INVESTORS TITLE CO
For the period ended Dec 31, 2025. Filed Mar 16, 2026.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's yearly report to the SEC, with audited financial statements. It is the fullest account a company gives of its business, its finances and the risks it sees.
FY2025 · Filed Mar 16, 2026
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-K
Period ended 2024-12-31; filed 2025-03-17.
0000720858-25-000007
Item 7. MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONSCurrent report: 10-K
Period ended 2025-12-31; filed 2026-03-16.
0000720858-26-000011
Item 7. MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONSThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 136 previous paragraphs and 136 current paragraphs.
89 unchanged; 46 reworded; 1 added; 1 removed; 0 previous and 0 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 6 previous and 6 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (1)
Current report
Title insurance rates vary by state and are subject to extensive regulatory oversight. In certain jurisdictions, insurers are required to adhere to rates established by state regulatory authorities and are not permitted to modify such rates independently. Regulatory authorities may approve rate adjustments to reflect current market conditions and cost factors affecting the title insurance industry. The Texas Commissioner of Insurance approved a 6.2% reduction in title insurance rates effective March 1, 2026. The Georgia Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner approved a rate increase that became effective on July 1, 2024, which the Company estimates increased its revenues by approximately 17%. The North Carolina Department of Insurance approved a 9.4% rate increase that became effective October 1, 2025, and the Ohio Department of Insurance approved a 9.0% rate increase effective January 1, 2026. Overall, the Company anticipates that these rate adjustments, along with other approved rate changes, will have a favorable net impact on premium revenues in future reporting periods.
Removed paragraphs (1)
Previous report
Title insurance rates vary by state and are subject to extensive regulation. In some states, insurers must adhere to rates set by regulatory authorities and cannot adjust them independently. The Commissioner of Insurance of Texas has recently mandated a 10% reduction in title insurance rates statewide that takes effect on July 1, 2025.
Reworded paragraphs (46)
Previous wording
Investors Title Company (the “Company”) is a holding company that engages primarily in issuing title insurance through two subsidiaries, Investors Title Insurance Company (“ITIC”) and National Investors Title Insurance Company (“NITIC”). Total revenues from the title segment accounted for 91.2% of the Company’s revenues in 2024. Through ITIC and NITIC, the Company underwrites land title insurance for owners and mortgagees as a primary insurer.
Current wording
Investors Title Company (the “Company”) is a holding company that engages primarily in issuing title insurance through two subsidiaries, Investors Title Insurance Company (“ITIC”) and National Investors Title Insurance Company (“NITIC”). Total revenues from the title segment accounted for 90.2% of the Company’s revenues in 2025. Through ITIC and NITIC, the Company underwrites land title insurance for owners and mortgagees as a primary insurer.
Previous wording
The Company’s exchange services division, consisting of the operations of Investors Title Exchange Corporation (“ITEC”) and Investors Title Accommodation Corporation (“ITAC”), provides customer services in connection with tax-deferred real property exchanges. ITEC acts as a qualified intermediary in tax-deferred exchanges of real property held for productive use in a trade or business or for investment, and its income is derived from fees for handling exchange transactions and a portion of the interest earned on client deposits held by the Company. In its role as qualified intermediary, ITEC coordinates the exchange aspects of the real estate transaction, and its duties include drafting standard exchange documents, holding the exchange funds between the time the old property is sold and the new property is purchased, and accepting the formal identification of the replacement property within the required identification period. ITAC provides services as an exchange accommodation titleholder for accomplishing “parking transactions” as set forth in the safe harbor contained in Internal Revenue Procedure 2000-37. These transactions include reverse exchanges when taxpayers decide to acquire replacement property before selling the relinquished property, or “build to suit” exchanges, when improvements must be made to the replacement property before the taxpayer acquires the improved replacement property. The services provided by the Company’s exchange services division, ITEC and ITAC, are pursuant to provisions in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the “IRC”). From time to time, these laws are subject to review and changes, which may negatively affect the demand for tax-deferred exchanges in general, and consequently, the revenues and profitability of the Company’s exchange services division.
Current wording
The Company’s exchange services division, consisting of the operations of Investors Title Exchange Corporation (“ITEC”) and Investors Title Accommodation Corporation (“ITAC”), provides customer services in connection with tax-deferred real property exchanges. ITEC acts as a qualified intermediary in tax-deferred exchanges of real property held for productive use in a trade or business or for investment, and its income is derived from fees for handling exchange transactions and a portion of the interest earned on client deposits held by the Company. In its role as qualified intermediary, ITEC coordinates the exchange aspects of the real estate transaction, and its duties include drafting standard exchange documents, holding the exchange funds between the time the old property is sold and the new property is purchased, and accepting the formal identification of the replacement property within the required identification period. ITAC provides services as an exchange accommodation titleholder for accomplishing “parking transactions” as set forth in the safe harbor contained in Internal Revenue Procedure 2000-37. These transactions include reverse exchanges, when taxpayers decide to acquire replacement property before selling the relinquished property, or “build to suit” exchanges, when improvements must be made to the replacement property before the taxpayer acquires the improved replacement property. The services provided by the Company’s exchange services division, ITEC and ITAC, are pursuant to provisions in the IRC. From time to time, these laws are subject to review and changes, which may negatively affect the demand for tax-deferred exchanges in general, and consequently, the revenues and profitability of the Company’s exchange services division. Given that income is derived from a portion of the interest earned on client deposits held by the Company, interest rate fluctuations may also impact the profitability of the Company’s exchange services division.
