CINTAS CORP
For the period ended May 31, 2026. Filed Jul 29, 2026.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2026 · Filed Jul 29, 2026
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-05-31; filed 2025-07-28.
0000723254-25-000017
Item 7. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2026-05-31; filed 2026-07-29.
0000723254-26-000028
Item 7. Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 82 previous paragraphs and 85 current paragraphs.
43 unchanged; 36 reworded; 6 added; 3 removed; 0 previous and 0 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 11 previous and 11 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (6)
Current report
On March 10, 2026, the Company entered into a Merger Agreement pursuant to which the Company will acquire all outstanding shares of UniFirst common stock. UniFirst is a North American company in the supply and servicing of uniform and workwear programs, facility service products, as well as first aid and safety supplies and services. Under the terms of the Merger Agreement, subject to the satisfaction (or, to the extent permitted by applicable law in accordance with the Merger Agreement, waiver) of certain conditions, Cintas will acquire all the outstanding shares of UniFirst common stock in a transaction valued at approximately $5.5 billion. Each share of UniFirst common stock will be converted into the right to receive $155.00 in cash and 0.7720 shares of validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable Cintas common stock, with no par value (with, if applicable, cash in lieu of fractional shares), in each case without interest and subject to any applicable withholding taxes. Completion of the Transaction is subject to a number of conditions, including, among others, the receipt of required regulatory approvals, including the expiration or termination of applicable waiting periods under the HSR Act.
Current report
As a result of the Transaction with UniFirst, the Company incurred $16.1 million in transaction expenses in fiscal 2026 which relate primarily to legal and professional services, regulatory fees and financing fees. Of the $16.1 million, $15.1 million was recorded in selling and administrative expenses, and $1.0 million was recorded in interest expense, on the consolidated statements of income. No transaction expenses were incurred in fiscal 2025.
Current report
During the fiscal year ended May 31, 2026, Cintas paid $5.2 million in prepaid short term debt financing fees related to bridge loan financing in connection with the Transaction.
Current report
In connection with the Transaction, we also entered into a commitment letter on March 10, 2026 with certain debt commitment parties, who have committed to provide a 364-day senior unsecured bridge facility in an aggregate principal amount of $2.85 billion (the Bridge Facility) consisting of two separate tranches. The funding of the Bridge Facility provided for in the commitment letter is subject to the satisfaction of certain customary limited conditions, including the consummation of the mergers in accordance with the merger agreement and the execution and delivery of definitive documentation with respect to the Bridge Facility in accordance with the terms set forth in the commitment letter. As of May 31, 2026, there was no borrowings on our Bridge Facility.
Current report
The Credit Agreement includes, among other things, “certain funds” provisions pursuant to which $1.25 billion of the commitments under the Credit Agreement are available for, subject to the satisfaction of certain limited conditions (including the consummation of the mergers in accordance with the merger agreement), the consummation of the Transaction. The commitments under one of the two tranches of the Bridge Facility were replaced by the revolving credit facility.
Current report
In September 2025, the FASB issued ASU 2025-06, Intangibles - Goodwill and Other - Internal-Use Software (Subtopic 350-40): Targeted Improvements to the Accounting for Internal-Use Software (ASU 2025-06), which amends the guidance in Accounting Standards Codification (ASC) 350-40, Intangibles—Goodwill and Other—Internal-Use Software. The amendments modernize the recognition and disclosure framework for internal-use software costs, removing the previous “development stage” model and introducing a more judgment-based approach. ASU 2025-06 is effective for fiscal years beginning after December 15, 2027 (fiscal 2029) and for interim periods within those annual reporting periods, with early adoption permitted. The Company is currently evaluating the impact of ASU 2025-06 on the consolidated financial statements.
Removed paragraphs (3)
Previous report
On April 15, 2025, in accordance with the terms of the senior notes, Cintas paid the $50.0 million aggregate principal amount outstanding of its 3.11%, private placement, 10-year senior notes that matured on that date with cash on hand. On May 1, 2025, in accordance with the terms of the senior notes, Cintas paid the $400.0 million aggregate principal outstanding of its 3.45%, 3-year senior notes that matured on that date with cash on hand. On May 2, 2025, Cintas issued $400.0 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes that bear an interest rate of 4.20% and mature on May 1, 2028.
Previous report
(1) Cintas assumed these senior notes with the acquisition of G&K Services, Inc. (G&K) in fiscal 2017, and they were recorded at fair value. The interest rate shown above is the effective interest rate until repayment in fiscal 2025.
