Heritage Global Inc
For the period ended Dec 31, 2024. Filed Mar 13, 2025.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2024 · Filed Mar 13, 2025
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2023-12-31; filed 2024-03-14.
0000950170-24-031436
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-12-31; filed 2025-03-13.
0000950170-25-038691
Item 7. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 71 previous paragraphs and 81 current paragraphs.
41 unchanged; 26 reworded; 11 added; 4 removed; 0 previous and 3 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 4 previous and 5 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (11)
Current report
Our CODM evaluates the performance of our reportable segments based primarily on operating income and routinely receives internal reports that analyze operating income for the reporting segments. The CODM is not routinely provided detailed information regarding significant operating expenses by segment, and such information is not considered critical for allocating resources or assessing the performance of each segment. Our operating expenses are comprised mainly of fixed and variable compensation, marketing, outside services such as audit, legal and information technology, occupancy, and other regulatory costs incurred as a public entity. Additionally, earnings from equity method investments related to significant transactions involving real estate, machinery and equipment in the Company's Auction and Liquidation segment and Joint Venture lending activity related to the Company's Specialty Lending segment are significant in the computation of segment operating income and reported separately as shown in the table below.
Current report
[1] Within the Company’s Industrial Asset division, management allocates gross profit from certain auctions from the Auction and Liquidation segment (HGP) to the Refurbishment & Resale segment (ALT). From time to time, ALT may source and refer an auction project to HGP or directly sell equipment inventory through the auction channel. In these instances, the gross profit related to these transactions are allocated to ALT rather than accounted for under the segment profit or loss of HGP. In 2024, the total amount of gross profit allocated to ALT from HGP was approximately $1.4 million, as compared to the total amount of gross profit allocated to ALT from HGP in 2023 of approximately $3.8 million.
Current report
[2] All financing arrangements are originated with Corporate and other. Management may determine from time to time that interest incurred from financing arrangements are directly attributable to a specific segment. As a result, interest incurred may be charged to the segment and included in that segment’s profit or loss as a charge to operating expense. In 2024, the total amount of interest allocated to the Specialty Lending segment (HGC) from Corporate and other was approximately $0.3 million, as compared to the total amount of interest allocated to HGC from Corporate and other in 2023 of approximately $0.5 million.
Current report
Reclassifications –Certain prior year balances within schedule of selling, general and administrative expense above have been reclassified to conform to current year presentation.
Current report
In November 2023, the FASB issued ASU 2023-07, "Segment Reporting (Topic 280): Improvements to Reportable Segment Disclosures" ("ASU 2023-07"), which, among other updates, requires enhanced disclosures about significant segment expenses regularly provided to the chief operating decision maker, as well as the aggregate amount of other segment items included in the reported measure of segment profit or loss. ASU 2023-07 is effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2023, and for interim periods within fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2024, and requires retrospective adoption. The adoption of ASU 2023-07 resulted in additional disclosures for our segment results, which are included in Note 17 of our consolidated financial statements.
Current report
Through our Refurbishment and Resale segment, we offer financing on our standard laboratory equipment sales. We recognize revenue upon shipment of our financed products in accordance with ASC 606. We record a loan receivable for the unpaid balance of the order. A loan amortization table is created upon shipment outlining the principal and interest income portion of each future payment. These loans are classified as held-for-investment and accounted for under the guidelines of ASC 310.
Current report
Nonaccrual Loans
Current report
We determine a loan to be in default status when the minimum payment amount has not been received within the grace period of the payment due date. The status of default does not solely trigger nonaccrual loan status. We consider quantitative and qualitative factors when evaluating a loan in default status to determine the likelihood of recovering the outstanding principal balance and contractual interest payments. We also monitor financial standing and performance of our borrowers on an ongoing basis and regularly update the collection forecasts for the underlying charged off or nonperforming receivable portfolios related to each outstanding loan. If we determine (1) it is not probable that the projected cash flows expected from the borrower’s collection efforts on the underlying charged off or nonperforming receivable portfolio will be sufficient to satisfy all of the outstanding principal balance and contractual interest payments, and (2) it is not probable that the borrower will be able to meet the minimum required principal and interest payments through other operational cash flows, we will place the loans on nonaccrual status. If, based on our analysis, we elect to maintain accrual status after initial payment default, the loan will generally be placed on nonaccrual status if principal or interest payments become 90 days past due.
Current report
The accrual of interest is generally discontinued and all accrued interest is reversed against interest income when a loan is placed on nonaccrual status. Interest received on such loans is accounted for using the cost-recovery or the cash-basis method, until qualifying for return to accrual. Under the cost-recovery method, interest income is not recognized until the loan balance is reduced to zero. Under the cash-basis method, interest payments received by the creditor are recorded as interest income provided the amount does not exceed the amount that would have been earned at the loan’s original effective interest rate. Loans are returned to accrual status when all the principal and interest amounts contractually due are brought current, there is a sustained period of repayment performance, and all remaining principal and interest payments are deemed probable.