Previous wording
A recent period of inflation, ongoing geopolitical and military conflicts, and changes in government regulations and policy, including as a result of the recent change in presidential administration, have created additional volatile market conditions and uncertainties in the global economy. These events have impacted and could continue to impact the Company in a number of ways including, but not limited to, future fluctuations in the Company's investment portfolio and potential decreases in net premiums written. The Federal Open Market Committee (“FOMC”) of the Federal Reserve has been highly attentive to the risks that these events have created, and in response adjusted the target federal funds rate at several meetings held from 2022 to 2024. Although the federal funds rate does not directly impact mortgage interest rates, it can have a significant influence as lenders pass on the costs of rate increases to consumers. Higher mortgage interest rates have impacted the demand and pricing of real estate.
Current wording
Inflationary pressures, ongoing geopolitical and military conflicts, and changes in government regulations and policy, including as a result of policies implemented by the Trump administration such as the implementation of widespread tariff reform, have created additional volatile market conditions and uncertainties in the global economy. These events have impacted and could continue to impact the Company in a number of ways including, but not limited to, future fluctuations in the Company's investment portfolio and potential decreases in net premiums written. The FOMC has closely monitored the risks associated with these developments and responded by increasing the target federal funds rate across several meetings from 2022 through 2023, followed by a gradual reduction beginning in 2024 and continuing into 2025. Although the federal funds rate does not directly impact mortgage interest rates, it can have a significant influence as lenders pass on the costs of rate increases to consumers. The current period of elevated mortgage interest rates has impacted the demand and pricing of real estate.
Previous wording
The FOMC issues disclosures on a periodic basis that include projections of the federal funds rate and expected actions. The FOMC maintained a target range between 0.00% and 0.25% from March 2020 until March 2022. Starting at the March 2022 meeting of the FOMC, the FOMC consistently raised the target federal funds rate range through July 2023, when the FOMC increased the target range to between 5.25% and 5.50%. During several FOMC meetings throughout 2024, the target federal funds rate was reduced, with the most recent adjustment occurring in December 2024, lowering the rate to a range of 4.25% to 4.50%. During its January 2025 meeting, the FOMC opted to keep the target federal funds rate unchanged within the 4.25% to 4.50% range, emphasizing a cautious approach due to prevailing economic uncertainties and a desire to evaluate upcoming economic data. In normal economic situations, future adjustments to the FOMC’s stance of monetary policy are expected to be based on realized and expected economic developments to achieve maximum employment and inflation near the FOMC's symmetric long-term 2.0% objective.
Current wording
The FOMC issues disclosures on a periodic basis that include projections of the federal funds rate and expected actions. Starting at the March 2022 meeting of the FOMC through July 2023, the FOMC repeatedly increased the target federal funds range, reaching a high of between 5.25% and 5.50%. During several meetings in 2024 and 2025, the FOMC lowered the federal funds rate. The most recent adjustment, in December 2025, reduced the target range to 3.5% and 3.75%. In normal economic situations, future adjustments to the FOMC’s stance of monetary policy are expected to be based on realized and expected economic developments to achieve maximum employment and inflation near the FOMC's symmetric long-term 2.0% objective.
Previous wording
The Mortgage Bankers Association's (“MBA”) January 19, 2025 Mortgage Finance Forecast (“MBA Forecast”) projects 2025 purchase activity to increase 8.1% to $1,392 billion and refinance activity to increase 34.4% to $660 billion, resulting in an increase in total mortgage originations of 15.3% to $2,052 billion, all from 2024 levels. In 2024, purchase activity accounted for 72.4% of all mortgage originations and is projected in the MBA Forecast to represent 67.8% of all mortgage originations in 2025. According to data published by Freddie Mac, the average 30-year fixed mortgage interest rates in the United States were 6.7% and 6.8% for the years ended December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively. Per the MBA Forecast, mortgage interest rates are projected to decline modestly in subsequent periods, reaching 6.4% in 2026. Due to the rapidly changing environment brought on by inflationary pressures, inventory constraints, geopolitical and military conflicts, and changes in government regulations and policy, including as a result of the recent change in presidential administration, these projections and the impact of actual future developments on the Company could be subject to material change.
Current wording
The Mortgage Bankers Association's (“MBA”) January 21, 2026 Mortgage Finance Forecast (“MBA Forecast”) projects 2026 purchase activity to increase 6.4% to $1.4 trillion and refinance activity to increase 9.5% to $760 billion, resulting in an increase in total mortgage originations of 7.5% to $2.2 trillion, all from 2025 levels. In 2025, purchase activity accounted for 66.1% of all mortgage originations and, according to the MBA Forecast, is projected to represent 65.5% of all mortgage originations in 2026. According to data published by Freddie Mac, the average 30-year fixed mortgage interest rates in the United States were 6.6% and 6.7% for the years ended December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively. Per the MBA Forecast, mortgage interest rates are projected to decline in the subsequent year period, decreasing to 6.1% in 2026, before increasing to 6.3% in 2027. Due to the rapidly changing environment brought on by inflationary pressures, inventory constraints, geopolitical and military conflicts, and changes in government regulations and policy, including as a result of the policies implemented by the Trump administration, these projections and the impact of actual future developments on the Company could be subject to material change.
