easy, thoughtful and inspired style that celebrates the totality of all women and designs its products with its core brand ethos in mind: keep it simple and make it matter. J.Jill offers a high touch customer experience through over 250 stores nationwide and a robust ecommerce platform. J.Jill is headquartered outside Boston.
Previous wording
In assessing the performance of our business, we consider a variety of financial and operating metrics, including accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“GAAP”) and non-GAAP measures, such as:
Current wording
In assessing the performance of our business, we consider a variety of financial and operating metrics, including financial measures calculated in accordance with U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) and non-GAAP measures, such as:
Previous wording
Net sales consist primarily of revenues, net of merchandise returns and discounts, generated from the sale of apparel and accessory merchandise through our Retail and Direct channels. Net sales also include shipping and handling fees collected from customers, and royalty revenues and marketing reimbursements related to our private label credit card agreement. Retail revenue is recognized at the time of sale and Direct revenue is recognized upon shipment of merchandise to the customer.
Current wording
Net sales consist primarily of revenues, net of merchandise returns and discounts, generated from the sale of apparel and accessory merchandise through our retail stores (“Retail”) and through our website and catalog orders (“Direct”). Net sales also include shipping and handling fees collected from customers, and royalty revenues and marketing reimbursements related to our private label credit card agreement. Retail revenue is recognized at the time of sale and Direct revenue is recognized upon shipment of merchandise to the customer.
Previous wording
Total company comparable sales include net sales from our retail stores that have been open for more than 52 weeks and from our Direct channel. This measure highlights the performance of existing stores open during the period, while excluding the impact of new store openings and closures. When a store in the total company comparable store base is temporarily closed for four or more days within a fiscal week, the store is excluded from the comparable store base; if it is temporarily closed for three or fewer days within a fiscal week, the store is included within the comparable store base. Certain of our competitors and other retailers may calculate total company comparable sales differently than we do. Our comparable sales are based on a 52-week period. As a result, the reporting of our total company comparable sales may not be comparable to sales data made available by other companies.
Current wording
Total company comparable sales include net sales from our retail stores that have been open for more than 52 weeks and from our Direct channel. This measure highlights the performance of existing stores open during the period, while excluding the impact of new store openings and closures. When a store in the total company comparable store base is temporarily closed for four or more days within a fiscal week, the store is excluded from the comparable store base; if it is temporarily closed for three or fewer days within a fiscal week, the store is included within the comparable store base. Certain of our competitors and other retailers may calculate total company comparable sales differently than we do. Our comparable sales are based on a 52-week period. The total company comparable sales calculation shifts the weeks in the fiscal year containing the fifty-third week to align like-for-like. As a result, the reporting of our total company comparable sales may not be comparable to sales data made available by other companies.
Previous wording
Costs of goods sold (“COGS”) includes the direct costs of sold merchandise, inventory shrinkage, and adjustments and reserves for excess, aged and obsolete inventory. We review our inventory levels on an ongoing basis to identify slow-moving merchandise and use markdowns to liquidate these products. Changes in the assortment of our products may also impact our gross profit. The timing and level of markdowns are driven by customer acceptance of our merchandise. The Company’s COGS, and consequently gross profit, may not be comparable to those of other retailers, as inclusion of certain costs vary across the industry.
Current wording
Costs of goods sold (“COGS”) consists of the direct costs of sold merchandise, which include customs, taxes, duties, commissions and inbound shipping costs, inventory shrinkage, and adjustments and reserves for excess, aged and obsolete inventory. COGS does not include distribution center costs and allocations of indirect costs, such as occupancy, depreciation, amortization, or labor and benefits. We review our inventory levels on an ongoing basis to identify slow-moving merchandise and use markdowns to liquidate these products. Changes in the assortment of our products may also impact our gross profit. The timing and level of markdowns are driven by customer acceptance of our merchandise. The Company’s COGS, and consequently gross profit, may not be comparable to those of other retailers, as inclusion of certain costs vary across the industry.
Previous wording
Selling, general and administrative expenses include all operating costs not included in COGS. These expenses include all payroll and related expenses, occupancy costs, information systems costs and other operating expenses related to our stores and to our operations at our headquarters, including utilities, depreciation and amortization. These expenses also include marketing expense, including catalog production and mailing costs, warehousing, distribution and outbound shipping costs, customer service operations, consulting and software services, professional services and other administrative costs. Additionally, our outbound shipping costs may fluctuate due to surcharges from shipping vendors based on demand for shipping services.
