WILLIAMS SONOMA INC
For the period ended May 3, 2026. Filed May 22, 2026.
View on SEC.govAbout this filing
A company's report for each of its first three quarters. The financial statements are not audited. It shows how the business has moved since the last annual report, and what management says changed.
May 3, 2026 · Filed May 22, 2026
What changed in Management’s Discussion and Analysis?
Read the current filingPrevious report: 10-Q
Period ended 2025-11-02; filed 2025-11-25.
0000719955-25-000049
Item 2. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsCurrent report: 10-Q
Period ended 2026-05-03; filed 2026-05-22.
0000719955-26-000131
Item 2. Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of OperationsThe baseline is this issuer’s latest earlier reporting period of the same form that was filed before the current report. A previous 10-Q is a different quarter, not a year-over-year comparison. Amendments are excluded.
Compared 65 previous paragraphs and 64 current paragraphs.
26 unchanged; 28 reworded; 8 added; 11 removed; 0 previous and 2 current paragraphs rearranged.
Tables are not compared: 4 previous and 4 current tables excluded. Dates, whitespace, punctuation and numbering changes are ignored; changes to financial figures remain significant.
A changed paragraph is not evidence that risk increased or decreased. An unchanged paragraph does not establish that risk stayed the same.
Added paragraphs (8)
Current report
Beginning in fiscal 2025, the tariff landscape has evolved and impacted our business. While our tariff mitigation efforts reduced the overall effect, tariffs had a greater impact on our Condensed Consolidated Statement of Earnings in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 than in the first quarter of fiscal 2025 due to increased flow‑through of higher tariffs into cost of goods sold.
Current report
Net revenues in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 increased $75.3 million, or 4.4%, due to (i) company comparable brand revenue (“company comp”) growth of $78.6 million, or 4.8%, partially offset by (ii) a decrease in non-comparable brand revenue of $3.3 million due to lower franchise net revenues and the closure of retail stores. From a channel perspective, the company comp growth of 4.8% was driven by comp growth of 4.8% in our e-commerce channel and comp growth of 4.7% in our retail channel.
Current report
Tariff Refunds
Current report
On April 20, 2026, we filed for refunds of previously paid tariffs assessed under the International Emergency Economic Powers Act (“IEEPA”) in an aggregate amount of $197.8 million. As of May 3, 2026, due to the uncertainty with respect to the receipt of these refunds, we did not record a receivable for these refunds and a corresponding reduction to cost of goods sold or to merchandise inventories in our Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements for the first quarter of fiscal 2026. We expect to recognize the benefit for the refunds, related to tariffs that have been expensed in cost of goods sold, when we determine that the collection of the refund is probable.
Current report
Net revenues in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 increased $75.3 million or 4.4%, due to (i) company comp growth of $78.6 million, or 4.8%, partially offset by (ii) a decrease in non-comparable brand revenue of $3.3 million due to lower franchise net revenues and the closure of retail stores. From a channel perspective, the company comp growth of 4.8% was driven by comp growth of 4.8% in our e-commerce channel and comp growth of 4.7% in our retail channel.
Current report
RETAIL STORE DATA
Current report
For the first quarter of fiscal 2026, net cash provided by operating activities was $156.3 million compared to $118.9 million for the first quarter of fiscal 2025, and was primarily attributable to net earnings of $231.4 million adjusted for non-cash items, partially offset by accrued expenses and other liabilities of $148.9 million (as a result of our annual bonus payout) and accounts payable of $82.4 million (as a result of supplier payment timing).
Current report
Net cash provided by operating activities compared to the first quarter of fiscal 2025 increased $37.4 million primarily due to an increase in gift card and other deferred revenue of $14.9 million and an increase in accounts payable of $13.6 million.
Removed paragraphs (11)
Previous report
Net revenues in the third quarter of fiscal 2025 increased $82.1 million or 4.6%, with company comp growth of 4.0%. This increase was driven by strong non-furniture and furniture sales, including new product introductions and collaborations, as well as higher full-price selling. From a channel perspective, the company comp growth of 4.0% was driven by comp growth of 8.5% in our retail channel and comp growth of 1.9% in our e-commerce channel.