Previous report
In November 2023, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) issued Accounting Standards Update (ASU) 2023-07, Segment Reporting (Topic 280), Improvements to Reportable Segment Disclosures(ASU 2023-07). ASU 2023-07 requires additional disclosures pertaining to significant expenses that are regularly provided to the CODM and other items of an entity’s reportable operating segments. This standard was adopted by Cintas on May 31, 2025 and did not have a material impact on the Company's consolidated financial statements.
Reworded paragraphs (36)
Previous wording
Fiscal 2025 total revenue was $10.3 billion, an increase of 7.7% over the prior fiscal year. Revenue increased organically by 8.0% primarily as a result of increased sales volume. Organic revenue growth adjusts for the impact of acquisitions, workday differences and foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Total revenue was positively impacted by 0.8% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.2% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations.
Current wording
Fiscal 2026 total revenue was $11.3 billion, an increase of 8.9% over the prior fiscal year. Revenue increased organically by 8.3% primarily as a result of increased sales volume. Organic revenue growth adjusts for the impact of acquisitions and foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Total revenue was positively impacted by 0.6% due to acquisitions.
Previous wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue consists predominantly of revenue derived from the rental of corporate identity uniforms and other garments, including flame resistant clothing and the rental and/or sale of mats, mops, shop towels, restroom supplies and other rental services. Revenue from the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased 6.8%, to $7,976.1 million compared to $7,465.2 million in fiscal 2024. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 7.0%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.8% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Revenue growth was a result of new business, the penetration of additional products and services into existing customers and price increases, partially offset by lost business. New business growth resulted from an increase in the number and productivity of sales representatives. Generally, sales productivity improvements are due to increased tenure and improved training, which produce a higher number of products and services sold.
Current wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue consists predominantly of revenue derived from the rental of corporate identity uniforms and other garments, including flame resistant clothing and the rental and/or sale of mats, mops, shop towels, restroom supplies and other rental services. Revenue from the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased 8.1%, to $8,621.6 million compared to $7,976.1 million in fiscal 2025. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 7.6%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.4% due to acquisitions and 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. Revenue growth was a result of new business, the penetration of additional products and services into existing customers and price increases, partially offset by lost business. New business growth resulted from an increase in the number and productivity of sales representatives. Generally, sales productivity improvements are due to increased tenure and improved training, which produce a higher number of products and services sold.
Previous wording
Other revenue, consisting of revenue from the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other, increased 10.9%, to $2,364.1 million compared to $2,131.4 million in fiscal 2024. Revenue improved from increases in sales representative productivity and price increases. Revenue increased organically by 11.3%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.6% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations.
Current wording
Other revenue, consisting of revenue from the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other, increased 11.8%, to $2,643.1 million compared to $2,364.1 million in fiscal 2025. Revenue improved from increases in sales representative productivity and price increases. Revenue increased organically by 10.6%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 1.2% due to acquisitions.
Previous wording
Cost of uniform rental and facility services increased 4.5% compared to fiscal 2024. Cost of uniform rental and facility services consists primarily of production expenses, delivery expenses and the amortization of in-service inventory, including uniforms, mats, shop towels and other ancillary items. The change from the prior year was primarily due to higher Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment sales volume, as well as an increase in material cost to support increased revenue growth. The cost of uniform rental and facility services as a percent of revenue improved compared to fiscal 2024 from 51.8% to 50.7% primarily due to efficiency gains in energy usage, more efficient use of in-service inventory and production efficiency gains.
Current wording
Cost of uniform rental and facility services increased 6.7% compared to fiscal 2025. Cost of uniform rental and facility services consists primarily of production expenses, delivery expenses and the amortization of in-service inventory, including uniforms, mats, shop towels and other ancillary items. The change from the prior year was primarily due to higher Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment sales volume, as well as an increase in material cost to support increased revenue growth. As a percent of revenue, the cost of uniform rental and facility services improved from 50.7% in fiscal 2025, to 50.0% in fiscal 2026, primarily due to more efficient use of in-service inventory and production efficiency gains.
Previous wording
Cost of other consists primarily of cost of goods sold (predominantly first aid and safety products, personal protective equipment, uniforms and fire protection products), delivery expenses and distribution expenses in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other. Cost of other increased 7.7% in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024, as a result of higher other revenue, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 47.6%, compared to 49.0% in fiscal 2024. The improvement in cost of sales as a percent to revenue was primarily due to favorable changes in the sales mix and sourcing and productivity initiatives in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment.