Current wording
Selling, general and administrative (“SG&A”) expenses include all operating costs not included in COGS. These expenses consist primarily of all payroll and related expenses, occupancy costs, information systems costs and other operating expenses related to our stores and to our operations at our headquarters, including utilities, depreciation and amortization. These expenses also consist of marketing expense, including catalog production and mailing costs, warehousing, distribution and outbound shipping costs, customer service operations, consulting and software services, natural disaster related costs, professional services and other administrative costs. Additionally, our outbound shipping costs may fluctuate due to surcharges from shipping vendors based on demand for shipping services.
Previous wording
Adjusted earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization (“Adjusted EBITDA”) and Adjusted EBITDA Margin. Adjusted EBITDA, represents net income (loss) plus net interest expense, provision (benefit) for income taxes, depreciation and amortization, equity-based compensation expense, goodwill and indefinite-lived intangible assets impairment, write-off of property and equipment, loss on debt refinancing, adjustment for exited retail stores, fair value adjustments, and other non-recurring expenses, primarily consisting of outside legal and professional fees associated with certain non-recurring transactions and events. We present Adjusted EBITDA on a consolidated basis because management uses it as a supplemental measure in assessing our operating performance, and we believe that it is helpful to investors, securities analysts and other interested parties as a measure of our comparative operating performance from period to period. We also use Adjusted EBITDA as one of the primary methods for planning and forecasting overall expected performance of our business and for evaluating on a quarterly and annual basis actual results against such expectations. Further, we recognize Adjusted EBITDA as a commonly used measure in determining business value and as such, use it internally to report results. Adjusted EBITDA margin represents, for any period, Adjusted EBITDA as a percentage of net sales.
Current wording
Adjusted earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization (“Adjusted EBITDA”) and Adjusted EBITDA Margin. Adjusted EBITDA, represents net income plus depreciation and amortization, income tax provision, interest expense, interest expense - related party, interest income, equity-based compensation expense, write-off of property and equipment, amortization of cloud-based software implementation costs, loss on extinguishment of debt, loss on debt refinancing, adjustment for exited retail stores, impairment of long-lived assets, loss due to hurricane, and other non-recurring items, primarily consisting of non-ordinary course professional fees, non-employee share-based payments, and legal settlements and fees associated with certain non-recurring transactions and events. We present Adjusted EBITDA on a consolidated basis because management uses it as a supplemental measure in assessing our operating performance, and we believe that it is helpful to investors, securities analysts and other interested parties as a measure of our comparative operating performance from period to period. We also use Adjusted EBITDA as one of the primary methods for planning and forecasting overall expected performance of our business and for evaluating on a quarterly and annual basis actual results against such expectations. Further, we recognize Adjusted EBITDA as a commonly used measure in determining business value and as such, use it internally to report results. Adjusted EBITDA margin represents, for any period, Adjusted EBITDA as a percentage of net sales.
Previous wording
While we believe that Adjusted EBITDA is useful in evaluating our business, Adjusted EBITDA is a non-GAAP financial measure that has limitations as an analytical tool. Adjusted EBITDA should not be considered an alternative to, or substitute for, net income (loss), which is calculated in accordance with GAAP. In addition, other companies, including companies in our industry, may calculate Adjusted EBITDA differently or not at all, which reduces the usefulness of Adjusted EBITDA as a tool for comparison. We recommend that you review the reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA to net income (loss), the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure, and the calculation of the resultant Adjusted EBITDA margin below and not rely solely on Adjusted EBITDA or any single financial measure to evaluate our business.
Current wording
While we believe that Adjusted EBITDA is useful in evaluating our business, Adjusted EBITDA is a non-GAAP financial measure that has limitations as an analytical tool. Adjusted EBITDA should not be considered an alternative to, or substitute for, net income, which is calculated in accordance with GAAP. In addition, other companies, including companies in our industry, may calculate Adjusted EBITDA differently or not at all, which reduces the usefulness of Adjusted EBITDA as a tool for comparison. We recommend that you review the reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP financial measure, and the calculation of the resultant Adjusted EBITDA margin below and not rely solely on Adjusted EBITDA or any single financial measure to evaluate our business.