Previous report
Out-of-Period Freight Adjustment in First Quarter of Fiscal 2024
Previous report
Subsequent to the filing of our fiscal 2023 Form 10-K, in April 2024, we determined that we over-recognized freight expense in fiscal 2021, 2022 and 2023 for a cumulative amount of $49.0 million. We evaluated the error, both qualitatively and quantitatively, and determined that no prior interim or annual periods were materially misstated. We then evaluated whether the cumulative amount of the over-accrual was material to our projected fiscal 2024 results, and determined the cumulative amount was not material. Therefore, the Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements for the thirty-nine weeks ended October 27, 2024 include an out-of-period adjustment of $49.0 million, recorded in the first quarter of fiscal 2024, to reduce cost of goods sold and accounts payable, which corrected the cumulative error on the Consolidated Balance Sheet as of January 28, 2024.
Previous report
Net revenues in the third quarter of fiscal 2025 increased $82.1 million or 4.6%, with company comp growth of 4.0%. This increase was driven by strong non-furniture and furniture sales, including new product introductions and collaborations, as well as higher full-price selling. From a channel perspective, the company comp growth of 4.0% was driven by comp growth of 8.5% in our retail channel and comp growth of 1.9% in our e-commerce channel.
Previous report
Net revenues in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025 increased by $200.4 million, or 3.8%, with company comp growth of 3.7%. This was driven by strong non-furniture and furniture sales, including new product introductions and collaborations, as well as higher full-price selling. From a channel perspective, the company comp growth of 3.7% was driven by comp growth of 7.4% in our retail channel and comp growth of 2.0% in our e-commerce channel. Both channels benefited from improved in-stock inventory levels.
Previous report
STORE DATA
Previous report
Gross profit increased $50.2 million, or 6.1%, compared to the third quarter of fiscal 2024. Gross margin increased to 46.1% from 45.4% in the third quarter of fiscal 2024. This increase in gross margin of 70 basis points was primarily driven by higher merchandise margins of 60 basis points due to (i) the flow-through of tariffs into cost of goods sold being slower than anticipated due to delayed tariff effective dates, (ii) results from our tariff mitigation plan, including select price increases, and (iii) lower inbound transportation costs. Additionally, supply chain efficiencies contributed 30 basis points, including reductions in outbound shipping expense, damages, replacements and accommodations. These improvements were partially offset by higher occupancy costs of 20 basis points due to our retail outperformance and the higher occupancy costs in that channel.
Previous report
SG&A increased $43.6 million, or 2.9%, compared to the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024. SG&A as a percentage of net revenues decreased to 28.6% from 28.9% in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024. This leverage of 30 basis points was primarily driven by (i) lower advertising expenses of 40 basis points and (ii) lower general expenses of 20 basis points, partially offset by (iii) an increase in employment expense of 30 basis points due to higher performance-based incentive compensation.
Previous report
On July 4, 2025, the One Big Beautiful Bill Act (“OBBB”) was signed into law in the United States. The OBBB includes a broad range of tax reform provisions, including permanently extending and modifying certain expiring provisions of the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. The legislation has multiple effective dates, with certain provisions becoming effective in fiscal 2025 and the majority taking effect in future years. We currently expect the OBBB to have a minimal impact on the effective tax rate but result in favorable cash tax impacts in fiscal 2025 as a result of certain accelerated tax deductions.
Previous report
Since the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (“OECD”) announced the OECD/G20 Inclusive Framework on Base Erosion and Profit Shifting (“Framework”) in 2021, a number of countries have begun to enact legislation to implement the OECD international tax framework, including the Pillar Two minimum tax regime. Our subsidiaries were not subject to Pillar Two minimum tax in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025. We are continuing to evaluate the potential impact on future periods of the Pillar Two Framework, and monitoring legislative developments by other countries, especially in the regions in which we operate.
Previous report
For the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025, net cash provided by operating activities was $718.0 million compared to $726.7 million for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024, and was primarily attributable to net earnings adjusted for non-cash items, partially offset by higher spending on merchandise inventories (as a result of increased tariff costs and timing of receipts). Net cash provided by operating activities compared to the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024 decreased primarily due to higher spending on merchandise inventories, partially offset by an increase in income taxes payable.