Previous wording
The Company’s reserve for claims is established using estimates of amounts required to settle claims for which notice has been received (reported) and the amount estimated to be required to satisfy incurred claims of policyholders which may be reported in the future (incurred but not reported, or “IBNR”). The total reserve for all losses incurred but unpaid as of December 31, 2024 is represented by the reserve for claims totaling $37.1 million in the Consolidated Balance Sheets included in Item 8 of this Annual Report on Form 10-K (the “Consolidated Balance Sheets”). Of that total, approximately $2.7 million was reserved for specific claims which have been reported to the Company, and approximately $34.4 million was reserved for IBNR claims.
Current wording
The Company’s reserve for claims is established using estimates of amounts required to settle claims for which notice has been received (reported) and the amount estimated to be required to satisfy incurred claims of policyholders which may be reported in the future (incurred but not reported, or “IBNR”). The total reserve for all losses incurred but unpaid as of December 31, 2025 is represented by the reserve for claims totaling $38.1 million in the Consolidated Balance Sheets included in Item 8 of this Annual Report on Form 10-K (the “Consolidated Balance Sheets”). Of that total, approximately $3.5 million was reserved for specific claims which have been reported to the Company, and approximately $34.6 million was reserved for IBNR claims.
Previous wording
If one or more of the variables or assumptions used changed such that the Company’s recorded loss ratio, or loss provision as a percentage of net title premiums, increased or decreased three loss ratio percentage points, the impact on after-tax income for the year ended December 31, 2024 would be as follows:
Current wording
If one or more of the variables or assumptions used were to change such that the Company’s recorded loss ratio, or loss provision as a percentage of net title premiums, increased or decreased three loss ratio percentage points, the impact on after-tax income for the year ended December 31, 2025 would be as follows:
Previous wording
Total premiums include an estimate of premiums for policies that have been issued directly and by agents, but not reported to the Company as of the balance sheet date. To determine the estimated premiums, the Company uses historical experience, as well as other factors, to make certain assumptions about the average elapsed time between the policy effective date and the date the policies are reported. From time to time, the Company adjusts the inputs to the estimation process as reported transactions and new information becomes available. In addition to estimating revenues, the Company also estimates and accrues agent commissions, claims provision, premium taxes, income taxes, and other expenses associated with the estimated revenues that have been accrued. The Company reflects any adjustments to the accruals in the results of operations in the period in which new information becomes available.
Current wording
Total premiums include an estimate of premiums for policies that have been issued directly and by agents, but not reported to the Company as of the balance sheet date. To determine the estimated premiums, the Company uses historical experience, as well as other factors, to make certain assumptions about the average elapsed time between the Company’s initial notification of an opened order and the final settlement of the related real estate transaction. From time to time, the Company adjusts the inputs to the estimation process as reported transactions and new information becomes available. In addition to estimating revenues, the Company also estimates and accrues agent commissions, claims provision, premium taxes, income taxes, and other expenses associated with the estimated revenues that have been accrued. The Company reflects any adjustments to the accruals in the results of operations in the period in which new information becomes available.
Previous wording
Investments in Fixed Maturity Securities: Fixed maturity securities are classified as available-for-sale and reported at estimated fair value with unrealized gains and losses, net of tax, reported as accumulated other comprehensive income. Securities are regularly reviewed for differences between the cost and estimated fair value of each security indicating impairment. Factors considered in determining whether the impairment is credit-related include the financial condition and prospects of the issuer (including credit ratings and analyst reports) and macro-economic changes. If the Company intends to sell an available-for-sale security in an unrealized loss position, or determines that it is more likely than not that the Company will be required to sell the security before it recovers its amortized cost basis, the security is impaired and it is written down to estimated fair value with all losses recognized in earnings. For available-for-sale fixed maturity securities in an unrealized loss position for which the Company does not intend to sell the security, the Company evaluates the securities to determine whether the decline in the estimated fair value below the amortized cost basis (impairment) is due to credit-related factors or noncredit-related factors. Any impairment that is not credit-related is recognized in other comprehensive (loss) income, net of applicable taxes. Credit-related impairment is recognized as an allowance for credit losses (“ACL”) in the Consolidated Balance Sheets, limited to the amount by which the amortized cost basis exceeds the estimated fair value, with a corresponding adjustment to earnings.
Current wording
Investments in Fixed Maturity Securities: Fixed maturity securities are classified as available-for-sale and reported at estimated fair value with unrealized gains and losses, net of tax, reported as accumulated other comprehensive income. Securities are regularly reviewed for differences between the cost and estimated fair value of each security indicating impairment. Factors considered in determining whether the impairment is credit-related include the financial condition and prospects of the issuer (including credit ratings and analyst reports) and macro-economic changes. If the Company intends to sell an available-for-sale security in an unrealized loss position, or determines that it is more likely than not that the Company will be required to sell the security before it recovers its amortized cost basis, the security is impaired and it is written down to estimated fair value with all losses recognized in earnings. For available-for-sale fixed maturity securities in an unrealized loss position for which the Company does not intend to sell the security, the Company evaluates the securities to determine whether the decline in the estimated fair value below the amortized cost basis (impairment) is due to credit-related factors or noncredit-related factors. Any impairment that is not credit-related is recognized in other comprehensive income (loss), net of applicable taxes. Credit-related impairment is recognized as an allowance for credit losses (“ACL”) in the Consolidated Balance Sheets, limited to the amount by which the amortized cost basis exceeds the estimated fair value, with a corresponding adjustment to earnings.