Previous wording
Reconciliation of Net Income (Loss) to Adjusted EBITDA and Calculation of Adjusted EBITDA Margin
Current wording
Reconciliation of Net Income to Adjusted EBITDA and Calculation of Adjusted EBITDA Margin
Previous wording
Fiscal Year Ended February 3, 2024 which is comprised of 53-weeks compared to Fiscal Year Ended January 28, 2023 and January 29, 2022 which are comprised of 52-weeks.
Current wording
Fiscal Year Ended February 1, 2025 which is comprised of 52-weeks compared to Fiscal Year Ended February 3, 2024 which is comprised of 53-weeks and January 28, 2023 which is comprised of 52-weeks.
Previous wording
The following table provides a reconciliation of net income (loss) to Adjusted EBITDA and the calculation of Adjusted EBITDA margin for the periods presented:
Current wording
The following table provides a reconciliation of net income to Adjusted EBITDA and the calculation of Adjusted EBITDA margin for the periods presented:
Previous wording
Represents expenses associated with equity incentive instruments granted to our management and board of directors. Incentive instruments are accounted for as equity-classified awards with the related compensation expense recognized based on fair value at the date of the grant.
Current wording
Represents expenses associated with equity incentive instruments granted to our management and board of directors (the “Board”). Incentive instruments are accounted for as equity-classified awards with the related compensation expense recognized based on fair value at the date of the grant.
Previous wording
Represents impairment of long-lived assets related primarily to right-of-use assets and leasehold improvements.
Current wording
Represents impairment of long-lived assets related to right-of-use assets and leasehold improvements.
Previous wording
53rd week. The Company’s fiscal year ends on the Saturday, in January or February, nearest the last day of January, resulting in an additional week of results every five or six years. Fiscal Year 2023 contained 53-weeks of operations whereas the Fiscal Years 2022 and 2021 contained 52-weeks of operations. The 53rd week added approximately $7.9 million to net sales and $2.2 million to Adjusted EBITDA for Fiscal Year 2023.
Current wording
53rd week. The Company’s fiscal year ends on the Saturday, in January or February, nearest to the last day of January, resulting in an additional week of results every five or six years. Fiscal Year 2023 contained 53-weeks of operations whereas the Fiscal Years 2024 and 2022 contained 52-weeks of operations. The 53rd week added approximately $7.9 million to net sales and $2.2 million to Adjusted EBITDA for Fiscal Year 2023.
Previous wording
For Fiscal Year 2023, the Company recognized a loss on debt refinancing of $12.7 million related to entering into a Term Loan Credit Agreement and the repayment of the Priming Credit Agreement and the Subordinated Credit Agreement, as discussed in the Liquidity and Capital Resources section below. The Company did not incur any gain or loss on debt refinancing for Fiscal Year 2022.
Current wording
Loss on debt refinancing. For Fiscal Year 2023, the Company recognized a loss on debt refinancing of $12.7 million related to entering into a Term Loan Credit Agreement and the repayment of the Priming Credit Agreement and the Subordinated Credit Agreement. No such loss was incurred by the Company during Fiscal Year 2024.
Previous wording
Fiscal Year Ended February 3, 2024 which is comprised of 53-weeks compared to Fiscal Year Ended January 28, 2023 which is comprised of 52-weeks.
Current wording
Fiscal Year Ended February 1, 2025 which is comprised of 52-weeks compared to Fiscal Year Ended February 3, 2024 which is comprised of 53-weeks.
Previous wording
Net sales for Fiscal Year 2023 decreased $10.6 million or 1.7%, to $604.7 million from $615.3 million for Fiscal Year 2022. The decrease in net sales was due to total company comparable sales decrease of 1.4%.
Current wording
Net sales for Fiscal Year 2024 increased $2.8 million or 0.5%, to $610.9 million from $608.0 million for Fiscal Year 2023. The increase in net sales was due to total company comparable sales increase of 1.5% partially offset by the loss of the 53 rd week included in Fiscal Year 2023.
Previous wording
Our Direct channel was responsible for 46.5% of our net sales in Fiscal Year 2023 compared to 46.8% in Fiscal Year 2022. Our Retail channel was responsible for 53.5% of our net sales in Fiscal Year 2023 and 53.2% in Fiscal Year 2022. We operated 244 and 243 retail stores at the end of these same periods, respectively.
Current wording
Our Direct channel was responsible for 47.5% of our net sales in Fiscal Year 2024 compared to 46.8% in Fiscal Year 2023. Our Retail channel was responsible for 52.5% of our net sales in Fiscal Year 2024 and 53.2% in Fiscal Year 2023. We operated 252 and 244 retail stores at the end of these same periods, respectively.