Reworded paragraphs (28)
Previous wording
This Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q contains forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties, as well as assumptions that, if they do not fully materialize or are proven incorrect, could cause our business and results of operations to differ materially from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements include statements related to: changes in U.S. (federal, state and local) and international tax laws and trade policies and regulations; the impact of current and potential future tariffs and our ability to mitigate such impacts; the complementary nature of our e-commerce and retail channels; the plans, strategies, initiatives and objectives of management for future operations; our ability to execute strategic priorities and growth initiatives, including those regarding digital leadership, product and technology innovation, cross-brand initiatives, retail transformation and operational excellence; the strength of our business and our brands; our marketing efforts; our ability to provide sustainable products at competitive prices; our ability to provide world-class customer service via supply chain improvements from reduced out-of-market and multiple shipments, fewer customer accommodations, lower returns and damages, and reduced replacements; our belief that our key differentiators, growth strategies and the efficiencies of our operating model will allow us to reduce costs and manage inventory levels in both the short- and long-term; competition from companies with concepts or products similar to ours; our beliefs about our competitive advantages and areas of potential future growth in the market; the seasonal variations in demand; our ability to recruit, retain and motivate skilled personnel; our ability to protect our intellectual property rights; our ability to comply with the laws, rules and regulations of the U.S. and multiple foreign jurisdictions in which we operate; the impact of general economic conditions, inflationary pressures, consumer disposable income, fuel prices, recession and fears of recession, unemployment, war and fears of war, outbreaks of disease, adverse weather, availability of consumer credit, consumer debt levels, conditions in the housing market, elevated interest rates, sales tax rates and rate increases, consumer confidence in future economic and political conditions, and consumer perceptions of personal well-being and security; the impact of periods of decreased home and home furnishing purchases; our ability to grow our business-to-business division and the challenges we may face executing such growth; our ability to anticipate consumer preferences and buying trends overall and as they apply to specific brands; dependence on timely introduction and customer acceptance of our merchandise; effective inventory management; timely and effective sourcing of merchandise from our foreign and domestic suppliers and delivery of merchandise through our supply chain…
Excerpt shortened here; the source contains the full paragraph.
Current wording
This Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended, and the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements may involve risks and uncertainties, as well as assumptions that, if they do not fully materialize or prove incorrect, could cause our business and operating results to differ materially from those expressed or implied by such statements. Such forward-looking statements include, without limitation, statements related to: our ability to provide products that are designed and built for durability and longevity at competitive prices; changes in and the related impact of U.S. (federal, state and local) and international tax laws and trade policies and regulations; our ability to mitigate current and potential future tariffs and realize tariff refunds; the complementary nature of our e-commerce and retail channels; the plans, strategies, initiatives and objectives of management for future operations; our ability to execute strategic priorities and growth initiatives, including those regarding digital leadership, product and technology innovation, cross-brand initiatives, retail transformation and operational excellence; the strength of our business and our brands; our marketing efforts; our ability to provide world-class customer service through supply chain improvements; our belief that our key differentiators, growth strategies and the efficiencies of our operating model will allow us to reduce costs and manage inventory levels in both the short- and long-term; the highly competitive nature of our industry; our beliefs about our competitive advantages and areas of potential future growth in the market; the seasonal variations in demand; our ability to recruit, retain and motivate skilled personnel; our ability to protect our intellectual property rights; our ability to comply with the laws, rules and regulations of the U.S. and multiple foreign jurisdictions in which we operate; factors, including but not limited to general economic conditions, inflationary pressures, consumer disposable income, rising fuel prices, recession and fears of recession, unemployment, war and fears of war, adverse weather, availability of consumer credit, conditions in the housing market, elevated interest rates, and consumer confidence in current and future economic conditions that can affect consumer spending; the impact of periods of decreased home purchases; challenges we may face growing our business-to-business division; our ability to anticipate consumer preferences and buying trends overall and as they relate to specific brands; effective inventory management; timely and effective sourcing of merchandise from our foreign and domestic suppliers and delivery of merchandise through our supply chain to our stores and customers; factors, including but not limited to fuel costs, labor disputes, union o…
Excerpt shortened here; the source contains the full paragraph.
Previous wording
Williams-Sonoma, Inc., (the “Company”, “we”, or “us”) is a specialty retailer of high-quality products for the home. We are the world’s largest digital-first, design-led and sustainable home retailer. Our brands – Williams Sonoma, Pottery Barn, Pottery Barn Kids, Pottery Barn Teen, West Elm, Williams Sonoma Home, Rejuvenation, Mark and Graham, and GreenRow – represent distinct merchandise strategies that are marketed through e-commerce, direct-mail catalogs and retail stores. These brands collectively support The Key Rewards, our loyalty and credit card program that offers members exclusive benefits. We operate in the U.S., Puerto Rico, Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom, and have unaffiliated franchisees that operate stores in the Middle East, the Philippines, Mexico, South Korea and India, as well as e-commerce websites in certain locations.