Previous wording
Net premiums written increased 19.3% in 2024 to $204.3 million, compared with $171.2 million in 2023. The increase in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily driven by increased activity levels, which were influenced by ongoing expansion initiatives and lower average mortgage interest rates, and appreciation in average home prices.
Current wording
Net premiums written increased 4.1% in 2025 to $212.6 million, compared with $204.3 million in 2024, and increased 19.3% in 2024, compared with $171.2 million in 2023. The increases in 2025, compared to 2024, and in 2024, compared to 2023, were primarily driven by increased activity levels and appreciation in average home prices.
Previous wording
Total premiums include an estimate of premiums for policies that have been issued directly and by agents, but not reported to the Company as of the balance sheet date. To determine the estimated premiums, the Company uses historical experience, as well as other factors, to make certain assumptions about the average elapsed time between the policy effective date and the date the policies are reported. Reporting lag times vary by market. In certain markets, the lag time may be very short, but in others, can be as high as three months. From time to time, the Company adjusts the inputs to the estimation process as branches and agents report transactions and new information becomes available. The Company reviews and adjusts lag time estimates periodically, using historical experience and other factors, and reflects any adjustments in the result of operations in the period in which new information becomes available.
Current wording
Total premiums include an estimate of premiums for policies that have been issued directly and by agents, but not reported to the Company as of the balance sheet date. To determine the estimated premiums, the Company uses historical experience, as well as other factors, to make certain assumptions about the average elapsed time between the Company’s initial notification of an opened order and the final settlement of the related real estate transaction. From time to time, the Company adjusts the inputs to the estimation process as reported transactions and new information becomes available. In addition to estimating revenues, the Company also estimates and accrues agent commissions, claims provision, premium taxes, income taxes, and other expenses associated with the estimated revenues that have been accrued. The Company reflects any adjustments to the accruals in the results of operations in the period in which new information becomes available.
Previous wording
Direct Net Premiums: The Company's direct business consists of operations at the home office, branch offices, and wholly owned title insurance agencies. In the Company's direct operations, the Company issues a title insurance policy and retains the entire premium, as no commissions are recognized in connection with these policies. Net premiums written from direct operations increased 4.4% in 2024 to $60.6 million, compared with $58.1 million in 2023. The increase in net premiums written from direct operations for 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily driven by increased activity levels, which were influenced by ongoing expansion initiatives and lower average mortgage interest rates, and appreciation in average home prices.
Current wording
Direct Net Premiums: The Company's direct business consists of operations at the home office, branch offices, and wholly owned title insurance agencies. In the Company's direct operations, the Company issues a title insurance policy and retains the entire premium, as no commissions are recognized in connection with these policies. Net premiums written from direct operations increased 2.0% in 2025 to $61.9 million, compared with $60.6 million in 2024, and increased 4.4% in 2024, compared with $58.1 million in 2023. The increases in net premiums written from direct operations in 2025, compared with 2024, and in 2024, compared with 2023, were primarily driven by increased activity levels and appreciation in average home prices.
Previous wording
Agency Net Premiums: When a policy is written through a non-wholly owned title agency, the premium is shared between the agency and the underwriter. The agent retains a majority of the premium as a commission and remits the net amount to the Company. Title insurance commissions earned by the Company’s agents are recognized as expenses concurrently with premium recognition. Agency net premiums written increased 27.0% in 2024 to $143.6 million, compared with $113.1 million in 2023. The increase in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily driven by increased activity levels, which were influenced by ongoing expansion initiatives and lower average mortgage interest rates, and appreciation in average home prices.
Current wording
Agency Net Premiums: When a policy is written through a non-wholly owned title agency, the premium is shared between the agency and the underwriter. The agent retains a majority of the premium as a commission and remits the net amount to the Company. Title insurance commissions earned by the Company’s agents are recognized as expenses concurrently with premium recognition. Agency net premiums written increased 5.0% in 2025 to $150.8 million, compared with $143.6 million in 2024, and increased 27.0% in 2024, compared with $113.1 million in 2023. The increases in 2025, compared with 2024, and in 2024, compared with 2023, were primarily driven by increased activity levels and appreciation in average home prices.
Previous wording
Escrow and other title-related fees consists primarily of commission income, escrow and other various fees associated with the issuance of a title insurance policy including settlement, examination and closing fees. In 2024, escrow and other title-related fee revenue increased 4.9% to $18.0 million, compared with $17.1 million in 2023, primarily due to an increase in real estate activity levels.
Current wording
Escrow and other title-related fees consists primarily of commission income, escrow and other various fees associated with the issuance of a title insurance policy including settlement, examination and closing fees. Escrow and other title-related fee revenue increased 7.6% in 2025 to $19.3 million, compared with $18.0 million in 2024, and increased 4.9% in 2024, compared with $17.1 million in 2023. The increases in 2025, compared with 2024, and in 2024, compared with 2023, were primarily due to increases in real estate activity levels.