Current wording
Cost of other consists primarily of cost of goods sold (predominantly first aid and safety products, personal protective equipment, uniforms and fire protection products), delivery expenses and distribution expenses in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and All Other. Cost of other increased 10.6% in fiscal 2026 compared to fiscal 2025, as a result of higher other revenue, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 47.1%, compared to 47.6% in fiscal 2025. The improvement in cost of sales as a percent to revenue was primarily due to favorable changes in the sales mix and sourcing and productivity initiatives in the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment.
Previous wording
Selling and administrative expenses increased $196.7 million, to 27.2% as a percent of revenue, compared to 27.3% in fiscal 2024. In fiscal 2025 we recorded a $15 million gain on a sale of property, and in fiscal 2024 we recorded $15 million associated with a legal settlement, both of which impacted all segments by the same percent of revenue. Excluding those items, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue increased from fiscal 2024 to fiscal 2025. The resulting increase as a percent of revenue was primarily due to investments in technology and additional selling resources.
Current wording
Selling and administrative expenses increased $271.7 million, to 27.4% as a percent of revenue, compared to 27.2% in fiscal 2025. In fiscal 2025 we recorded a $15.0 million gain on a sale of property which impacted all segments by the same percent of revenue of approximately 0.2%. Excluding that gain on the sale of property, selling and administrative expenses were consistent from fiscal 2025 to fiscal 2026.
Previous wording
Net interest expense (interest expense less interest income) was $95.5 million in fiscal 2025 compared to $95.0 million in fiscal 2024. Net interest expense was the same as a percent of revenue.
Current wording
Net interest expense (interest expense less interest income) was $101.2 million in fiscal 2026 compared to $95.5 million in fiscal 2025 but was the same as a percent of revenue.
Previous wording
Income before income taxes was $2,264.2 million, an increase of $290.6 million, or 14.7%, compared to fiscal 2024. The increase in income before income taxes was primarily due to revenue growth, as well as the improvements in gross margin previously mentioned.
Current wording
Income before income taxes was $2,505.3 million, an increase of $241.1 million, or 10.6%, compared to fiscal 2025. The increase in income before income taxes was primarily due to revenue growth, as well as the improvements in gross margin previously mentioned.
Previous wording
Cintas' effective tax rate for fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024 was 20.0% and 20.4%, respectively. The effective tax rate in both periods was impacted by certain discrete items, primarily the tax accounting impact for stock-based compensation.
Current wording
Cintas' effective tax rate for fiscal 2026 and fiscal 2025 was 20.2% and 20.0%, respectively. The effective tax rate in both periods was impacted by certain discrete items, primarily the tax accounting impact for stock-based compensation.
Previous wording
Net income for fiscal 2025 of $1,812.3 million was a 15.3% increase compared to fiscal 2024. Diluted earnings per share of $4.40 was a 16.1% increase compared to fiscal 2024 diluted earnings per share of $3.79. Diluted earnings per share increased primarily due to the increase in net income.
Current wording
Net income for fiscal 2026 of $2,000.0 million was a 10.4% increase compared to fiscal 2025. Diluted earnings per share of $4.91 was an 11.6% increase compared to fiscal 2025 diluted earnings per share of $4.40. Diluted earnings per share increased primarily due to the increase in net income.
Previous wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $510.9 million, or 6.8%, and the cost of uniform rental and facility services increased $175.8 million, or 4.5%, due to the reasons previously discussed. The reportable operating segment's fiscal 2025 gross margin was 49.3% of revenue compared to 48.2% in fiscal 2024. The improvement in gross margin was primarily due to efficiency gains in energy usage, more efficient use of in-service inventory and production efficiency gains.
Current wording
Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $645.6 million, or 8.1%, and the cost of uniform rental and facility services increased $271.2 million, or 6.7%, due to the reasons previously discussed. The reportable operating segment's fiscal 2026 gross margin was 50.0% of revenue compared to 49.3% in fiscal 2025. The improvement in gross margin was primarily due to more efficient use of in-service inventory and production efficiency gains.
Previous wording
Selling and administrative expenses for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $121.2 million in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 in order to support revenue growth as well as invest in technology and selling resources. Selling and administrative expense as a percent of revenue for fiscal 2025 was 25.8% compared to 26.0% in fiscal 2024. Excluding the items noted previously, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue were largely consistent as compared to the prior fiscal year.