Current report
In November 2023, we and our affiliated Joint Ventures restructured loans (the "Restructured Loans") with our largest borrower by restructuring certain outstanding loans with an amortized cost basis of $51.6 million or 59% of the amortized cost basis of the total charged-off asset portfolio loans of our and our affiliated joint ventures. Our share of the Restructured Loans amortized cost basis was $22.2 million, or 57% of our share of the loan book. All Restructured Loans were restructured by term extension, adding a weighted average of 1.5 years to the life of the Restructured Loans, which reduced the monthly payments for the borrower. As of September 30, 2023, we increased the allowance for credit losses related to our largest borrower experiencing financial difficulties. This resulted in an allowance for credit losses on the loans later restructured of $1.0 million as of September 30, 2023. As of December 31, 2024, our allowance for credit losses related to the Restructured Loans was $1.1 million, of which $0.3 million was classified as notes receivable and $0.8 million was recorded within equity method investments. As of December 31, 2023, our allowance for credit losses related to the Restructured Loans was $1.1 million, of which $0.4 million was classified as notes receivable and $0.7 million was recorded within equity method investments.
Current report
Pursuant to the terms of existing credit agreements, our largest borrower was required to collect on underlying charged off and nonperforming consumer loan portfolios and remit a required minimum monthly payment to us. However, this borrower became unable to make the required minimum monthly payments and therefore is in default. While in default, this borrower continues to collect on the underlying charged off and nonperforming consumer loan portfolios but must remit all such net collections to us and senior lenders. These remittances of net collections have not met the amount of the required minimum monthly payments since June of 2024. We determined that (1) it is not probable that the projected cash flows expected from the borrower’s collection efforts on the underlying charged off or nonperforming receivable portfolio will be sufficient to satisfy all of the outstanding principal balance and contractual interest payments, and (2) it is not probable that the borrower will be able to meet the minimum required principal and interest payments through other operational cash flows. We do not expect to realize any return with respect to these loans in 2025, and whether we will realize any return with respect to these loans is uncertain. As we continue to work closely with the borrower and its senior lenders in an effort to mitigate the default in an efficient and effective manner, the impacted loans have been placed in nonaccrual status beginning in June 2024. In addition, there was a balance of $1.5 million from our share of other loans within affiliated Joint Ventures that are impacted by the default with our largest borrower and have been placed in nonaccrual status as of June 2024. Our share of payments received from this borrower, including interest, will be applied against the outstanding loan balance. As of December 31, 2024, the amortized cost basis of loans in nonaccrual status was $23.5 million, of which $5.3 million is recorded within notes receivable and $18.2 million is recorded within equity method investments. There were no loans in nonaccrual status as of December 31, 2023.
Removed paragraphs (4)
Previous report
On May 26, 2023, the Company entered into a promissory note, a business loan agreement and commercial security agreement (collectively, the “2023 Credit Facility”) with C3 Bank. The 2023 Credit Facility provides for a new $7.0 million term loan (the "Term Loan"). The Company is permitted to use the proceeds of the Term Loan solely for its business operations. The maturity date of the Term Loan is April 27, 2028. The Term Loan sets the interest rate spread and interest rate floor to accrue at a variable interest rate, which is based on the rate of interest last quoted by The Wall Street Journal as the “prime rate,” plus a margin of 0.25% and a floor of no less than 6.5%. The Term Loan requires we pay monthly installments over a 5-year term with adjustments for changes in the variable interest rate. As of December 31, 2023, we had an outstanding balance of $6.3 million on the Term Loan.
Previous report
Cash used in investing activities in 2022 of $7.5 million was attributable to our investment in equity method investments of $14.6 million, which $12.2 million related to activity within our Specialty Lending segment, $1.4 million directly related to the acquisition of two pharmaceutical plants, by KNFH LLC, a joint venture, and $1.0 million investment in DHC8 LLC. In addition, we used $8.4 million in funding our investment in notes receivable.
Previous report
Cash used in investing activities during 2022 was offset by cash provided by investing activities of $15.8 million, which consisted primarily of payments received on notes receivable of $3.4 million, return of investment of $5.3 million and cash distributions received from equity method investments of $7.0 million, of which included $0.7 million related to specialty lending activity within our Financial Assets division, $3.8 million from the sale of the remaining real estate assets of CPFH LLC, the joint venture, located in Huntsville, Alabama, and $2.5 million from the sales of real estate and machinery and equipment assets of KNFH LLC.
Previous report
Cash provided by financing activities in 2022 of $0.1 million was primarily attributable $2.9 million in proceeds from draws on our 2021 Credit Facility, offset by aggregate repayment of debt payable to third parties of $2.4 million and repurchase of our common stock under our 2022 Repurchase Program of approximately $0.4 million.