Current wording
Williams-Sonoma, Inc., (the “Company”, “we”, or “us”) is a specialty retailer of high-quality products for the home. We are the world’s largest digital-first, design-led and sustainable home retailer. Our brands – Williams Sonoma, Pottery Barn, Pottery Barn Kids, Pottery Barn Teen, West Elm, Williams Sonoma Home, Rejuvenation, Mark and Graham, GreenRow, and Dormify – represent distinct merchandise strategies that are marketed through e-commerce, direct-mail catalogs, retail stores, and business-to-business. These brands collectively support The Key Rewards, our loyalty and credit card program that offers members exclusive benefits. We operate in the U.S., Puerto Rico, Canada, Australia and the United Kingdom, and have unaffiliated franchisees that operate stores in Mexico, South Korea, India and the Philippines, as well as e-commerce websites in certain locations.
Previous wording
The following discussion and analysis of financial condition, results of operations, and liquidity and capital resources for the thirteen weeks ended November 2, 2025 (“third quarter of fiscal 2025”), as compared to the thirteen weeks ended October 27, 2024 (“third quarter of fiscal 2024”) and thirty-nine weeks ended November 2, 2025 ("first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025"), as compared to the thirty-nine weeks ended October 27, 2024 ("first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024"), should be read in conjunction with our Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements and the notes thereto. All explanations of changes in operational results are discussed in order of magnitude.
Current wording
The following discussion and analysis of our financial condition, results of operations, and liquidity and capital resources for the thirteen weeks ended May 3, 2026 (“first quarter of fiscal 2026”), as compared to the thirteen weeks ended May 4, 2025 (“first quarter of fiscal 2025”), should be read in conjunction with our Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements and the notes thereto. Explanations of changes in operational results are discussed in order of magnitude.
Previous wording
Third Quarter of Fiscal 2025 Financial Results
Current wording
First Quarter of Fiscal 2026 Financial Results
Previous wording
In the third quarter of fiscal 2025, Pottery Barn, our largest brand, saw comparable brand revenue (“brand comp”) growth of 1.3% driven by strength in large-ticket items, including furniture, upholstery and lighting, as well as a strong retail performance driven by improvements in store inventory availability, new product assortments and our design services.
Current wording
In the first quarter of fiscal 2026, Pottery Barn, our largest brand, saw comparable brand revenue (“brand comp”) growth of 1.0% driven by strength in furniture, textiles and lighting.
Previous wording
The Pottery Barn Kids and Teen brands saw brand comp growth of 4.4% in the third quarter of fiscal 2025 driven by strength in collaborations, new product launches, and back-to-school and dorm offerings.
Current wording
The Pottery Barn Kids and Teen brands saw brand comp growth of 4.5% in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 driven by strength in furniture and non-furniture categories, collaborations and baby offerings.
Previous wording
West Elm saw brand comp growth of 3.3% in the third quarter of fiscal 2025, driven by strength in new non-furniture and furniture product introductions and a strong retail performance.
Current wording
West Elm saw brand comp growth of 8.5% in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 driven by strength in retail, new furniture and non-furniture products and collaborations.
Previous wording
The Williams Sonoma brand saw brand comp growth of 7.3% in the third quarter of fiscal 2025 with strength in the brand's kitchen business driven by electrics and cookware as well as a strong retail performance.
Current wording
The Williams Sonoma brand saw brand comp growth of 5.0% in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 driven by strength in the brand’s kitchen business supported by exclusive products and collaborations.
Previous wording
For the third quarter of fiscal 2025, diluted earnings per share grew by 4.8% to $1.96, compared to $1.87 in the third quarter of fiscal 2024.
Current wording
For the first quarter of fiscal 2026, diluted earnings per share grew by 4.3% to $1.93, compared to $1.85 in the first quarter of fiscal 2025.