Previous wording
Gross profit for Fiscal Year 2023 increased $5.4 million, or 1.3%, to $427.4 million from $422.1 million for Fiscal Year 2022. The gross margin for Fiscal Year 2023 was 70.7% compared to 68.6% for Fiscal Year 2022, largely driven by favorable freight costs and strong full price sales.
Current wording
Gross profit for Fiscal Year 2024 decreased $0.9 million, or 0.2%, to $429.9 million from $430.8 million for Fiscal Year 2023. The gross margin for Fiscal Year 2024 was 70.4% compared to 70.8% for Fiscal Year 2023, driven by an increase in promotional activities and increased freight costs.
Previous wording
Impairment of long-lived assets for Fiscal Year 2023 decreased by $1.2 million, or 86.6% to $0.2 million from $1.4 million for Fiscal Year 2022. Our Fiscal Year 2023 results include $0.2 million of impairment charges for long-lived assets (leasehold improvements and furniture, fixtures and equipment), and our Fiscal Year 2022 results include $1.4 million of impairment charges for long-lived assets (operating lease right-of-use asset, leasehold improvements and furniture, fixtures and equipment).
Current wording
Impairment of long-lived assets for Fiscal Year 2024 increased by $0.6 million, or 308.5% to $0.8 million from $0.2 million for Fiscal Year 2023. Our Fiscal Year 2024 results include $0.5 million of impairment charges for long-lived assets (leasehold improvements, and furniture, fixtures and equipment), and our Fiscal Year 2023 results include $0.2 million of impairment charges for long-lived assets (leasehold improvements and furniture, fixtures and equipment).
Previous wording
The income tax provision for Fiscal Year 2023 was $13.2 million compared to $16.5 million for Fiscal Year 2022. Our effective tax rates were 26.7% and 28.1%, respectively. The effective tax rate during Fiscal Year 2023 differs from the federal statutory rate of 21.0% due primarily to the impacts of (i) state and local income taxes, (ii) executive compensation limitations, and (iii) valuation allowance changes. Refer to Note 13. Income Taxes to the consolidated financial statements for additional income tax information.
Current wording
The income tax provision for Fiscal Year 2024 was $14.5 million compared to $13.2 million for Fiscal Year 2023. Our effective tax rates were 26.9% and 26.7%, respectively. The effective tax rate during Fiscal Year 2024 differs from the federal statutory rate of 21.0% due primarily to the impacts of (i) state and local income taxes and (ii) executive compensation limitations. Refer to Note 14. Income Taxes to the consolidated financial statements for additional income tax information.
Previous wording
The effective tax rate for Fiscal Year 2022 differs from the federal statutory rate of 21.0% due primarily to the impacts of (i) state and local income taxes, (ii) executive compensation limitations, (iii) valuation allowance changes, and (iv) tax return to provision adjustments. The Company paid $19.7 million in cash for income taxes during Fiscal Year 2022 and received tax refunds of approximately $10.3 million relating to prior years.
Current wording
The effective tax rate for Fiscal Year 2023 differs from the federal statutory rate of 21.0% due primarily to the impacts of (i) state and local income taxes, (ii) executive compensation limitations, and (iii) valuation allowance changes.
Previous wording
Our primary sources of liquidity and capital resources are cash and cash equivalents generated from operating activities and availability under our asset-based revolving credit facility agreement (the “ABL Facility”). As of February 3, 2024, we had $62.2 million in cash and cash equivalents and $34.2 million of total availability under our $40.0 million ABL Facility.
Current wording
Our primary sources of liquidity and capital resources are cash and cash equivalents generated from operating activities and availability under our ABL Facility, so long as certain conditions related to the maturity of the Term Loan Credit Agreement are met. As of February 1, 2025, we had $35.4 million in cash and cash equivalents and $35.7 million of total availability under our $40.0 million ABL Facility. In addition, through our shelf registration statement on file with the SEC or through private transactions, and depending on conditions prevailing in the public and private capital markets, we may from time to time issue equity securities in one or more series in one or more offerings.