Reworded paragraphs (26)
Previous wording
At December 31, 2023, we had working capital of $11.6 million, as compared to working capital of $7.7 million at December 31, 2022, an increase of $3.9 million.
Current wording
At December 31, 2024, we had working capital of $18.5 million, as compared to working capital of $11.6 million at December 31, 2023, an increase of $6.9 million.
Previous wording
Our current assets increased to $26.3 million at December 31, 2023 compared to $23.9 million at December 31, 2022. The change in our current assets was primarily due to an increase in the current portion of notes receivable of $2.1 million, accounts receivable of $0.9 million, and inventory of $0.5 million, offset by decreases in cash and cash equivalents of $0.4 million and other current assets of $0.7 million.
Current wording
Our current assets increased to $33.1 million at December 31, 2024 compared to $26.3 million at December 31, 2023. The change in our current assets of $6.8 million is primarily due to a decrease in the current portion of notes receivable of $3.2 million and accounts receivable of $0.4 million, offset by increases in cash and cash equivalents of $9.5 million, inventory of $0.3 million, and other current assets of $0.6 million.
Previous wording
Our current liabilities decreased to $14.7 million at December 31, 2023 as compared to $16.2 million at December 31, 2022. The decrease of $1.5 million is primarily due to a decrease in accounts payable and accrued liabilities of $1.7 million and the current portion of third party debt of $1.7 million, offset by an increase in payables to sellers of $1.8 million.
Current wording
Our current liabilities decreased to $14.6 million at December 31, 2024 as compared to $14.7 million at December 31, 2023. The decrease of $0.1 million is primarily due to a decrease in accounts payable and accrued liabilities of $1.2 million and the current portion of third party debt of $1.3 million, offset by an increase in payables to sellers of $2.4 million.
Previous wording
Our indebtedness consists of a promissory note dated August 23, 2021 (the “ALT Note”) issued in the amount of $2.0 million as part of the aggregate purchase price paid to acquire certain assets and liabilities of American Laboratory Trading, any amounts borrowed under the promissory note, business loan agreement, commercial security agreement and pledge agreement (the “2021 Credit Facility”) with C3bank, National Association, for a $10.0 million revolving line of credit, and the Term Loan (as defined below). The terms of the ALT Note require us to pay off the Note in 48 equal installments of approximately $44,000 with an interest rate of 3% per annum and a maturity date of August 23, 2025. As of December 31, 2023, we had an outstanding balance of $0.9 million on the ALT Note.
Current wording
Our indebtedness consists of a promissory note dated August 23, 2021 (the “ALT Note”) issued in the amount of $2.0 million as part of the aggregate purchase price paid to acquire certain assets and liabilities of American Laboratory Trading and any amounts borrowed under the promissory note, business loan agreement, commercial security agreement and pledge agreement (the “2021 Credit Facility”) with C3bank, National Association, for a $10.0 million revolving line of credit.
Previous wording
During 2023, our primary source of cash was the cash on hand, proceeds from the Term Loan and cash provided by our operating activities. Cash disbursements during 2023 consisted primarily of investments in notes receivable net of cash received on transfer of notes to partners of $21.0 million, equity method investments of $17.2 million, repayment on our 2021 Credit Facility of $8.9 million, repayment on our ALT Note of $0.5 million, repayment on our Term Loan of $0.7 million, payment of operating expenses, and settlement of auction liabilities.
Current wording
During 2024, our primary source of cash was the cash on hand, payments received on notes receivable of $11.0 million and $7.7 million of cash provided by our operating activities. Cash disbursements during 2024 consisted primarily of investments in notes receivable of $5.7 million, repurchase of our common stock under our Repurchase Program of approximately $2.2 million, repayments on our ALT Note of $0.5 million, repayments on our Term Loan of $6.3 million (as discussed further under Note 11 – Debt), payment of operating expenses, and settlement of auction liabilities.
Previous wording
At December 31, 2023 and 2022, we had stockholders’ equity of $61.1 million and $48.3 million, respectively.
Current wording
At December 31, 2024 and 2023, we had stockholders’ equity of $65.2 million and $61.1 million, respectively.
Previous wording
We determine our future capital and operating requirements based upon our current and projected operating performance and contractual commitments. We expect to be able to finance our future operations through a combination of working capital, future net cash flows from operating activities, our 2021 Credit Facility and Term Loan. Our contractual requirements are limited to the outstanding debt and lease commitments with related and unrelated parties. Capital requirements are generally limited to our purchases of surplus and distressed assets and our investment activity under our Specialty Lending segment. We believe that our current capital resources, including available borrowing capacity from our 2021 Credit Facility and Term Loan, are sufficient for these requirements. In the event additional capital is needed, we believe we can obtain additional debt financing through capital partners.