Current wording
Selling and administrative expenses for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $170.7 million in fiscal 2026 compared to fiscal 2025 in order to support revenue growth as well as invest in technology and selling resources. Selling and administrative expense as a percent of revenue for fiscal 2026 was 25.9% compared to 25.8% in fiscal 2025. Excluding the gain on sale of property noted previously, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue were largely consistent as compared to the prior fiscal year.
Previous wording
Income before income taxes for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $213.9 million, or 12.9%, for fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024. The increase in income before income taxes was due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin. Income before income taxes as a percent of revenue was 23.5% compared to 22.2% in fiscal 2024. The improvement over the prior fiscal year was primarily a result of the previously discussed improvement in gross margin.
Current wording
Operating income for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment increased $203.6 million, or 10.9%, for fiscal 2026 compared to fiscal 2025. The increase in operating income was due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin. Operating income as a percent of revenue was 24.1% compared to 23.5% in fiscal 2025. The improvement over the prior fiscal year was primarily a result of the previously discussed improvement in gross margin.
Previous wording
First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $150.8 million in fiscal 2025, a 14.1% increase compared to fiscal 2024. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 15.0%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.1% due to acquisitions, negatively impacted by 0.9% due to two less workdays in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024 and negatively impacted by 0.1% due to foreign currency exchange rate fluctuations. The increase in revenue was driven by many factors including increases in new business sold by sales representatives, penetration of additional products and services into existing customers, price increases and strong customer retention.
Current wording
First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment revenue increased $173.8 million in fiscal 2026, a 14.3% increase compared to fiscal 2025. Organic revenue growth for this reportable operating segment was 14.0%. Revenue growth was positively impacted by 0.3% due to acquisitions. The increase in revenue was driven by many factors including increases in new business sold by sales representatives, penetration of additional products and services into existing customers, price increases and strong customer retention.
Previous wording
Cost of sales for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased $46.8 million, or 9.9%, in fiscal 2025, due to higher sales volume. Gross margin for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment is defined as revenue less cost of goods, warehouse expenses and service expenses. Gross margin as a percent of revenue was 57.2% for fiscal 2025 compared to 55.5% in fiscal 2024. The improvement in gross margin as a percent of revenue was primarily driven by favorable changes in the sales mix, sourcing and productivity initiatives, as well as improved leverage of fixed costs and a reduction in energy expense as a percent of revenue.
Current wording
Cost of sales for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased $67.9 million, or 13.0%, in fiscal 2026, due to higher sales volume. Gross margin for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment is defined as revenue less cost of goods, warehouse expenses and service expenses. Gross margin as a percent of revenue was 57.7% for fiscal 2026 compared to 57.2% in fiscal 2025. The improvement in gross margin as a percent of revenue was primarily driven by favorable changes in the sales mix, sourcing and productivity initiatives, as well as improved leverage of fixed costs and a reduction in energy expense as a percent of revenue.
Previous wording
Selling and administrative expenses for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased by $48.4 million, or 13.7%, in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 33.0% in fiscal 2025 compared to 33.1% in fiscal 2024. Excluding the items noted previously, selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue were largely consistent as compared to the prior fiscal year.
Current wording
Selling and administrative expenses for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment increased by $47.2 million, or 11.7%, in fiscal 2026 compared to fiscal 2025, but decreased as a percent of revenue to 32.3% in fiscal 2026 compared to 33.0% in fiscal 2025. The improvement in selling and administrative expenses as a percent of revenue was largely due to operating leverage as revenue grew at a faster rate than expenses.
Previous wording
Income before income taxes for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment was $294.7 million in fiscal 2025, an increase of $55.6 million, or 23.2%, compared to fiscal 2024. Income before income taxes as a percent of revenue at 24.2%, increased from 22.4% in fiscal 2024 due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin.
Current wording
Operating income for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment was $353.4 million in fiscal 2026, an increase of $58.7 million, or 19.9%, compared to fiscal 2025. Operating income as a percent of revenue at 25.4%, increased from 24.2% in fiscal 2025 due to the previously discussed growth in revenue and improvements in gross margin and selling and administrative expenses.
Previous wording
Cash and cash equivalents as of May 31, 2025 and 2024, include $57.8 million and $42.1 million, respectively, that is located outside of the U.S.
Current wording
Cash and cash equivalents as of May 31, 2026 and 2025, include $78.5 million and $57.8 million, respectively, that is located outside of the U.S.