Previous wording
As of November 2, 2025, we had $884.7 million in cash and cash equivalents and generated operating cash flow of $718.0 million in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025. In addition to our cash balance, we also ended the third quarter of fiscal 2025 with no outstanding borrowings under our revolving line of credit. This strong liquidity position allowed us to fund the operations of the business, invest $178.5 million in capital expenditures and return $792.3 million through stock repurchases and dividends to stockholders in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025.
Current wording
As of May 3, 2026, we had $651.6 million in cash and cash equivalents and generated operating cash flow of $156.3 million in the first quarter of fiscal 2026. In addition to our cash balance, we also ended the first quarter of fiscal 2026 with no outstanding borrowings under our revolving line of credit. This strong liquidity position allowed us to fund the operations of the business, invest $57.7 million in capital expenditures and return $373.4 million through stock repurchases and dividends to stockholders in the first quarter of fiscal 2026.
Previous wording
We remain focused on our three key priorities of (i) returning to growth, (ii) elevating our world-class customer service and (iii) driving earnings. We believe these key priorities will set us apart from our competition and allow us to drive long-term growth and profitability. We believe we have a powerful portfolio of brands, serving a range of categories, aesthetics, and life stages and we have built a strong omni-channel platform and infrastructure, which will position us well for the next stage of growth. However, the current uncertain macroeconomic environment, including the evolving tariff and trade policy landscape, a weak housing market, elevated interest rates, layoffs, inflationary pressure, economic uncertainty and global geopolitical instability could negatively impact our business. Since the end of the first quarter of fiscal 2025, the tariff environment has materially evolved. Specifically, our incremental tariff rate has more than doubled from 14% in May 2025 to 29% as of this Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q. These tariffs, as well as any future tariffs, are expected to result in increased cost for imported materials and finished goods. While we believe that we can offset a portion of these costs, we may not be able to offset all the additional costs. Our inability to minimize the impact of tariffs on our products, increase prices or find alternative sources for our products may have a material impact on our earnings. For information on risks, please see “Risk Factors” in Part I, Item 1A of our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 2, 2025.
Current wording
We remain focused on our three key priorities of (i) accelerating growth, (ii) delivering world-class customer service and (iii) driving earnings. We believe these three key priorities will set us apart from our competition and support long-term growth and profitability. Growth creates leverage in our operating model, and improved service supports reinvestment in our business and delivers earnings growth. We have a powerful portfolio of brands, serving a range of categories, aesthetics, and life stages and we have built a strong omni-channel platform and infrastructure, which we believe positions us well for the next stage of growth.
Previous wording
Net revenues primarily consist of sales of merchandise to our customers through our e-commerce websites, retail stores and direct-mail catalogs, and include shipping fees received from customers for delivery of merchandise to their homes. Our revenues also include sales to our business-to-business customers and franchisees, incentives received from credit card issuers in connection with our private label and co-branded credit cards and breakage income related to our stored-value cards. Revenue from the sale of merchandise is reported net of sales returns.
Current wording
Net revenues consist of sales of merchandise to our customers through our e-commerce websites and retail stores, and include shipping fees received from customers for delivery of merchandise to their homes. Our revenues also include sales to our business-to-business customers and franchisees, incentives received from credit card issuers in connection with our private label and co-branded credit cards and breakage income related to our stored-value cards. Revenue from the sale of merchandise is reported net of sales returns.
Previous wording
Comparable brand revenue includes comparable e-commerce sales, including through our direct-mail catalog, and store sales, as well as shipping fees, sales returns and other discounts associated with current period sales. Comparable stores are defined as permanent stores where gross square footage did not change by more than 20% in the previous 12 months, and which have been open for at least 12 consecutive months without closure for more than seven days within the same fiscal month. Outlet comparable store revenues are included in their respective brands. Business-to-business revenues are included in comparable brand revenue for each of our brands. Sales to our international franchisees are excluded from comparable brand revenue as their stores and e-commerce websites are not operated by us. Sales from certain operations are also excluded until such time that we believe those sales are meaningful to evaluating their performance. Additionally, comparable brand revenue for new and emerging concepts is not separately disclosed until such time that we believe those sales are meaningful to evaluating the performance of the brand.