Current wording
We determine our future capital and operating requirements based upon our current and projected operating performance and contractual commitments. We expect to be able to finance our future operations through a combination of working capital, future net cash flows from operating activities, and our 2021 Credit Facility. Our contractual requirements are limited to the outstanding debt and lease commitments with related and unrelated parties. Capital requirements are generally limited to our purchases of surplus and distressed assets and our investment activity under our Specialty Lending segment. We believe that our current capital resources, including available borrowing capacity from our 2021 Credit Facility, are sufficient for these requirements. In the event additional capital is needed, we believe we can obtain additional debt financing through capital partners.
Previous wording
Cash and cash equivalents at December 31, 2023 were $12.3 million compared to $12.7 million at December 31, 2022.
Current wording
Cash and cash equivalents at December 31, 2024 were $21.7 million compared to $12.3 million at December 31, 2023.
Previous wording
Cash provided by operating activities. Cash provided by operating activities was $13.0 million during 2023 as compared to $6.5 million during 2022. The approximate $6.5 million change was primarily attributable to a change of $8.6 million in net income adjusted for noncash items during 2023 as compared to 2022, which includes significant changes of a $5.9 million change in earnings from equity method investments and a $5.4 million change in deferred taxes, offset by a $3.0 million decrease in net income. The amount was offset by changes in operating assets and liabilities of $2.0 million during 2023 as compared to 2022.
Current wording
Cash flows from operating activities. Cash provided by operating activities was $7.7 million during 2024 as compared to $13.0 million during 2023. The approximate $5.3 million decrease was primarily attributable to a decrease of $6.3 million in net income adjusted for noncash items during 2024 as compared to 2023, offset by an increase in operating assets and liabilities of $1.0 million during 2024 as compared to 2023.
Previous wording
Cash used in investing activities. Cash used in investing activities during 2023 was $15.9 million, as compared to cash used in investing activities of $7.5 million during 2022.
Current wording
Cash flows from investing activities. Cash provided by investing activities during 2024 was $10.9 million, as compared to cash used in investing activities of $15.9 million during 2023.
Previous wording
Cash used in investing activities during 2023 consisted primarily in investment in notes receivable of $29.8 million and equity method investments of $17.2 million. Cash used in investing activities during 2023 was offset by cash provided by investing activities primarily of cash received on transfer of notes receivable to partners of $8.9 million, payments received on notes receivable of $11.9 million as well as return of investment and cash distributions received from equity method investments of $10.7 million.
Current wording
Cash used in investing activities during 2023 consisted primarily of investments in notes receivable of $29.8 million and equity method investments of $17.2 million. Cash used in investing activities during 2023 was offset by cash provided by investing activities primarily of cash received on transfer of notes receivable to partners of $8.9 million, payments received on notes receivable of $11.9 million as well as return of investment and cash distributions received from equity method investments of $10.7 million.
Previous wording
Cash provided by financing activities. Cash provided by financing activities was $2.5 million during 2023, as compared to cash provided by financing activities of $0.1 million during 2022.
Current wording
Cash flows from financing activities. Cash used in financing activities was $9.1 million during 2024, as compared to cash provided by financing activities of $2.5 million during 2023.
Previous wording
Cash provided by financing activities in 2023 of $2.5 million was primarily attributable to $13.0 million in proceeds from draws on our 2021 Credit Facility and Term Loan, offset by $8.9 million in repayments to our 2021 Credit Facility, $0.7 million in repayments to our Term Loan, $0.5 million in repayments to our ALT Note, as well as repurchase of our common stock under our 2022 Repurchase Program of approximately $0.4 million.
Current wording
Cash provided by financing activities in 2023 of $2.5 million was primarily attributable to $13.0 million in proceeds from draws on our 2021 Credit Facility and Term Loan, offset by $8.9 million in repayments to our 2021 Credit Facility, $0.7 million in repayments to our Term Loan, $0.5 million in repayments to our ALT Note, as well as repurchase of our common stock under our Repurchase Program of approximately $0.4 million.
Previous wording
We report segment information based on the “management” approach. The management approach designates the internal reporting used by management for making decisions and assessing performance as the source of our reportable segments. We manage our business primarily on differentiated revenue streams for services offered. Our reportable segments consist of the Auction and Liquidation segment, Refurbishment & Resale segment, Brokerage segment, and Specialty Lending segment. Our Auction and Liquidation segment, through HGP, operates as a global full-service auction, appraisal and asset advisory firm, including the acquisition of turnkey manufacturing facilities and used industrial machinery and equipment. Our Refurbishment & Resale segment, through ALT, acquires, refurbishes and supplies specialized laboratory equipment. Our Brokerage segment, through NLEX, brokers charged-off receivables in the U.S. and Canada on behalf of financial institutions. Our Specialty Lending segment, through HGC, provides specialty financing solutions to investors in charged-off and nonperforming asset portfolios.