Previous wording
The Term Loan Facility is to be repaid in quarterly payments of $2.2 million from July 28, 2023 to May 2, 2025, and $3.3 million from August 1, 2025 to April 28, 2028 with the balance of the Term Loan Facility due upon maturity on May 8, 2028. Additionally, the Term Loan Facility is subject to mandatory repayment, subject to certain exceptions, including (i) 100% of the net proceeds of any incurrence of debt other than debt permitted in the Term Loan Credit Agreement, (ii) 100% of the net cash proceeds of certain asset sales/insurance proceeds, subject to reinvestment rights and certain other exceptions, and (iii) 95 days after the last day of the Fiscal Year, an annual payment ranging from 25%-75%, based on the First Lien Net Leverage Ratio, of the annual Excess Cash Flow (“ECF”), less certain voluntary prepayments made during the year, as defined in the Term Loan Credit Agreement.
Current wording
The Term Loan Facility was to be repaid in quarterly payments of $2.2 million from July 28, 2023 to May 2, 2025, and $3.3 million from August 1, 2025 to April 28, 2028 with the balance of the Term Loan Facility due upon maturity on May 8, 2028. However, as a result of the voluntary payments mentioned below there will be no quarterly payments required until the remaining balance is paid in full on maturity date. Additionally, the Term Loan Facility is subject to mandatory repayment, subject to certain exceptions, including (i) 100% of the net proceeds of any incurrence of debt other than debt permitted in the Term Loan Credit Agreement, (ii) 100% of the net cash proceeds of certain asset sales/insurance proceeds, subject to reinvestment rights and certain other exceptions, and (iii) 95 days after the last day of the Fiscal Year, an annual payment ranging from 25%-75%, based on the First Lien Net Leverage Ratio, of the annual Excess Cash Flow (“ECF”), less certain voluntary prepayments made during the year, as defined in the Term Loan Credit Agreement.
Previous wording
The proceeds from the Term Loan Credit Agreement, combined with a portion of the Company’s existing cash on hand, were used to repay in full the outstanding balance of $225.4 million, inclusive of $3.6 million interest, under the Priming Term Loan Credit Agreement (the “Priming Credit Agreement”) and the Subordinated Term Loan Credit Agreement (the “Subordinated Credit Agreement”). All security interests and liens incurred in connection with the Priming Credit
Current wording
The proceeds from the Term Loan Credit Agreement, combined with a portion of the Company’s existing cash on hand, were used to repay in full the outstanding balance of $225.4 million, inclusive of $3.6 million interest, under the Priming Term Loan Credit Agreement (the “Priming Credit Agreement”) and the Subordinated Term Loan Credit Agreement (the “Subordinated Credit Agreement”). All security interests and liens incurred in connection with the Priming Credit Agreement and Subordinated Credit Agreement have been released. The prepayment of the Priming Credit Agreement and Subordinated Credit Agreement was in accordance with the terms of such agreements.
Previous wording
The Credit Agreements include customary negative covenants, including covenants limiting the ability of the Company to, among other things, incur additional indebtedness, create liens on assets, make investments, loans or advances, engage in mergers, consolidations, sales of assets and purchases, pay dividends and distributions, enter into transactions with affiliates, and make payments in respect of junior indebtedness. Each of the Term Loan Credit Agreement and the ABL Credit Agreement also has certain financial covenants (see Note 9. Debtto the audited consolidated financial statements included in this Annual Report). As of February 3, 2024, the Company is in compliance with all such covenants.
Current wording
The Credit Agreements include customary negative covenants, including covenants limiting the ability of the Company to, among other things, incur additional indebtedness, create liens on assets, make investments, loans or advances, engage in mergers, consolidations, sales of assets and purchases, pay dividends and distributions, enter into transactions with affiliates, and make payments in respect of junior indebtedness. Each of the Term Loan Credit Agreement and the ABL Credit Agreement also has certain financial covenants (see Note 9. Debtto the audited consolidated financial statements included in this Annual Report).
Previous wording
Net cash provided by operating activities during Fiscal Year 2022 was $74.4 million. Key elements of cash provided by operating activities were (i) net income of $42.2 million, (ii) adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities of $35.4 million, primarily driven by $25.8 million of depreciation and amortization, and (iii) the use of cash from net operating assets and liabilities of $3.1 million, primarily driven by accounts payable and operating lease assets and liabilities, partially offset by changes in merchandise inventory and prepaid expenses and other current assets.