Current wording
Comparable brand revenue includes comparable e-commerce sales, including through our direct-mail catalog, and store sales, as well as shipping fees, sales returns and other discounts associated with current period sales. Comparable stores are defined as permanent stores where gross square footage did not change by more than 20% in the previous 12 months, and which have been open for at least 12 consecutive months without closure for more than seven days within the same fiscal month. Outlet comparable store revenues are included in their respective brands. Business-to-business revenues are included in comparable brand revenue for each of our brands. Sales to our international franchisees are excluded from comparable brand revenue as their stores and e-commerce websites are not operated by us. Sales from certain operations are also excluded until such time that we believe those sales are meaningful to evaluating their performance. Additionally, comparable brand revenue for emerging brands is not separately disclosed until such time that we believe those sales are meaningful to evaluating the performance of the brand.
Previous wording
Gross profit is equal to our net revenues less cost of goods sold. Cost of goods sold includes (i) cost of goods, which consists of cost of merchandise, inbound freight expenses, freight-to-store expenses, tariff expenses and other inventory related costs such as replacements, damages, obsolescence and shrinkage, (ii) occupancy expenses, which consists of rent, other occupancy costs (including property taxes, common area maintenance and utilities) and depreciation, and (iii) shipping costs, which consists of third-party delivery services and shipping materials.
Current wording
Gross profit is equal to our net revenues less cost of goods sold. Cost of goods sold includes (i) cost of merchandise, tariffs, inbound freight costs, freight-to-store costs and other inventory-related costs such as replacements, damages, obsolescence and shrinkage, (ii) occupancy costs, which consists of rent, other costs (including property taxes, common area maintenance and utilities) and depreciation, and (iii) shipping costs, which consists of third-party delivery services and shipping materials.
Previous wording
Our classification of expenses in cost of goods sold may not be comparable to other public companies, as we do not include non-occupancy-related costs associated with our distribution network in cost of goods sold. These costs, which include distribution network employment, third-party warehouse management and other distribution-related administrative expenses, are recorded in selling, general, and administrative expenses (“SG&A”).
Current wording
Our classification of costs in gross profit may not be comparable to other public companies, as we do not include non-occupancy-related costs associated with our distribution network in cost of goods sold. These costs, which include distribution network employment, third-party warehouse management and other distribution-related administrative expenses, are recorded in selling, general and administrative expenses (“SG&A”).
Previous wording
1 Includes occupancy expenses of $206.5 million and $195.0 million for the third quarter of fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively, and $605.6 million and $588.3 million for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2024, respectively.
Current wording
1 Includes occupancy expenses of $203.6 million and $197.7 million for the first quarter of fiscal 2026 and fiscal 2025, respectively.
Previous wording
Gross profit increased $81.5 million, or 3.4%, compared to the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024. Gross margin decreased to 45.8% from 46.0% in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024. This decrease in gross margin of 20 basis points was driven by (i) the out-of-period freight adjustment in the first quarter of fiscal 2024 of 90 basis points, partially offset by (ii) supply chain efficiencies of 40 basis points, including reductions in damages, replacements and accommodations, (iii) higher merchandise margins of 20 basis points, and (iv) the leverage of occupancy costs of 10 basis points resulting from higher sales.
Current wording
Gross profit increased $27.6 million, or 3.6%, compared to the first quarter of fiscal 2025. Gross margin decreased to 44.0% from 44.3% in the first quarter of fiscal 2025. This decrease in gross margin of 30 basis points was primarily driven by (i) lower merchandise margins of 100 basis points as a result of the flow-through of tariffs into cost of goods sold, partially offset by (ii) supply chain efficiencies of 50 basis points, including a lower shrink accrual, and (iii) the leverage of occupancy costs of 20 basis points due to higher sales.
Previous wording
SG&A increased $36.1 million, or 7.0%, compared to the third quarter of fiscal 2024. SG&A as a percentage of net revenues increased to 29.1% from 28.5% in the third quarter of fiscal 2024. This increase of 60 basis points was primarily driven by (i) an increase in employment expense of 50 basis points due to higher performance-based incentive compensation and (ii) an increase in advertising expenses of 20 basis points, partially offset by (iii) general expense leverage of 10 basis points.
Current wording
SG&A increased $26.6 million, or 5.6%, compared to the first quarter of fiscal 2025. SG&A as a percentage of net revenues increased to 27.8% from 27.5% in the first quarter of fiscal 2025. This increase of 30 basis points was primarily driven by (i) an increase in employment expense of 30 basis points due to an investment in talent, including higher performance-based incentive compensation, and (ii) an increase in general expenses of 10 basis points, partially offset by (iii) advertising expense leverage of 10 basis points.