Current wording
We report segment information based on the “management” approach. The management approach designates the internal reporting used by the Chief Operating Decision Maker (CODM), which we determined to be Ross Dove, CEO, for making decisions and assessing performance as the source of our reportable segments. We manage our business primarily on differentiated revenue streams for services offered. Our reportable segments consist of the Auction and Liquidation segment, Refurbishment & Resale segment, Brokerage segment, and Specialty Lending segment. Our Auction and Liquidation segment, through HGP, operates as a global full-service auction, appraisal and asset advisory firm, including the acquisition of turnkey manufacturing facilities and used industrial machinery and equipment. Our Refurbishment & Resale segment, through ALT, acquires, refurbishes and supplies specialized laboratory equipment. Our Brokerage segment, through NLEX, brokers charged-off receivables in the U.S. and Canada on behalf of financial institutions. Our Specialty Lending segment, through HGC, provides specialty financing solutions to investors in charged-off and nonperforming asset portfolios.
Previous wording
We evaluate the performance of our reportable segments based primarily on operating income. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the reported segment operating income for ALT and HGC represents incremental costs for managing these segments as part of their sister segments (HGP for ALT and NLEX for HGC). As such, the reported operating income for ALT and HGC does not represent their true standalone contribution, as we do not attempt to allocate existing fixed divisional overhead costs of the sister divisions to the newer segments. Similarly, corporate overhead cost is not allocated to the operating divisions for management reporting purposes. Further, we do not utilize segmented asset information to evaluate the performance of our reportable segments and do not include intercompany transfers between segments for management reporting purposes.
Current wording
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the reported segment operating income for ALT and HGC represents incremental costs for managing these segments as part of their sister segments (HGP for ALT and NLEX for HGC). As such, the reported operating income for ALT and HGC does not represent their true standalone contribution, as we do not attempt to allocate existing fixed divisional overhead costs of the sister divisions to the newer segments. Similarly, corporate overhead cost is not allocated to the operating divisions for management reporting purposes. Further, we do not utilize segmented asset information to evaluate the performance of our reportable segments and do not include intercompany transfers between segments for management reporting purposes.
Previous wording
The following table sets forth operating income information for the Company's reportable segments (in thousands):
Current wording
The following table sets forth certain financial information for the Company's reportable segments (in thousands):
Previous wording
Revenues and cost of revenues –Revenues were $60.5 million in 2023 as compared to $46.9 million in 2022 and costs of services revenue and asset sales were $20.7 million in 2023 compared to $20.9 million in 2022. This resulted in gross profit of $39.8 million in 2023 compared to $26.0 million in 2022, an increase of approximately $13.8 million or approximately 53%. The increased gross profit in the current year reflects the significant improvement in performance of our core business segments and increased volume in the financial assets division from both the brokerage and specialty lending segments.
Current wording
Revenues and cost of revenues –Revenues were $45.4 million in 2024 as compared to $60.5 million in 2023 and costs of services revenue and asset sales were $14.1 million in 2024 compared to $20.7 million in 2023. This resulted in gross profit of $31.2 million in 2024 compared to $39.8 million in 2023, a decrease of approximately $8.6 million or approximately 22%. The decrease in gross profit in the current year is primarily due to a significant one-time principal auction transaction in our Industrial Asset Division in the first quarter of 2023, as well as decreased volume of transactions within our Brokerage segment as compared to 2023.
Previous wording
Selling, general and administrative expense –Selling, general and administrative expense was $26.0 million in 2023 as compared to $21.3 million in 2022, an increase of $4.7 million or 22%. As compared to 2022 there was an increase in selling, general and administrative expense during 2023 primarily due to increased compensation expense as a result of improved performance across our segments and increased headcount.
Current wording
Selling, general and administrative expense –Selling, general and administrative expense was $24.3 million in 2024 as compared to $26.0 million in 2023, a decrease of $1.8 million or 7%. As compared to 2023 there was a decrease in selling, general and administrative expense during 2024 primarily due to decreased compensation expense as a result of lower performance in certain operational segments.
Previous wording
Depreciation and amortization expense –Depreciation and amortization expense in each of the years ended 2023 and 2022 was $0.5 million and consisted almost entirely of amortization expense related to intangible assets. In both years the depreciation of property, plant and equipment was not material.
Current wording
Depreciation and amortization expense –Depreciation and amortization expense in 2024 was $0.6 million, as compared to $0.5 million in 2023. Depreciation and amortization expense in both years consisted primarily of amortization expense related to intangible assets, while the depreciation of property, plant and equipment was not material.