Current wording
Net cash provided by operating activities during Fiscal Year 2024 was $65.0 million. Key elements of cash provided by operating activities were (i) net income of $39.5 million, (ii) adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities of $36.4 million, primarily driven by $21.3 million of depreciation and amortization and the loss on extinguishment of debt $8.6 million, and Equity-based compensation $6.5 million, and (iii) uses of cash of $10.8 million for net operating assets and liabilities.
Previous wording
Net cash provided by operating activities during Fiscal Year 2023 was $63.3 million. Key elements of cash provided by operating activities were (i) net income of $36.2 million, (ii) adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities of $43.1 million, primarily driven by $22.9 million of depreciation and amortization and the loss on debt refinancing of $12.7 million, and (iii) the use of cash from net operating assets and liabilities of $16.0 million, primarily driven by accrued expenses and other current liabilities and operating lease assets and liabilities.
Current wording
Net cash provided by operating activities during Fiscal Year 2023 was $63.3 million. Key elements of cash provided by operating activities were (i) net income of $36.2 million, (ii) adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities of $43.1 million, primarily driven by $22.9 million of depreciation and amortization, and the loss of debt refinancing of $12.7 million, and (iii) the use of cash from net operating assets and liabilities of $16.0 million, primarily driven by accounts payable and operating lease assets and liabilities, partially offset by changes in merchandise inventory and prepaid expenses and other current assets.
Previous wording
Net cash used in investing activities during Fiscal Year 2023 was $16.9 million, an increase of $1.9 million as compared to Fiscal Year 2022, representing increased purchases of property, equipment, software and technology-related investments, primarily relating to the new point of sale system.
Current wording
Net cash used in investing activities during Fiscal Year 2024 was $17.8 million, an increase of $0.8 million as compared to Fiscal Year 2023, representing investments in stores, offset by a decrease in software and technology-related investments, and capital projects at the Company’s distribution center.
Previous wording
Net cash used in financing activities during Fiscal Year 2023 increased as compared to the prior year. The change was primarily driven by the repayment of the previously existing Priming and Subordinated Credit Agreements offset by the proceeds from issuance of the Term Loan.
Current wording
Net cash used in financing activities during Fiscal Year 2024 increased by $2.8 million as compared to the prior year. The change was primarily driven by the proceeds from issuance of the Term Loan in the prior year offset by the principal repayments on the Priming Term Loan and Subordinated Term Loan as compared to the principal repayments on the Term Loan in the current year, partially offset by the proceeds from the issuance of common stock.
Previous wording
The payment of cash dividends in the future, if any, will be at the discretion of our board of directors and will depend upon such factors as earnings levels, capital requirements, restrictions imposed by applicable law, our overall financial condition, restrictions in our debt agreements and any other factors deemed relevant by our board of directors. As a holding company, our ability to pay dividends depends on our receipt of cash dividends from our operating subsidiaries, which may further restrict our ability to pay dividends as a result of restrictions on their ability to pay dividends to us under our debt agreements and under future indebtedness that we or they may incur.
Current wording
The Company intends to pay cash dividends quarterly in the future, subject to market conditions and at the discretion of the Board. Our ability to pay dividends in the future is based on a number of factors, such as earnings levels, capital requirements, restrictions imposed by applicable law, our overall financial condition, restrictions in our debt agreements and the ability of our operating subsidiaries to pay dividends to us as a holding company.
Previous wording
At February 3, 2024, long-term debt consisted of the following:
Current wording
The Company’s long-term debt consisted of the following:
Previous wording
The Company had no short-term borrowings under the Company’s ABL Facility as of February 3, 2024. The Company had outstanding letters of credit in the amount of $5.8 million and had a maximum additional borrowing capacity of $34.2 million as of February 3, 2024.
Current wording
The Company had no short-term borrowings under the Company’s ABL Facility as of February 1, 2025. The Company had outstanding letters of credit in the amount of $4.3 million and had a maximum additional borrowing capacity of $35.7 million as of February 1, 2025.
Previous wording
The most significant accounting estimates involve a high degree of judgment or complexity. Management believes the estimates and judgments most critical to the preparation of our consolidated financial statements and to the understanding of our reported financial results include those made in connection with revenue recognition, including accounting for outstanding gift cards that will ultimately not be redeemed (“gift card breakage”) and estimated merchandise returns; estimating the value of inventory; and impairment assessments for goodwill and other indefinite-lived intangible assets, and long-lived assets. Management evaluates its policies and assumptions on an ongoing basis. Our significant accounting policies related to these accounts in the preparation of our consolidated financial statements are described below (see Note 2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies to our audited consolidated financial statements presented elsewhere in this Annual Report for additional information regarding our critical accounting policies).