Previous wording
The effective tax rate was 25.4% for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025, compared to 24.2% for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024. The increase was primarily driven by (i) lower excess tax benefit from stock-based compensation in the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025, (ii) the tax effect of the change in earnings mix and (iii) the tax benefit of state amended returns filed in fiscal 2024.
Current wording
The effective tax rate was 22.5% for the first quarter of fiscal 2026, compared to 23.0% for the first quarter of fiscal 2025. The decrease was primarily driven by (i) higher excess tax benefit from stock-based compensation in the first quarter of fiscal 2026, partially offset by (ii) a higher disallowed executive compensation deduction in fiscal 2026.
Previous wording
For the remainder of fiscal 2025, we plan to use our cash resources to fund our inventory purchases, employment-related costs, advertising and marketing initiatives, rental payments on our leases, capital expenditures, dividend payments, stock repurchases, and the payment of income taxes.
Current wording
For the remainder of fiscal 2026, we plan to use our cash resources to fund our inventory purchases, employment-related costs, advertising costs, rental payments on our leases, capital expenditures, dividend payments, stock repurchases, and the payment of income taxes.
Previous wording
As of November 2, 2025, we held $884.7 million in cash and cash equivalents, the majority of which was held in money market funds and interest-bearing demand deposit accounts, and of which $64.2 million was held by our international subsidiaries. Consistent with our industry, our cash balances are seasonal in nature, with the fourth quarter historically representing a significantly higher level of cash than other periods.
Current wording
As of May 3, 2026, we held $651.6 million in cash and cash equivalents, the majority of which was held in money market funds and interest-bearing demand deposit accounts, and of which $47.8 million was held by our international subsidiaries. Consistent with our industry, our cash balances are seasonal in nature, with the fourth quarter historically representing a significantly higher level of cash than other periods.
Previous wording
In addition to our cash balances on hand, in June 2025, we amended our existing credit facility, which increased our unsecured revolving line of credit to $600 million, amended certain interest rates and extended the maturity date of the facility to June 26, 2030, in addition to other updates (the “Credit Facility”). Our Credit Facility may be used to borrow revolving loans or to request the issuance of letters of credit. We may, upon notice to the administrative agent, request existing or new lenders, at such lenders’ option, to increase the Credit Facility by up to $250 million to provide for a total of up to $850 million of unsecured revolving credit.
Current wording
In addition to our cash balances on hand, we have a credit facility (the “Credit Facility”) which provides for a $600 million unsecured revolving line of credit. Our Credit Facility may be used to borrow revolving loans or to request the issuance of letters of credit. We may, upon notice to the administrative agent, request existing or new lenders, at such lenders’ option, to increase the Credit Facility by up to $250 million to provide for a total of $850 million of unsecured revolving credit.
Previous wording
During the thirteen and thirty-nine weeks ended November 2, 2025 and October 27, 2024, we had no borrowings under our Credit Facility. Additionally, as of November 2, 2025, issued but undrawn standby letters of credit of $12.0 million were outstanding under our Credit Facility. The standby letters of credit were primarily issued to secure the liabilities associated with workers’ compensation and other insurance programs.
Current wording
During the thirteen weeks ended May 3, 2026 and May 4, 2025, we had no borrowings under our Credit Facility. Additionally, as of May 3, 2026, issued but undrawn standby letters of credit of $13.6 million were outstanding under our Credit Facility. The standby letters of credit were primarily issued to secure the liabilities associated with workers’ compensation and other insurance programs.
Previous wording
We have three unsecured letter of credit facilities for a total of $35 million. Our letter of credit facilities contain covenants that are consistent with our Credit Facility. Interest on unreimbursed amounts under our letter of credit facilities accrues at a base rate as defined in the Credit Facility, plus an applicable margin based on our leverage ratio. As of November 2, 2025, the aggregate amount outstanding under our letter of credit facilities was $0.6 million, which represents only a future commitment to fund inventory purchases to which we had not taken legal title. On August 7, 2025, we renewed two of our letter of credit facilities totaling $30 million on substantially similar terms. The two letter of credit facilities mature on August 18, 2026, and the latest expiration date possible for future letters of credit issued under these facilities is January 15, 2027. One of the letter of credit facilities totaling $5 million matures on June 26, 2030, which is also the latest expiration date possible for future letters of credit issued under the facility.