Previous wording
Revenue from non-title services includes trust services, agency management services and exchange services income. Non-title service revenues decreased 10.6% in 2024 to $17.2 million, compared with $19.2 million in 2023. The decrease in 2024, compared with 2023, primarily related to a decrease in like-kind exchange revenues.
Current wording
Revenue from non-title services includes trust services, agency management services and exchange services income. Non-title service revenues increased 25.6% in 2025 to $21.6 million, compared with $17.2 million in 2024, and decreased 10.6% in 2024, compared with $19.2 million in 2023. The increase in 2025, compared with 2024, primarily related to increases in revenue from like-kind exchanges and management services. The decrease in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily related to a decrease in like-kind exchange revenues.
Previous wording
The Company derives a substantial portion of its income from investments in short-term investments, fixed maturity securities, which are primarily corporate and municipal fixed maturity securities, and equity securities. The Company’s investment policy is designed to comply with regulatory requirements and to balance the competing objectives of asset quality and investment returns. The Company’s title insurance subsidiaries are required by statute to maintain minimum levels of investments in order to protect the interests of policyholders. Fixed maturity securities totaling approximately $6.1 million and $6.7 million at December 31, 2024 and 2023, respectively, were deposited with the insurance departments of the states in which business is conducted.
Current wording
The Company derives a substantial portion of its income from investments in short-term investments, fixed maturity securities, which are primarily corporate and municipal fixed maturity securities, and equity securities. The Company’s investment policy is designed to comply with regulatory requirements and to balance the competing objectives of asset quality and investment returns. The Company’s title insurance subsidiaries are required by statute to maintain minimum levels of investments in order to protect the interests of policyholders. Fixed maturity securities totaling approximately $6.0 million and $6.1 million at December 31, 2025 and 2024, respectively, were deposited with the insurance departments of the states in which business is conducted.
Previous wording
Interest and dividends were $10.7 million in 2024, compared with $9.1 million in 2023. Interest and investment income levels are primarily a function of general market performance, interest rates and the amount of cash available for investment. The increase in 2024 primarily related to elevated levels of interest income, predominantly influenced by the amount of fixed maturity securities held, interest rates, and general market performance. Refer to Note 3 in the accompanying Consolidated Financial Statements for the major categories of investments, scheduled maturities, amortized costs, estimated fair values of investment securities and earnings by security category.
Current wording
Interest and dividends were $10.0 million in 2025, compared with $10.7 million in 2024 and $9.1 million in 2023. Interest and investment income levels are primarily a function of general market performance, interest rates and the amount of cash available for investment. The decrease in 2025, compared to 2024, was primarily impacted by prevailing interest rates. The increase in 2024, compared to 2023, related to elevated levels of interest income, predominantly influenced by the amount of fixed maturity securities held, interest rates, and general market performance. Refer to Note 3 in the accompanying Consolidated Financial Statements for the major categories of investments, scheduled maturities, amortized costs, estimated fair values of investment securities and earnings by security category.
Previous wording
Other investment income was $2.6 million in 2024, compared with $3.8 million in 2023. Changes in other investment income are impacted by fluctuations in the carrying value of the underlying investment and/or distributions received.
Current wording
Other investment income was $2.7 million in 2025, compared with $2.6 million in 2024 and $3.8 million in 2023. Changes in other investment income are impacted by fluctuations in the carrying value of the underlying investment and/or distributions received.
Previous wording
Net investment gains include realized gains and losses on the sale of investment securities and changes in the estimated fair value of equity security investments. Net investment gains were $4.7 million and $3.4 million in 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
Net investment gains include realized gains and losses on the sale of investment securities and changes in the estimated fair value of equity security investments. Net investment gains were $3.2 million, $4.7 million and $3.4 million in 2025, 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
The net realized investment gains were $5.0 million for 2024, compared with $15.6 million for 2023. The net realized gains in 2024 and 2023 included impairment charges of $74 thousand and $201 thousand, respectively, for certain fixed maturity securities where the intent to hold had changed. There was also an impairment charge of $309 thousand in 2024 related to a write-down of other assets and investments. Management believes unrealized losses on the remaining fixed maturity securities at December 31, 2024 are not credit-related.
Current wording
The net realized investment gains were $4.2 million for 2025, compared with $5.0 million in 2024 and $15.6 million in 2023. The net realized gains in 2025, 2024, and 2023 included impairment charges of $0, $74 thousand and $201 thousand, respectively, for certain fixed maturity securities where the intent to hold had changed. There were also impairment charges of $469 thousand and $309 thousand in 2025 and 2024, respectively, related to a write-down of other assets and investments. Management believes unrealized losses on the remaining fixed maturity securities at December 31, 2025 are not credit-related.
Previous wording
Changes in the Estimated Fair Value of Equity Security Investments -Changes in the estimated fair value of equity security investments were $(318) thousand in 2024 and $(12.2) million in 2023. Such fluctuations are the result of changes in general market conditions during the respective periods, however, the sale of appreciated investment securities can result in a reduction in unrealized gains as they are reclassified to net realized investment gains, which is not indicative of a decline in estimated fair value.
Current wording
Changes in the Estimated Fair Value of Equity Security Investments -Changes in the estimated fair value of equity security investments were $(1.0) million in 2025, compared with $(318) thousand in 2024 and $(12.2) million in 2023. Such fluctuations are the result of changes in general market conditions during the respective periods, however, the sale of appreciated investment securities can result in a reduction in unrealized gains as they are reclassified to net realized investment gains, which is not indicative of a decline in estimated fair value.