Previous wording
In 2016, the FASB issued ASU 2016-13, Financial Instruments – Credit Losses (“ASU 2016-13”), which applies a current expected credit loss model, which is a new impairment model based on expected losses rather than incurred losses. The expected credit losses, and subsequent adjustments to such losses, is recorded through an allowance account that is deducted from, or added to, the amortized cost basis of the financial asset, with the net carrying value of the financial asset presented on the consolidated balance sheet at the amount expected to be collected. ASU 2016-13 eliminates the current accounting model for loans and debt securities acquired with deteriorated credit quality under ASC Topic 310-30, Receivables – Loans and Debt Securities Acquired with Deteriorated Credit Quality, which provides authoritative guidance for the accounting of our notes receivable. With respect to smaller reporting companies, the amendments in this update are effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2022, including interim periods within those fiscal years. The adoption of ASU 2016-13 resulted in an adjustment to retained earnings on January 1, 2023 of $0.3 million, and established an expected credit loss reserve against our receivables related to loans outstanding, including those held within equity method investments. The increase is a result of changing from an “incurred loss” model, which encompasses allowances for current known and inherent losses within the portfolio, to an “expected loss” model, which encompasses allowances for losses expected to be incurred over the life of the portfolio. As of December 31, 2023, the allowance for credit losses was $1.7 million, with $0.1 million classified as accounts receivable, $0.7 million classified as notes receivable and $0.9 million classified as equity method investments.
Current wording
In 2016, the Financial Accounting Standards Board ("FASB") issued ASU 2016-13, Financial Instruments – Credit Losses (“ASU 2016-13”), which applies a current expected credit loss model, which is a new impairment model based on expected losses rather than incurred losses. The expected credit losses, and subsequent adjustments to such losses, is recorded through an allowance account that is deducted from, or added to, the amortized cost basis of the financial asset, with the net carrying value of the financial asset presented on the consolidated balance sheet at the amount expected to be collected. ASU 2016-13 eliminates the current accounting model for loans and debt securities acquired with deteriorated credit quality under ASC Topic 310-30, Receivables – Loans and Debt Securities Acquired with Deteriorated Credit Quality, which provides authoritative guidance for the accounting of our notes receivable. With respect to smaller reporting companies, the amendments in this update are effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2022, including interim periods within those fiscal years. The adoption of ASU 2016-13 resulted in an adjustment to retained earnings on January 1, 2023 of $0.3 million, and established an expected credit loss reserve against our receivables related to loans outstanding, including those held within equity method investments. The increase is a result of changing from an “incurred loss” model, which encompasses allowances for current known and inherent losses within the portfolio, to an “expected loss” model, which encompasses allowances for losses expected to be incurred over the life of the portfolio. As of December 31, 2024, the allowance for credit losses was $1.5 million, with $0.1 million classified as accounts receivable, $0.4 million classified as notes receivable and $1.0 million classified as equity method investments. As of December 31, 2023, the allowance for credit losses was $1.7 million, with $0.1 million classified as accounts receivable, $0.7 million classified as notes receivable and $0.9 million classified as equity method investments.
Previous wording
All services and asset sales revenue from contracts with customers consists of three of our reportable segments: Auction and Liquidation, Refurbishment & Resale, and Brokerage segments. Generally, revenue is recognized at the point in time in which the performance obligation has been satisfied and full consideration is received. The exception to recognition at this point in time occurs when certain contracts provide for advance payments recognized over a period of time. Services revenue recognized over a period of time is not material in comparison to total revenues (less than 1% of total revenues for the year ended December 31, 2023), and therefore not reported on a disaggregated basis. Further, as certain contracts stipulate that the customer make advance payments, amounts not recognized within the reporting period are considered deferred revenue and our “contract liability”. As of December 31, 2023, the deferred revenue balance was $0.5 million. The deferred revenue balance is primarily related to customer deposits on asset sales within our Refurbishment & Resale segment. We record receivables in certain situations based on timing of payments for Auction and Liquidation transactions held at the end of the reporting period; however, revenue is generally recognized in the period that we satisfy the performance obligation and cash is collected. We do not record a “contract asset” for partially satisfied performance obligations.
Current wording
All services and asset sales revenue from contracts with customers consists of three of our reportable segments: Auction and Liquidation, Refurbishment & Resale, and Brokerage segments. Generally, revenue is recognized at the point in time in which the performance obligation has been satisfied and full consideration is received. The exception to recognition at this point in time occurs when certain contracts provide for advance payments recognized over a period of time. Services revenue recognized over a period of time is not material in comparison to total revenues (less than 1% of total revenues for the year ended December 31, 2024), and therefore not reported on a disaggregated basis. Further, as certain contracts stipulate that the customer make advance payments, amounts not recognized within the reporting period are considered deferred revenue and our “contract liability”. As of December 31, 2024, 2023 and 2022, the deferred revenue balance was approximately $0.6 million, $0.5 million and $0.4 million, respectively, and is recorded within accounts payable and accrued liabilities on the consolidated balance sheet. The deferred revenue balance is primarily related to customer deposits on asset sales within our Refurbishment & Resale segment. We record receivables in certain situations based on timing of payments for Auction and Liquidation transactions held at the end of the reporting period; however, revenue is generally recognized in the period that we satisfy the performance obligation and cash is collected. We do not record a “contract asset” for partially satisfied performance obligations.