Previous wording
We expect our cash flows from operating activities to remain sufficient to provide us with adequate levels of liquidity. In addition, we have access to $2.0 billion of debt capacity from our amended and restated revolving credit facility. We believe the Company has sufficient liquidity to operate in the current business environment for at least the next 12 months and the foreseeable future thereafter. Acquisitions, repurchases of our common stock and dividends remain strategic objectives, but they will be dependent on the economic outlook and liquidity of the Company.
Current wording
We expect our cash flows from operating activities to remain sufficient to provide us with adequate levels of liquidity. In addition, we have access to $2.0 billion of debt capacity from our revolving credit facility under our credit agreement. We believe the Company has sufficient liquidity to operate in the current business environment for at least the next 12 months and the foreseeable future thereafter. Acquisitions, repurchases of our common stock and dividends remain strategic objectives, but they will be dependent on the economic outlook and liquidity of the Company.
Previous wording
Net cash provided by operating activities was $2,165.9 million for fiscal 2025, which was an increase of $97.4 million, or 4.7%, compared to fiscal 2024. The increase was primarily the result of an increase in net income and favorable changes in working capital, primarily accounts payable and accrued compensation and related liabilities. These improvements were partially offset by unfavorable changes in working capital, specifically inventories, net, accounts receivable, net and uniforms and other rental items in service.
Current wording
Net cash provided by operating activities was $2,276.3 million for fiscal 2026, which was an increase of $110.4 million, or 5.1%, compared to fiscal 2025. The increase was primarily the result of an increase in net income, deferred income taxes and favorable changes in working capital, primarily income taxes, current, accounts receivable, net, and inventories, net. These improvements were partially offset by unfavorable changes in working capital, specifically accounts payable, accrued liabilities and other, and uniforms and other rental items in service.
Previous wording
Net cash used in investing activities was $623.6 million in fiscal 2025, compared to $603.3 million in fiscal 2024. Net cash used in investing activities includes capital expenditures, purchases of investments and cash paid for acquisitions of businesses. These outflows were partially offset by proceeds from the sale of property. Capital expenditures were $408.9 million and $409.5 million for fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively. Capital expenditures for fiscal 2025 included $301.6 million for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment and $55.4 million for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment. Cash paid for acquisitions of businesses, net of cash acquired, was $232.9 million and $186.8 million for fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively. The acquisitions in both fiscal 2025 and 2024 occurred in our Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment, our First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and our Fire Protection operating segment, which is included in All Other. In addition, during fiscal 2025, Cintas received cash proceeds of $24.0 million related to the sale of property and equipment. Net cash used in investing activities also included $7.2 million and $7.5 million of purchases of investments during fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively.
Current wording
Net cash used in investing activities was $568.4 million in fiscal 2026, compared to $623.6 million in fiscal 2025. Net cash used in investing activities includes capital expenditures, purchases of investments and cash paid for acquisitions of businesses. Capital expenditures were $395.1 million and $408.9 million for fiscal 2026 and fiscal 2025, respectively. Capital expenditures for fiscal 2026 included $279.4 million for the Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment and $59.0 million for the First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment. Cash paid for acquisitions of businesses, net of cash acquired, was $164.5 million and $232.9 million for fiscal 2026 and fiscal 2025, respectively. The acquisitions in both fiscal 2026 and 2025 occurred in our Uniform Rental and Facility Services reportable operating segment, our First Aid and Safety Services reportable operating segment and our Fire Protection operating segment, which is included in All Other. In addition, during fiscal 2025, Cintas received cash proceeds of $24.0 million related to the sale of property and equipment. Net cash used in investing activities also included $8.3 million and $7.2 million of purchases of investments during fiscal 2026 and fiscal 2025, respectively.
Previous wording
Net cash used in financing activities was $1,619.0 million for fiscal 2025, compared to $1,247.5 million in fiscal 2024. The increase in cash used in financing activities was due to the increase in repayment of debt, share buyback activity and an increase in dividends paid. These increases were partially offset by an increase in proceeds from the issuance of debt in fiscal 2025 compared to fiscal 2024.
Current wording
Net cash used in financing activities was $1,682.1 million for fiscal 2026, compared to $1,619.0 million in fiscal 2025. The increase in cash used in financing activities was primarily due to an increase in dividends paid, repurchases of common stock and debt issuance costs.