Previous wording
Other revenues primarily includes gains and losses on the disposal of assets, rental income from real estate investments and miscellaneous revenues. Other revenues were virtually unchanged at $947 thousand in 2024, compared with $991 thousand for 2023.
Current wording
Other revenues primarily includes gains and losses on the disposal of assets, rental income from real estate investments and miscellaneous revenues. Other revenues were $3.3 million in 2025, compared with $947 thousand in 2024 and $991 thousand in 2023. The increase for 2025 was related to a gain recognized on assets contributed to a joint venture, with 2024 and 2023 being virtually unchanged.
Previous wording
The Company's operating expenses consist primarily of commissions to agents, personnel expenses, office and technology expenses and the provision for claims. Operating expenses increased 10.2% in 2024, compared with 2023, primarily due to an increase in commissions to agents, partially offset by a decrease in personnel expenses.
Current wording
The Company's operating expenses consist primarily of commissions to agents, personnel expenses, office and technology expenses and the provision for claims. Operating expenses increased 4.3% in 2025, compared with 2024, primarily due to increases in commissions to agents and other expenses. Operating expenses increased 10.2% in 2024, compared with 2023, primarily due to an increase in commissions to agents, partially offset by a decrease in personnel expenses.
Previous wording
Personnel Expenses: Personnel expenses include base salaries, benefits and payroll taxes, bonuses paid to employees and contract labor expenses. Personnel expenses were $72.5 million and $76.7 million for 2024 and 2023, respectively. Personnel expenses decreased by 5.5% in 2024, compared with 2023, primarily due to lower staffing levels. Employee headcount decreased by 3.7%, when compared to the same prior year period, primarily due to the Company's cost saving measures. On a consolidated basis, personnel expenses as a percentage of total revenues were 28.1% and 34.1% in 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
Personnel Expenses: Personnel expenses include base salaries, benefits and payroll taxes, bonuses paid to employees and contract labor expenses. Personnel expenses were $72.2 million, $72.5 million, and $76.7 million for 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. Personnel expenses decreased by 0.4% in 2025, compared with 2024, and decreased 5.5% in 2024, compared with 2023, primarily due to lower staffing levels. Employee headcount decreased by 0.9% in 2025, from 2024, and 3.7% in 2024, from 2023. On a consolidated basis, personnel expenses as a percentage of total revenues were 26.5%, 28.1%, and 34.1% in 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
Office and Technology Expenses: Office and technology expenses primarily include facilities expenses, software and hardware expenses, depreciation expense, telecommunications expenses, and business insurance. Office and technology expenses were $17.5 million and $17.4 million for 2024 and 2023, respectively. The slight increase in office and technology expenses in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily due to an increase in technology expenses partially offset by a decline in office expenses.
Current wording
Office and Technology Expenses: Office and technology expenses primarily include facilities expenses, software and hardware expenses, depreciation expense, telecommunications expenses, and business insurance. Office and technology expenses were $17.2 million, $17.5 million, and $17.4 million for 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. Office and technology expenses decreased in 2025, compared to 2024, primarily due to lower office and occupancy expenses partially offset by an increase in technology expenses. The increase in office and technology expenses in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily due to an increase in technology expenses partially offset by a decline in office expenses.
Previous wording
Other Expenses: Other expenses primarily include business development expenses, premium-related taxes and licensing, professional services, title and service fees, amortization of intangible assets and other general expenses. Other expenses were $16.9 million and $16.3 million for 2024 and 2023, respectively. The increase in 2024, compared with 2023, was mainly due to expenses associated with higher title insurance revenues and business development.
Current wording
Other Expenses: Other expenses primarily include business development expenses, premium-related taxes and licensing, professional services, title and service fees, amortization of intangible assets and other general expenses. Other expenses were $20.5 million, $16.9 million, and $16.3 million for 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. The increase in 2025, compared with 2024, was mainly due to higher professional service expenses associated with agency acquisitions and several projects. The increase in 2024, compared with 2023, was mainly due to expenses associated with higher title insurance revenues and business development.
Previous wording
Commissions to Agents: Agent commissions represent the portion of premiums retained by agents pursuant to the terms of their respective agency contracts. In 2024, commissions to agents increased 28.7% to $107.3 million, compared with $83.4 million in 2023. Commission expense as a percentage of net premiums written by agents was 74.7% and 73.7% in 2024 and 2023, respectively. The increase in commission expense, when comparing 2024 with 2023, was commensurate with the increase in agent premium volume. Commission rates vary by market due to local practice, competition and state regulations.
Current wording
Commissions to Agents: Agent commissions represent the portion of premiums retained by agents pursuant to the terms of their respective agency contracts. In 2025, commissions to agents increased 5.9% to $113.7 million, compared with $107.3 million in 2024. In 2024, commissions to agents increased 28.7% compared with $83.4 million in 2023. Commission expense as a percentage of net premiums written by agents was 75.4%, 74.7%, and 73.7% in 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. The increase in commission expense, when comparing 2025 with 2024, and 2024 with 2023, was commensurate with the increases in agent premium volume. Commission rates vary by market due to local practice, competition and state regulations.