Current wording
The most significant accounting estimates involve a high degree of judgment or complexity. Management believes the estimates and judgments most critical to the preparation of our consolidated financial statements and to the understanding of our reported financial results include those made in connection with revenue recognition, including accounting for outstanding gift cards that will ultimately not be redeemed (“gift card breakage”) and estimated merchandise returns; estimating the value of inventory; and impairment assessments for goodwill and other indefinite-lived intangible assets, and long-lived assets; estimating of incurred but not reported (“IBNR”) claims. Management evaluates its policies and assumptions on an ongoing basis. Our significant accounting policies related to these accounts in the preparation of our consolidated financial statements are described below (see Note 2. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies to our audited consolidated financial statements presented elsewhere in this Annual Report for additional information regarding our critical accounting policies).
Previous wording
We monitor inventory levels, sales trends and sales forecasts to estimate and record reserves for excess, slow-moving and obsolete inventory. We utilize internal channels, including sales catalogs, the internet, and price reductions in retail and outlet stores to liquidate excess inventory. In some cases, external channels such as inventory liquidators are utilized. The prices obtained through these off-price selling methods vary based on many factors. Accordingly, estimates of future sales prices require management judgment based on historical experience, assessment of current conditions and assumptions about future transactions. We have not made significant changes to our assumptions during the periods presented in our consolidated financial statements included elsewhere in this Annual Report, and estimates have not varied significantly from historically recorded amounts.
Current wording
We monitor inventory levels, sales trends and sales forecasts to estimate and record reserves for excess, slow-moving and obsolete inventory. We utilize internal channels, including sales catalogs, the internet, and price reductions in retail stores to liquidate excess inventory. In some cases, external channels such as inventory liquidators are utilized. The prices obtained through these off-price selling methods vary based on many factors. Accordingly, estimates of future sales prices require management judgment based on historical experience, assessment of current conditions and assumptions about future transactions. We have not made significant changes to our assumptions during the periods presented in our consolidated financial statements included elsewhere in this Annual Report, and estimates have not varied significantly from historically recorded amounts.
Previous wording
During Fiscal Year 2023, we assessed the carrying values of right-of-use assets and property and equipment as described above. During Fiscal Year 2023, the Company recorded impairment charges of $0.2 million. During Fiscal Year 2022, the Company recorded impairment charges of $0.6 million related primarily to a right-of-use asset relating to revised sublease assumptions of one floor of the corporate headquarters located in Quincy, Massachusetts that was vacated in July 2019 and $0.8 million due to the Company’s revised outlook on future cash flows at certain store locations. During Fiscal Year 2021, we did not record any impairments related to right-of-use assets and leasehold improvements.
Current wording
During Fiscal Year 2024, we assessed the carrying values of right-of-use assets and property and equipment as described above. During Fiscal Year 2024, the Company recorded noncash impairment charges of $0.5 million related to leasehold improvements at certain store locations driven by the actual performance at these locations and $0.3 million related to a right-of-use asset driven by revised sublease assumptions of one floor of the corporate headquarters located in Quincy, Massachusetts that was vacated in July 2019. During Fiscal Year 2023, the Company recorded impairment charges of $0.2 million related to leasehold improvements at certain store locations driven by the actual performance at these locations. During Fiscal Year 2022, the Company recorded impairment charges of $0.6 million related primarily to a right-of-use asset relating to revised sublease assumptions of one floor of the corporate headquarters located in Quincy, Massachusetts that was vacated in July 2019 and $0.8 million due to the Company’s revised outlook on future cash flows at certain store locations.
Rearranged current paragraphs (1)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
As of February 1, 2025, the Company is in compliance with all such covenants.
Rearranged previous paragraphs (2)
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
Impairment losses. Our Fiscal Year 2023 results include $0.2 million of impairment charges for long-lived assets (leasehold improvements and furniture, fixtures and equipment), and our Fiscal Year 2022 results include $1.4 million of impairment charges for long-lived assets (operating lease right-of-use asset, leasehold improvements and furniture, fixtures and equipment).
Previous report — wording carried elsewhere
Agreement and Subordinated Credit Agreement have been released. The prepayment of the Priming Credit Agreement and Subordinated Credit Agreement was in accordance with the terms of such agreements.