Previous wording
Cintas announced on July 27, 2021, that the Board authorized a $1.5 billion share buyback program, which was completed during the fourth quarter of fiscal 2024. On July 26, 2022 and July 23, 2024, Cintas announced that the Board authorized new share buyback programs, each for $1.0 billion. Neither of the outstanding share buyback programs have an expiration date.
Current wording
On July 26, 2022, July 23, 2024 and October 28, 2025, Cintas announced that the Board authorized share buyback programs, each for $1.0 billion. The July 26, 2022 share buyback program was completed during the second quarter of fiscal 2026. Neither of the outstanding share buyback programs have an expiration date.
Previous wording
There were no share buybacks in the period subsequent to May 31, 2025, through July 28, 2025. From the inception of the July 26, 2022 share buyback program through July 28, 2025, Cintas has purchased 4.1 million shares of Cintas common stock in the aggregate, at an average price of $178.20 per share, for a total purchase price of $736.4 million. Cintas has made no purchases under the July 23, 2024 share buyback program.
Current wording
In the period subsequent to May 31, 2026, through July 29, 2026, we purchased 0.2 million shares of Cintas common stock at an average price of $199.70 per share, for a total purchase price of $48.4 million. From the inception of the July 23, 2024 share buyback program through July 29, 2026, Cintas has purchased 2.9 million shares of Cintas common stock in the aggregate, at an average price of $191.99 per share, for a total purchase price of $562.7 million. Cintas has made no purchases under the October 28, 2025 share buyback program.
Previous wording
Our Board of Directors declared the following dividends:
Current wording
Our Board declared the following dividends:
Previous wording
During the fiscal year ended May 31, 2024, Cintas repurchased and subsequently retired, $13.5 million of its 6.15%, 30-year senior notes. In conjunction with these transactions, Cintas recognized a loss of $0.9 million, which is recorded in interest expense on the consolidated statement of income for the fiscal year ended May 31, 2024. The following table summarizes Cintas' outstanding debt at May 31:
Current wording
The following table summarizes Cintas' outstanding debt at May 31:
Previous wording
The credit agreement that supports our commercial paper program has capacity under the revolving credit facility of $2.0 billion. The credit agreement has an accordion feature that provides Cintas the ability to request increases to the borrowing commitments under the revolving credit facility of up to $500.0 million in the aggregate, subject to customary conditions. The maturity date of the revolving credit facility is March 23, 2027. As of both May 31, 2025 and 2024, there was no commercial paper outstanding and no borrowings on our revolving credit facility.
Current wording
Cintas Corporation No. 2 (Corp. 2) entered into a credit agreement which supports our commercial paper program on March 27, 2026 (the Credit Agreement). The Credit Agreement has capacity under the revolving credit facility of $2.0 billion and contains a letter of credit sub-facility of up to $300.0 million and a swing line sub-facility of up to $150.0 million. The Credit Agreement has an accordion feature that provides Cintas with the ability to request increases to the borrowing commitments under the revolving credit facility of up to $1.0 billion in the aggregate, subject to customary conditions. The maturity date of the revolving credit facility is March 27, 2031. In connection with the entry into the Credit Agreement, on March 27, 2026, Corp. 2 terminated all commitments and repaid all obligations under its existing Third Amended and Restated Credit Agreement, dated as of March 23, 2022 (as amended, restated, supplemented or otherwise modified from time to time prior to such date, the “Existing Credit Agreement”). Upon the termination of the Existing Credit Agreement, all the obligations under the Existing Credit Agreement were terminated. As of both May 31, 2026 and 2025, there was no commercial paper outstanding and no borrowings on our revolving credit facility.
Previous wording
Cintas' debt agreements contain certain covenants. These covenants limit our ability to incur certain liens and priority debt, to engage in sale-leaseback transactions and to merge, consolidate or sell all or substantially all of Cintas' assets. These covenants also require Cintas to maintain certain debt to consolidated earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization (EBITDA) and interest coverage ratios. Cross-default provisions exist between certain debt instruments. If a default of a significant covenant were to occur, the default could result in an acceleration of the maturity of the indebtedness, impair liquidity and limit the ability to raise future capital. Cintas was in compliance with all of the debt covenants for all periods presented.
Current wording
Cintas' debt agreements contain certain covenants. These covenants limit our ability to incur certain liens, to engage in sale-leaseback transactions and to merge, consolidate or sell all or substantially all of Cintas' assets. These covenants also require Cintas to maintain a certain debt to consolidated earnings before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization (EBITDA) ratio. Cross-default provisions exist between certain debt instruments. If a default of a significant covenant were to occur, the default could result in an acceleration of the maturity of the indebtedness, impair liquidity and limit the ability to raise future capital. Cintas was in compliance with all of the debt covenants for all periods presented.