Previous wording
The loan origination fees are offset with any direct origination costs and are deferred upon issuance of the loan and amortized over the lives of the related loans, as an adjustment to interest income. The interest method is used to arrive at a periodic interest cost (including amortization) that will represent a level effective rate on the sum of the face amount of the debt and (plus or minus) the unamortized premium or discount and expense at the beginning of each period.
Current wording
For both the Specialty Lending and Refurbishment and Resale segments, loan origination fees are offset with any direct origination costs and are deferred upon issuance of the loan and amortized over the lives of the related loans, as an adjustment to interest income. The interest method is used to arrive at a periodic interest cost (including amortization) that will represent a level effective rate on the sum of the face amount of the debt and (plus or minus) the unamortized premium or discount and expense at the beginning of each period.
Previous wording
We adopted ASU 2016-13, Financial Instruments – Credit Losses (Topic 326): Measurement of Credit Losses on Financial Instruments (“ASC 326”) on January 1, 2023, which requires the application of a credit loss model based prospectively on current expected credit losses (CECL). Under ASC 326, we elected to evaluate notes receivable as a single pool, for individual notes receivable and borrowers with similar risk characteristics. Notes receivable and borrowers that do not share risk characteristics are evaluated on an individual basis. Management estimates the allowance for credit losses using relevant available information from internal and external sources relating to past events, current conditions and reasonable and supportable forecasts. As we lack historical internal data, we observe that our notes receivable are similar in character to transactions undertaken by smaller banking institutions. We elect to base our estimation of expected credit losses on the Scaled Current Expected Credit Loss (CECL) Allowance Loss Estimator ("SCALE rate") available from the Federal Reserve, which was 1.3231% as of January 1, 2023. To reflect the cumulative effects of the adoption of ASC 326, we recorded the allowance for credit losses and an increase to accumulated deficit of $0.2 million on the January 1, 2023 consolidated balance sheet, and balance of the allowance for credit losses was therefore $0.2 million as of January 1, 2023.
Current wording
We adopted ASU 2016-13, Financial Instruments – Credit Losses (Topic 326): Measurement of Credit Losses on Financial Instruments (“ASC 326”) on January 1, 2023, which requires the application of a credit loss model based prospectively on current expected credit losses (CECL). Under ASC 326, we elected to evaluate notes receivable as a single pool, for individual notes receivable and borrowers with similar risk characteristics. Notes receivable and borrowers that do not share risk characteristics are evaluated on an individual basis. Management estimates the allowance for credit losses using relevant available information from internal and external sources relating to past events, current conditions and reasonable and supportable forecasts. As we lack historical internal data, we observe that our notes receivable are similar in character to transactions undertaken by smaller banking institutions. We elect to base our estimation of expected credit losses on the Scaled Current Expected Credit Loss (CECL) Allowance Loss Estimator ("SCALE rate") available from the Federal Reserve, which was 1.3231% as of January 1, 2023. To reflect the cumulative effects of the adoption of ASC 326, we recorded the allowance for credit losses and an increase to accumulated deficit of $0.2 million and deferred tax asset of $0.1 million on the January 1, 2023 consolidated balance sheet, and balance of the allowance for credit losses was therefore $0.3 million as of January 1, 2023.
Previous wording
In order to evaluate the need for an adjustment to the receivable balance related to credit losses, or impairment, we perform a review of all outstanding loan receivables on a quarterly basis to determine if any indicators exist that suggest the loan will not be fully recoverable. As of December 31, 2023, the SCALE rate increased to 1.4183% and our credit loss rate specific to notes receivable was 3.6%. The increase over the SCALE rate was due to both risks with the concentrated balance and declining collections industry-wide. As of December 31, 2023, we have recorded an allowance for credit losses related to notes receivable outstanding of $0.7 million.
Current wording
In order to evaluate the need for an adjustment to the receivable balance related to credit losses, or impairment, we perform a review of all outstanding loan receivables on a quarterly basis to determine if any indicators exist that suggest the loan will not be fully recoverable. As of December 31, 2024, the SCALE rate increased to 1.3644% and our credit loss rate specific to notes receivable was 3.7%. The increase over the SCALE rate was due to both risks with the concentrated balance and declining collections industry-wide. As of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, our allowance for credit losses related to notes receivable outstanding was $0.4 million and $0.7 million, respectively.