Current wording
We have three unsecured letter of credit facilities for a total of $35 million. Our letter of credit facilities contain covenants that are consistent with our Credit Facility. Interest on unreimbursed amounts under our letter of credit facilities accrues at a base rate as defined in the Credit Facility, plus an applicable margin based on our leverage ratio. As of May 3, 2026, no amounts were outstanding under our letter of credit facilities. Two of our letter of credit facilities totaling $30 million mature on August 18, 2026, and the latest expiration date possible for future letters of credit issued under these facilities is January 15, 2027. One of the letter of credit facilities totaling $5 million matures on June 26, 2030, which is also the latest expiration date possible for future letters of credit issued under the facility.
Previous wording
For the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025, net cash used in investing activities was $179.7 million compared to $154.0 million for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024, and was primarily attributable to purchases of property and equipment related to technology, store construction and supply chain enhancements.
Current wording
For the first quarter of fiscal 2026, net cash used in investing activities was $57.7 million compared to $58.2 million for the first quarter of fiscal 2025, and was attributable to purchases of property and equipment, including investments in technology of $24.4 million, retail stores of $20.1 million and supply chain enhancements of $9.1 million.
Previous wording
For the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025, net cash used in financing activities was $870.1 million compared to $1.0 billion for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024, primarily driven by repurchases of our common stock, payment of dividends and remittance of tax withholdings related to stock-based awards. Net cash used in financing activities for the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2025 decreased compared to the first thirty-nine weeks of fiscal 2024, due to a decrease in repurchases of our common stock.
Current wording
For the first quarter of fiscal 2026, net cash used in financing activities was $467.0 million compared to $230.0 million for the first quarter of fiscal 2025, driven by repurchases of our common stock of $287.8 million, tax withholdings remittance related to stock-based awards of $93.6 million and payment of dividends of $85.6 million.
Previous wording
Our business is subject to substantial seasonal variations in demand. Historically, a significant portion of our revenues and net earnings have been realized during our peak selling season, the period from October through January, and levels of net revenues and net earnings have typically been lower during the period from February through September. We believe this is the general pattern within our industry. In preparation for and during our peak selling season, we hire a substantial number of additional temporary associates, primarily in our retail stores, distribution facilities and customer care centers.
Current wording
Our business is subject to substantial seasonal variations in demand. Historically, a significant portion of our revenues and net earnings have been realized during our peak selling season, the period from October through January, and levels of net revenues and net earnings have typically been lower during the period from February through September. We believe this is the general pattern within our industry. In preparation for and during our peak selling season, we hire a substantial number of additional temporary employees, primarily in our retail stores, distribution facilities and customer care centers.
Previous wording
Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations is based on our Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements, which have been prepared in accordance with U.S. GAAP. The preparation of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements requires us to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses and related disclosures of contingent assets and liabilities. These estimates and assumptions are evaluated on an ongoing basis and are based on historical experience and various other factors that we believe to be reasonable under the circumstances. Actual results could differ significantly from these estimates. During the third quarter of fiscal 2025, there were no significant changes to the critical accounting estimates discussed in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 2, 2025.
Current wording
Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations is based on our Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements, which have been prepared in accordance with U.S. GAAP. The preparation of these Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements requires us to make estimates and assumptions that affect the reported amounts of assets, liabilities, revenues and expenses and related disclosures of contingent assets and liabilities. These estimates and assumptions are evaluated on an ongoing basis and are based on historical experience and various other factors that we believe to be reasonable under the circumstances. Actual results could differ significantly from these estimates. During the first quarter of fiscal 2026, there were no significant changes to the critical accounting estimates discussed in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 1, 2026.
Rearranged current paragraphs (2)
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
However, the current uncertain macroeconomic environment, including higher oil prices, the evolving tariff and trade policy landscape, a weak housing market, elevated interest rates, layoffs, inflationary pressure, economic uncertainty and global geopolitical instability could continue to impact our business. The tariff environment has materially changed over the last year, and we expect that uncertainty to continue in fiscal 2026. For information on risks, please see “Risk Factors” in Part I, Item 1A of our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended February 1, 2026.
Current report — wording carried from elsewhere
Net cash used in financing activities for the first quarter of fiscal 2026 increased by $237.0 million compared to the first quarter of fiscal 2025, primarily due to an increase in repurchases of our common stock of $197.8 million.