Previous wording
Cintas Corporation No. 2 (Corp. 2) is the indirectly, wholly owned principal operating subsidiary of Cintas. Corp. 2 is the issuer of the $2,436.6 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes outstanding as of May 31, 2025, which are unconditionally guaranteed, jointly and severally, by Cintas Corporation and its wholly owned, direct and indirect domestic subsidiaries. See Note 6 entitled Debt, Derivatives and Hedging Activities of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements" for more information on Cintas' outstanding debt.
Current wording
Corp. 2 is the indirectly, wholly owned principal operating subsidiary of Cintas. Corp. 2 is the issuer of the $2,436.6 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes outstanding as of May 31, 2026, which are unconditionally guaranteed, jointly and severally, by Cintas Corporation and its wholly owned, direct and indirect domestic subsidiaries. See Note 6 entitled Debt, Derivatives and Hedging Activities of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements" for more information on Cintas' outstanding debt.
Previous wording
Cintas also makes payments to defined contribution plans and may make payments to defined benefit plans to satisfy minimum funding requirements. The amount of contributions made to the defined contribution plans are at the discretion of the Board. Future contributions to the defined contribution plans are expected to be $141.2 million in the next fiscal year, $304.0 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $335.1 million in the next four to five fiscal years. Future contributions to the defined benefit plans are expected to be $2.5 million in the next fiscal year, $10.0 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $8.4 million in the next four to five fiscal years.
Current wording
Cintas also makes payments to defined contribution plans and may make payments to defined benefit plans to satisfy minimum funding requirements. The amount of contributions made to the defined contribution plans are at the discretion of the Board. Future contributions to the defined contribution plans are expected to be $156.7 million in the next fiscal year, $337.2 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $371.8 million in the next four to five fiscal years. Future contributions to the defined benefit plans are expected to be $2.1 million in the next fiscal year, $3.4 million in the next two to three fiscal years and $2.9 million in the next four to five fiscal years.
Previous wording
Cintas is subject to legal proceedings, insurance receipts, legal settlements and claims arising from the ordinary course of its business, including personal injury, customer contract, environmental and employment claims. In the opinion of management, the aggregate liability, if any, with respect to such ordinary course of business actions will not have a material adverse effect on the consolidated financial position, consolidated results of operations or consolidated cash flows of Cintas. Cintas is also party to additional litigation not considered in the ordinary course of business. See Note 15 entitled Litigation and Other Contingencies of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements" for a detailed discussion of such additional litigation.
Current wording
Cintas is subject to legal proceedings, insurance receipts, legal settlements and claims arising from the ordinary course of its business, including personal injury, customer contract, environmental and employment claims. While the results of any such legal proceedings cannot be predicted with certainty, management believes, the aggregate liability, if any, with respect to such ordinary course of business actions will not have a material adverse effect on the consolidated financial position, consolidated results of operations or consolidated cash flows of Cintas.
Previous wording
In December 2023, the FASB issued ASU 2023-09, Income Taxes (Topic 740), Improvements to Income Tax Disclosures (ASU 2023-09), which expands disclosures in an entity’s income tax rate reconciliation table and regarding cash taxes paid both in the U.S. and foreign jurisdictions. ASU 2023-09 will be effective for annual periods beginning after December 15, 2024 (fiscal 2026). The Company is currently evaluating the impact of ASU 2023-09 on the consolidated financial statements.
Current wording
In December 2023, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) issued Accounting Standards Update (ASU) 2023-09, Income Taxes (Topic 740), Improvements to Income Tax Disclosures (ASU 2023-09), which expands disclosures in an entity’s income tax rate reconciliation table and regarding cash taxes paid both in the U.S. and foreign jurisdictions. ASU 2023-09 will be effective for annual periods beginning after December 15, 2024 (fiscal 2026). The Company adopted the standard on a prospective basis, for the fiscal year ended May 31, 2026, see additional disclosures in the "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements."
Previous wording
Revenue recognition. Approximately 95% of the Company's revenue is derived from fees for route servicing of Uniform Rental and Facility Services, First Aid and Safety Services and Fire Protection Services customers, performed by a Cintas employee-partner, at the customer's location of business. Revenue from our route servicing customer contracts represent a single-performance obligation. The Company recognizes revenue over time as services are performed, based on the nature of services provided and contractual rates (output method) or at a point in time when the performance obligation under the terms of the contract with a customer are satisfied, at the customer's location of business. The Company's remaining revenue, primarily within the Uniform Direct Sales operating segment, and representing approximately 5% of the Company's total revenue, is recognized when the obligations under the terms of a contract with a customer are satisfied. This generally occurs when the goods are transferred to the customer.