Previous wording
Upon adoption of ASC 326 on January 1, 2023, we evaluated the receivable balances held by our affiliated joint ventures and recorded an adjustment to reduce earnings from equity method investments by our share of the allowance for credit losses recorded on the joint ventures’ books of $0.2 million. Similar to notes receivable, the loans held by the joint ventures are evaluated on a quarterly basis to determine if an adjustment to the allowance for credit losses is needed. As of December 31, 2023, the SCALE rate increased to 1.4183% and the credit loss rate specific to equity method investments was 4.3%. The increase over the SCALE rate was due to both risks with the concentrated balance and declining collections industry-wide. As of December 31, 2023, we have recorded an allowance for credit losses related to its equity method investments of $0.9 million.
Current wording
Upon adoption of ASC 326 on January 1, 2023, we evaluated the receivable balances held by our affiliated Joint Ventures and recorded an adjustment to reduce earnings from equity method investments by our share of the allowance for credit losses recorded on the Joint Ventures’ books of $0.2 million. Similar to notes receivable, the loans held by the Joint Ventures are evaluated on a quarterly basis to determine if an adjustment to the allowance for credit losses is needed. As of December 31, 2024, the SCALE rate increased to 1.3644% and the credit loss rate specific to equity method investments was 4.5%. The increase over the SCALE rate was due to both risks with the concentrated balance and declining collections industry-wide. As of December 31, 2024 and December 31, 2023, we have recorded an allowance for credit losses related to its equity method investments of $1.0 million and $0.9 million, respectively.
Previous wording
We recognize deferred tax assets and liabilities for temporary differences between the tax basis of assets and liabilities and the amounts at which they are carried in the financial statements, based upon the enacted tax rates in effect for the year in which the differences are expected to reverse. We periodically assess the recoverability of our deferred tax assets, which have been generated by a history of net operating and net capital losses, and determine the necessity for a valuation allowance that will reduce deferred tax assets to the amount expected to be realized. We evaluate which portion of the deferred tax assets, if any, will more likely than not be realized by offsetting future taxable income, taking into consideration any limitations that may exist on our use of our net operating and net capital loss carryforwards. In the fourth quarter of 2022, we recorded a reduction to the valuation allowance resulting in a net deferred tax asset balance of approximately $9.4 million as we believe that it was more likely than not that a significant portion of our net operating loss carryforwards will be utilized. In the fourth quarter of 2023, we further reduced the valuation allowance by $2.2, resulting in a net deferred tax asset balance of approximately $9.1 million, to align with our updated forecasts. For further discussion of our income taxes, see Note 14 to our consolidated financial statements.
Current wording
We recognize deferred tax assets and liabilities for temporary differences between the tax basis of assets and liabilities and the amounts at which they are carried in the financial statements, based upon the enacted tax rates in effect for the year in which the differences are expected to reverse. We periodically assess the recoverability of our deferred tax assets, which have been generated by a history of net operating and net capital losses, and determine the necessity for a valuation allowance that will reduce deferred tax assets to the amount expected to be realized. We evaluate which portion of the deferred tax assets, if any, will more likely than not be realized by offsetting future taxable income, taking into consideration any limitations that may exist on our use of our net operating and net capital loss carryforwards. In 2023, we recorded a reduction to the valuation allowance of $2.2 million resulting in a net deferred tax asset balance of approximately $9.1 million as we believed that it was more likely than not that a significant portion of our net operating loss carryforwards will be utilized. In 2024, we increased the valuation allowance by $1.3 million, resulting in a net deferred tax asset balance of approximately $6.0 million. The change to the valuation allowance was primarily due to the application of our nonaccrual loan policy, which resulted in a decrease to our estimates related to the utilization of net operating loss carryforwards in 2025. For further discussion of our income taxes, see Note 13 to our consolidated financial statements.
Rearranged current paragraphs (3)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
The terms of the ALT Note require us to pay off the Note in 48 equal installments of approximately $44,000 with an interest rate of 3% per annum and a maturity date of August 23, 2025. As of December 31, 2024, we had an outstanding balance of $0.4 million on the ALT Note.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
Cash provided by investing activities during 2024 consisted primarily of payments received on notes receivable of $11.0 million as well as return of investment and cash distributions received from equity method investments of $6.0 million. Cash provided by investing activities during 2024 was offset by cash used in investing activities consisting primarily of investments in notes receivable of $5.7 million and equity method investments of $0.3 million.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
Cash used in financing activities in 2024 of $9.1 million was primarily attributable to $6.3 million in repayments to our Term Loan (as discussed further under Note 11 – Debt), $0.5 million in repayments to our ALT Note, as well as repurchase of our common stock under our Repurchase Program of approximately $2.2 million.