Previous wording
Provision for Claims: The provision for claims decreased 4.9% in 2024, compared to 2023. The provision for claims as a percentage of net premiums written was 2.2% and 2.8% in 2024 and 2023, respectively. The decrease in the provision for claims as a percentage of net premiums written in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily due to higher levels of favorable loss development in the current year period.
Current wording
Provision for Claims: The provision for claims increased 1.7% in 2025, compared to 2024, and decreased 4.9% in 2024, compared to 2023. The provision for claims as a percentage of net premiums written was 2.2%, 2.2%, and 2.8% in 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. The provision for claims as a percentage of net premiums written remained relatively consistent between 2025 and 2024. The decrease in the provision for claims as a percentage of net premiums written in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily due to higher levels of favorable loss development.
Previous wording
The decrease in the loss provision rate in 2024, from the 2023 level, resulted in approximately $1.2 million less in reserves than would have been recorded at the higher 2023 level. Loss provision rates are subject to variability and are reviewed and adjusted as experience develops.
Current wording
A slight decrease in the loss provision rate in 2025, from the 2024 level, resulted in approximately $109 thousand less in reserves than would have been recorded at the higher 2024 level. Loss provision rates are subject to variability and are reviewed and adjusted as experience develops.
Previous wording
Title claims are typically reported and paid within the first several years of policy issuance. The provision for claims reflects actual payments of claims, net of recovery amounts, plus adjustments to the specific and incurred but not reported claims reserves, the latter of which are actuarially determined based on historical claims experience. Actual payments of claims, net of recoveries, were $4.6 million and $4.8 million in 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
Title claims are typically reported and paid within the first several years of policy issuance. The provision for claims reflects actual payments of claims, net of recovery amounts, plus adjustments to the specific and incurred but not reported claims reserves, the latter of which are actuarially determined based on historical claims experience. Actual payments of claims, net of recoveries, were $3.6 million, $4.6 million, and $4.8 million in 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
Reserve for Claims: At December 31, 2024, the total reserve for claims was $37.1 million. Of that total, approximately $2.7 million was reserved for specific claims, and approximately $34.4 million was reserved for claims for which the Company had no notice. Because of the uncertainty of future claims, changes in economic conditions and the fact that many claims do not materialize for several years, reserve estimates are subject to variability.
Current wording
Reserve for Claims: At December 31, 2025, the total reserve for claims was $38.1 million. Of that total, approximately $3.5 million was reserved for specific claims, and approximately $34.6 million was reserved for claims for which the Company had no notice. Because of the uncertainty of future claims, changes in economic conditions and the fact that many claims do not materialize for several years, reserve estimates are subject to variability.
Previous wording
The provision for income taxes was $8.4 million and $4.5 million for 2024 and 2023, respectively. Income tax expense, including federal and state taxes, as a percentage of income before income taxes was 21.3% and 17.3% for 2024 and 2023, respectively. The effective income tax rates for both 2024 and 2023 differ from the U.S. federal statutory income tax rate of 21% primarily due to the effects of deferred tax adjustments, tax credits, tax-exempt income and state taxes.
Current wording
The provision for income taxes was $9.4 million, $8.4 million, and $4.5 million for 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. Income tax expense, including federal and state taxes, as a percentage of income before income taxes was 21.0%, 21.3%, and 17.3% for 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. The effective income tax rates for 2025, 2024, and 2023 differ from the U.S. federal statutory income tax rate of 21% primarily due to the effects of deferred tax adjustments, tax credits, tax-exempt income and state taxes.
Previous wording
The Company’s after-tax profit margin varies according to a number of factors, including the volume and type of real estate activity. On a combined basis, the after-tax profit margins were 12.0% and 9.6% in 2024 and 2023, respectively. The increase in after-tax margin in 2024, compared with 2023, was primarily related to an increase in total revenues outpacing the increase in expenses. The Company achieved gains in revenue, while profitability was aided by ongoing cost control measures. The Company continually strives to enhance its competitive strengths and market position, including ongoing initiatives to manage its operating expenses.
Current wording
The Company’s after-tax profit margin varies according to a number of factors, including the volume and type of real estate activity. On a combined basis, the after-tax profit margins were 12.9%, 12.0%, and 9.6% in 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. The increases in after-tax margin in 2025 compared with 2024, and 2024 compared with 2023, were primarily driven by revenue growth outpacing increases in expenses. The Company achieved gains in revenue, while profitability was aided by ongoing cost control measures. The Company continually strives to enhance its competitive strengths and market position, including ongoing initiatives to manage its operating expenses.
Previous wording
Cash Flows: Net cash flows provided by operating activities were $29.8 million and $7.4 million for 2024 and 2023, respectively. Cash flows provided by operating activities differ from net income due to adjustments for non-cash items, such as gains and losses on investments and property, the timing of disbursements for taxes, claims and other accrued liabilities, and collections or changes in receivables and other assets.
Current wording
Cash Flows: Net cash flows provided by operating activities were $30.9 million, $29.8 million, and $7.4 million for 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. Cash flows provided by operating activities differ from net income due to adjustments for non-cash items, such as gains and losses on investments and property, the timing of disbursements for taxes, claims and other accrued liabilities, and collections or changes in receivables and other assets.