Current wording
Revenue recognition. Over 95% of the Company's revenue is derived from fees for route servicing of Uniform Rental and Facility Services, First Aid and Safety Services and Fire Protection Services customers, performed by a Cintas employee-partner, at the customer's location of business. Revenue from our route servicing customer contracts represent a single-performance obligation. The Company recognizes revenue over time as services are performed, based on the nature of services provided and contractual rates (output method) or at a point in time when the performance obligation under the terms of the contract with a customer are satisfied, at the customer's location of business.
Previous wording
Revenue recorded is presented net of sales and other taxes we collect on behalf of governmental authorities. Shipping and handling costs charged to customers are treated as fulfillment activities and are recorded in both revenue and cost of sales at the time control is transferred to the customer. Certain of our customer contracts include pricing terms and conditions that include components of variable consideration. The variable consideration is typically in the form of consideration paid to a customer based on performance metrics specified within the contract and is not material in any period presented. When determining if variable consideration should be constrained, the Company considers whether factors outside its control could result in a significant reversal of revenue. In making these assessments, the Company considers the likelihood and magnitude of a potential reversal. The Company's performance period generally corresponds with the monthly invoice period. No constraints on our revenue recognition were applied during the fiscal years ended May 31, 2025, 2024 or 2023. See Note 2 entitled Revenue Recognition of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements".
Current wording
Revenue recorded is presented net of sales and other taxes we collect on behalf of governmental authorities. Shipping and handling costs charged to customers are treated as fulfillment activities and are recorded in both revenue and cost of sales at the time control is transferred to the customer. The Company's performance period generally corresponds with the monthly invoice period. See Note 2 entitled Revenue Recognition of "Notes to Consolidated Financial Statements".
Previous wording
Uniforms and other rental items in service. Uniforms and other rental items in service are valued at cost less amortization, calculated using the straight-line method. Uniforms in service (other than cleanroom garments) are amortized over their useful lives, which range from 18 to 30 months. Other rental items, including shop towels, mats, mops, cleanroom garments, linens and restroom dispensers, are amortized over their useful lives, which range from 8 to 60 months. The amortization rates used are based on industry experience, Cintas' specific experience and wear tests performed by Cintas. These factors are critical to determining the amount of in service inventory and related cost of uniforms and facility services that are presented in the consolidated financial statements.
Current wording
Uniforms and other rental items in service. Uniforms and other rental items in service are valued at cost less amortization, calculated using the straight-line method. Uniforms in service (other than cleanroom garments) are amortized over their useful lives, which range from 18 to 30 months. Other rental items, including shop towels, mats, mops, cleanroom garments, linens and restroom dispensers, are amortized over their useful lives, which range from 8 to 60 months. The amortization rates used are based on industry experience and Cintas' specific experience. These factors are critical to determining the amount of in-service inventory and related cost of uniforms and facility services that are presented in the consolidated financial statements.
Previous wording
Insurance reserve. The insurance reserve represents the estimated ultimate cost of all asserted and unasserted claims (incurred but not reported), primarily related to workers' compensation, auto liability and other general liability exposure through the consolidated balance sheet dates. Our incurred but not reported reserves are estimated through actuarial procedures, with the assistance of third-party actuarial specialists, of the insurance industry and by using industry assumptions, adjusted for specific expectations based on our claims history. Cintas records an increase or decrease in selling and administrative expenses related to development of prior claims, higher claims activity and other industry factors in the period in which it becomes known. These changes in estimates may be material to the consolidated financial statements.
Current wording
Insurance reserve. The insurance reserve represents the estimated ultimate cost of all asserted and unasserted claims (incurred but not reported), primarily related to workers' compensation, auto liability and other general liability exposure through the consolidated balance sheet dates. Our incurred but not reported reserves are estimated through actuarial procedures, with the assistance of third-party actuarial specialists, of the insurance industry and by using industry assumptions, adjusted for specific expectations based on our claims history. Cintas records an increase or decrease in selling and administrative expenses related to development of prior claims, recent claims activity and other industry factors in the period in which it becomes known. These changes in estimates may be material to the consolidated financial statements.