Previous wording
Cash flows from non-operating activities have historically consisted of purchases and proceeds from investing activities, the issuance of dividends and repurchases of common stock. In 2024, the Company distributed more dividends while reducing investment purchase activity and generating lower proceeds from investment sales and maturities, compared to 2023. In the fourth quarters of 2024 and 2023, the Company paid special cash dividends in the amounts of $14.00 and $4.00 per share, respectively, in addition to regular cash dividends. Total dividends paid per share were $15.84 and $5.84 in 2024 and 2023, respectively.
Current wording
Cash flows from non-operating activities have historically consisted of purchases and proceeds from investing activities, the issuance of dividends and repurchases of common stock. In 2025, the Company distributed less dividends and used more cash in investing activities in comparison to 2024. In 2024, the Company distributed more dividends and generated more cash from investing activities relative to 2023. In the fourth quarters of 2025, 2024, and 2023, the Company paid special cash dividends in the amounts of $8.72, $14.00, and $4.00 per share, respectively, in addition to regular cash dividends. Total dividends paid per share were $10.56, $15.84, and $5.84 in 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively.
Previous wording
The Company maintains a high degree of liquidity within its investment portfolio in the form of cash, short-term investments, and other readily marketable securities. As of December 31, 2024, the Company held cash and cash equivalents of $24.7 million, short-term investments of $59.1 million, available-for-sale fixed maturity securities of $113.0 million and equity securities of $39.9 million. The net effect of all activities on total cash and cash equivalents was an increase of $623 thousand for 2024.
Current wording
The Company maintains a high degree of liquidity within its investment portfolio in the form of cash, short-term investments, and other readily marketable securities. As of December 31, 2025, the Company held cash and cash equivalents of $20.8 million, short-term investments of $68.8 million, available-for-sale fixed maturity securities of $118.1 million and equity securities of $41.5 million. The net effect of all activities on total cash and cash equivalents was a decrease of $3.8 million for 2025.
Previous wording
As of December 31, 2024, approximately $118.2 million of the consolidated shareholders’ equity represented net assets of the Company’s subsidiaries that are restricted by regulation from being transferred in the form of dividends, loans or advances to the parent company without prior approval from the respective state insurance department. The Company believes, however, that amounts available for transfer from the insurance and other subsidiaries are adequate to meet the Company’s current operating needs.
Current wording
As of December 31, 2025, approximately $121.4 million of the consolidated shareholders’ equity represented net assets of the Company’s subsidiaries that are restricted by regulation from being transferred in the form of dividends, loans or advances to the parent company without prior approval from the respective state insurance department. The Company believes, however, that amounts available for transfer from the insurance and other subsidiaries are adequate to meet the Company’s current operating needs.
Previous wording
During 2025, the maximum distributions the insurance subsidiaries can make to the Company without prior approval from applicable regulators total approximately $24.8 million.
Current wording
During 2026, the maximum distributions the insurance subsidiaries can make to the Company without prior approval from applicable regulators total approximately $28.7 million.
Previous wording
Purchase of Company Stock: On November 9, 2015, the Board of Directors of the Company approved the purchase of an additional 163,335 shares pursuant to the Company’s repurchase plan, such that there was authority remaining under the plan to purchase up to an aggregate of 500,000 shares of the Company’s common stock pursuant to the plan immediately after this approval. Unless terminated earlier by resolution of the Board of Directors, the plan will expire when all shares authorized for purchase under the plan have been purchased. Pursuant to the Company’s ongoing purchase program, the Company purchased 7,039 shares at an average price of $155.95 and 7,000 shares at an average per share price of $137.00 in 2024 and 2023, respectively. The Company anticipates making further purchases under this plan from time to time in the future, depending on such factors as the prevailing market price of the Company’s common stock, the Company’s available cash and the existing alternative uses for such cash.
Current wording
Purchase of Company Stock: On November 9, 2015, the Board of Directors of the Company approved the purchase of an additional 163,335 shares pursuant to the Company’s repurchase plan, such that there was authority remaining under the plan to purchase up to an aggregate of 500,000 shares of the Company’s common stock pursuant to the plan immediately after this approval. Unless terminated earlier by resolution of the Board of Directors, the plan will expire when all shares authorized for purchase under the plan have been purchased. Pursuant to the Company’s ongoing purchase program, the Company purchased no shares in 2025, 7,039 shares in 2024 at an average price of $155.95, and 7,000 shares in 2023 at an average per share price of $137.00. The Company anticipates making further purchases under this plan from time to time in the future, depending on such factors as the prevailing market price of the Company’s common stock, the Company’s available cash and the existing alternative uses for such cash.
Previous wording
Capital Expenditures: Capital expenditures were approximately $7.4 million and $9.2 million during 2024 and 2023, respectively. Cash flows from operations are expected to fund the Company's investment in technology and system development initiatives and hardware purchases, given ongoing capital improvement projects and plans for future projects. All material anticipated capital expenditures are subject to periodic review and revision and may vary depending on a number of factors.
Current wording
Capital Expenditures: Capital expenditures were approximately $5.6 million, $7.4 million, and $9.2 million during 2025, 2024, and 2023, respectively. Cash flows from operations are expected to fund the Company's investment in technology and system development initiatives and hardware purchases, given ongoing capital improvement projects and plans for future projects. All material anticipated capital expenditures are subject to periodic review and revision and may vary depending on a number of factors.
Showing the first 40 of 46 pairs. Open the source sections for the rest.